We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cottage but beware the tiny shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cute cottage but beware the tiny shower”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I am not one to write many online reviews, but I thought this was an important note to be sure guests know about.

We stayed at the Argyle House on Friday Harbor and it was a nice little bed and breakfast that we would have no hesitation in recommending. We stayed in the Marilee Cottage, which is one of the most expensive rooms. It was a cute cottage with a sitting area, a queen size bed and enough space to spread your things out but, be forewarned, the shower is absurdly small. For the rates charged for the room but to have a shower smaller than a telephone booth, that sure was a disappointment.

Room Tip: For a bit more privacy, choose one of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleeper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    17
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Argyle House was very well located and walking distance from town, but on a nice quiet side street. The hosts were very nice, very helpful and the experience was overall a very good one. The best part about Argyle House is the breakfast every morning, a real gourmet treat, delicious, well-presented, and a good opportunity to meet your fellow guests. Almost worth it just for that.

We ended up in two rooms due to late booking so got to see some of the differences. The Sunflower Room was great, with a large bathroom and comfy bed. The shower was a bit weak, however. The next night we were in the Fountain Room which was a bit smaller, but the bathroom is really tiny. Looks like a converted closet. The room also doesn't have a TV or DVD, which wasn't a problem for the night we were there, but if we'd stayed longer we would've been disappointed. The Fountain Room is only $5 less per night than the Sunflower Room and should really be at least $20 less.

Overall a nice place but maybe a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Look closely at the rooms on the website, they seem to be very different and some rooms are better f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed at Argyle house for 3 nights in the Honeymoon Cottage. This is a separate accommodation with private entrance next to the main house and its private setting and proximity (within easy walking distance) to "downtown" Friday Harbor were our main reasons for booking here. Breakfast was filling (juice, pancakes or egg quiche, fresh fruit,muffins, and coffee/tea). Hosts were accommodating, permitting us to drop off luggage early due to ferry schedule. The reason for the "very good" rating rather than "excellent" is based on the fact that during our three night stay our wine and drinking glasses were never replaced or cleaned nor the floor in the cottage swept. The host provided menus for local restaurants but did not offer to assist with any reservations, a service we have usually encountered at B&Bs. Our previous experience with B&Bs has been that the host(s) are extremely friendly, accommodating, and gracious with their guests, discussing local sites and events, etc.. Did not have quite that experience here. Overall, a satisfying stay but not a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the Honeymoon Cottage for privacy/space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsweeney458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyleHouseBB, Owner at Argyle House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
We are glad that the reviewer had a generally pleasant stay at our B&B, and that the Honeymoon Cottage offered them the privacy and space they were looking for. We do find it a problem that the reviewer complained about our failure to tidy up their cottage, and that their glassware was not replaced each day. We make it our practice to tidy up the rooms every day our guests our here, including this very point. However, we also try to respect our guests' privacy, and sometimes a guest requests that we not enter their room during their visit; it may be that one or the other of this couple did that without the other's knowledge. In any case, we do find it troubling that the reviewer did not bring this deficiency to our attention over a three-night stay. As regards restaurant assistance, the reviewer brings up a good point about our not offering to make reservations, and we will try to make that offer to our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Argyle House for one night during a long weekend in Friday Harbor. We live in the Pacific Northwest and have stayed at a few B&Bs.

Pros: The host is friendly and very accomodating. The location is in walking distance to most things in Friday Harbor. The grounds of the home have nice plantings / flowers surrounding it.

Cons: For the price, our room was small and the amenities were lacking. I understand that prices on the island are higher, but for $180 (after taxes, etc.) we had a small room with a small shower. There were simple things that were absent that we've experienced at other B&Bs - freshly baked cookies in the afternoon, or a small fridge stocked with juice / soda for use of guests, or wine and cheese in the evening, etc. At this price I would have expected more than a smaller room and breakfast. The meal was OK - it tasted good but wasn't great. There was a hair on the shower wall that wasn't ours - there's not much excuse for that. The main room downstairs was nicely appointed but it felt more like the family's room than ours. I think one of those difficult skills for an owner of a B&B is how to make it not feel like you are simply spending the night in someone's home and more like you are staying at an inn with a homey feel. This one just missed that mark.

Summary: In general the experience was average, nothing special - but the price demands more than that. We won't be back, but I think with a few small changes it can be better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tall_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyleHouseBB, Owner at Argyle House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
We're glad that the reviewer generally had a good stay at Argyle House. Our missing a hair in the shower is, of course, inexcusable, and we will try to be extra diligent when we clean the bathrooms. As regards the prices of our rooms, our Fountain Room is at the moment the least expensive Bed and Breakfast room in the "in-town" Friday Harbor area, at least for those with a private bath in the room. While we would like to offer pastries or cookies every day for guests, and we do on occasion (as other reviews here have noted), we do not advertise that we do all the time, and it does depend on the guests we have at the time. We are a family-friendly B&B, and many guests have enjoyed the games, musical instruments, DVDs and books we have available in our public areas. Unfortunately, our insurance liability coverage does not allow for us leaving sherry or other wines available for the public, and we imagine those guests with children would not be happy with unlimited access to cookies or sherry. As we didn't have a chance to discuss these issues with the review at the time of his/her visit, we trust that our response might help him/her reconsider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My Husband and I spent two nights at Argyle House and were very pleased with our stay.
The B&B is only a few blocks from the town and ferry terminal but, because of the wonderful garden setting. it feels much more secluded. We were the only guests during our visit so Art upgraded us to the honeymoon suite.
It does pay off to book slightly before or just after the peak season. The cooler weather just means you will have to snuggle up closer.

The breakfast was fabulous with fresh fruit, fresh baked muffins and hot items like eggs and pancakes.
Only thing I would say is if you have pet allergies this place is probably not for you.They have both a cat, who stayed outside most of the time, and a lovely dog. Toby the dog is very well behaved, he begged for attention more than he did for any table scraps.

All in all we really had a great stay at Argyle House. Since we do plan on coming back to Friday Harbour, we'll probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Book in the off season, and find deals galore..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I was in Friday Harbor for a book signing, and stayed at the wonderful Argyle House. We were upgraded to one of the cottages. Everything was lovely. Hosts graciously served breakfast early to accommodate our schedule. Very convenient location. Beautiful gardens. Only wish I'd had more time to spend just enjoying this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I spent five nights in the Fountain Room, a perfect base from which to explore the San Juan Islands. The room was cozy and clean, the breakfasts were incredible (Art and Jennifer are also very accommodating of dietary restrictions if you tell them), and the hosts were lovely. It also seems to attract an extremely friendly and interesting group of residents - at least while we were there - which made breakfast really enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon11215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 685 Argyle Ave, PO Box 2685, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9362
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argyle House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable accommodations, hospitality, charm, and character are what you will find for you and your family at Argyle House Bed and Breakfast. Our original 1910 Craftsman design home on San Juan Island in Washington is situated on beautiful grounds located just two blocks from downtown Friday Harbor and six blocks from the Washington State Ferry landing. We welcome families of all ages, and your dog. Enjoy our wonderful full breakfast each morning of your stay; we are happy to accommodate any dietary modifications. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Argyle House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle House Bed And Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing