We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Tour Made Our Trip to San Juans Spectacular!”

Sea Quest Expeditions Kayak Tours
Ranked #7 of 24 Tours in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Goal is Simple: We Want You to Have the Best Sea Kayaking Tour of Your Life! Join us for a kayak adventure that offers the full range from energized fun to calm serenity. Our guides skillfully hand-craft every Sea Quest Kayak Expedition into a custom learning experience - one that will surely enhance your appreciation of our natural environment. Our kayak tours are mainly led by actual biologists and environmental scientists who double as highly-trained outdoor educators and sea kayak guides. This level of excellence distinguishes us from other outfitters and transforms your experience into an adventure in learning.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunset Tour Made Our Trip to San Juans Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I booked this tour several months ago using the online booking system. The reservation process was seamless and professional. There were a total of six in our party ranging from 30 years of age to 63 -- very close family. There was very wide range in athletic ability in our group and body size. Some members of our group could not get in and out of the kayaks without assistance, and many of them were scared to death when we started out. Our guide was Pete, and he did an absolutely superb job! The orientation he provided before we set out on the water helped to get everyone as comfortable as possible. He was very polite, very professional, and really upbeat even with the challenges that some members of our group provided him.

When we started out, we first saw several blacktail deer on the shore as we paddled by. Then we found a pair of Bald Eagles that were calling to each other and flew out over our heads. There was a juvenile nearby. That show was really awe-inspiring. A bit farther down, we found a harbor seal sun bathing on a rock. All the while, Pete pointed out biological, historical, and just interesting facts about the San Juans, and everything we were viewing from the wildlife to the bull kelp in the water.

As we got closer to the turn around point of our short trip, I spotted what I thought was a dorsal fin of an Orca. It turned out to be an Orca whale and about 25 friends. We watched over the next 20-30 minutes as the whales swam and played as they headed parallel to the shore that we had just paddled up. We saw several flukes (slapping of the tail out of water), spy peeks (raising their head to look), and one full breach. One of the Orcas spy peeked no more than 12 feet from our group of kayaks as we huddled together close to the shore to make sure we weren't in their way. Some of our group members teared up at the absolutely majestic display.

We then started to paddle back to the park where we launched from. Again, Pete was excellent in helping everyone get unloaded.

I would recommend this to trip to anyone. While you shouldn't expect to always see whales or tons of wildlife, Sea Quest and Pete provided an absolutely professional and fun environment to experience nature in the San Juans. It really was the highlight of our whole trip to the San Juans.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    47
    17
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Loved 5 Day San Juan Sea Kayaking with SeaQuest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We have just returned from a five day trip kayaking in the San Juans with SeaQuest. It was a wonderful trip for our family. Our kids are 9, 9 and 12 and they all loved the experience. Our guide, Charlie, was knowledgeable, patient, fun, and a wonderful cook. The equipment was high quality, and the pre trip planning materials were thorough. The islands and wildlife are incredible. We had a total of 10 people in our group, and we enjoyed each of them. We are from the east coast, and wanted to maximize our time on the water to increase our chance of seeing whales. We are so glad we selected the 5 day as we did not see whales until the last day. Even without the whales, it was a great trip. Who can complain about porpoise, seals, mink, river otter, and bald eagles? July is a great month to do this trip as your chance of seeing whales is high and the weather is spectacular. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank chachoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5-day San Juan Sea Kayaking Camping Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Trip was very well organized and the nine clients were a very amicable group. Our guide, Charlie, was outstanding. He was easy-going and flexible yet kept us all on track and provided delicious and filling meals for breakfast and dinner (clients were responsible for their own lunches). All meals were vegetarian due to the difficulty of keeping meat fresh on an extended camping trip. Campsites were well choosen and generally scenic - especially Posey Island outside of Roche Harbor. One campsite had a "porta potty" and the other two had park service supplied pit outhouses. One campsite had running fresh water available.

Saw many bald eagles and sea lions and on the last day we had an Orca pod swim past us with one surfacing within 25 feet of our 4 "rafted" kayaks.

We used 2 double and 3 triple kayaks (3 children were part of our group). The kayaks are very stable and fairly responsive. I would do this trip again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip to San Juan Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We took a day trip with Pete as our tour guide and had an awesome time. Pete was knowledgeable about the history of the island, biology and the orcas. We had people of all athletic abilities in our group and never felt like we were being held back or going to fast. We also saw some orcas, which was awesome! Pickup from Friday Harbor was super easy and we made it just in time to catch a ferry back to Anacortes. I highly recommend this trip for people who like to have fun outdoors and want to get a different view of the ocean :) We want to try the camping trip next time we visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunkizt1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“2-day San Juan Island Kayak trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We took a 2-day trip June 16/17 with Charlie. We had our 12-year old and 9-year old children with us so really appreciated the pre-trip information to help us prepare for it. Charlie was very thorough with safety procedures and handling of the kayak. He was very friendly, answered all of our questions, and was very knowledgeable about the islands and habitats. It rained some the first day, but the water was pretty calm for the most part. We were very fortunate in that shortly into our trip we saw at least 1/2 dozen Orcas, males, females, and a calf. In order to obey the distance rules, we stopped and waited for the Orcas to pass. They came up very close to our kayaks, (too close for my kids I think), and one breached out of the water right in front of us! It was the most amazing experience and definitely the highlight of our trip! The next day the winds did pick up and strong currents caused us to change course to a safer route. I think we were all a little nervous during this time, but Charlie always remained calm and guided us on how to maneuver our way to calmer waters. After we accomplished that, we enjoyed the scenery and saw other marine life. Overall, we had a phenomenal experience. I think the website and office personnel answered all of our questions and gave a detailed list on how to prepare for this trip. Even if we had forgotten something, Charlie was very prepared. Advice for first-timer ocean kayakers: keep your camera and snacks in a dry bag strapped in the bungee cord in front of you for easy access. If a photographic moment presents itself, you don't have much time to hunt for the camera.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Texas4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Quest Expeditions Kayak Tours also viewed

 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Sea Quest Expeditions Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing