We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“rustic cabin with view”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cabin entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
19 reviews
Cabin entrance
Entry
Red Bedroom
Blue Bedroom
Dining area
Hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom (full - shower and tub)
Living room
1 of 2 decks
View into yard
View of Westcott Bay
Lower yard facing Westcott Bay
Woodpile at cabin
Susan and Paul - Owner and husband
Nearby field
Sunset at Roche Harbor - 1mile away
Hotel de Haro at Roche
nearby Roche Harbor Resort
Kayak rentals at Roche Harbor
Limn Kiln cale - great breakfasts!
Roche sunset
Nearby hayfield
Nearby Alpaca farm
San Juan County Park
San Juan County Park beach and kayak launch
Lavendar farm
Lavendar farm
Friendly fox
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mollyiowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“rustic cabin with view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Cabin is as described. Nice view of the harbor. Lots of windows so you feel like you are part of the woods. Plenty of room. Nice outdoor decks and seating areas. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook. Just had to buy charcoal for grill and food. Outside of town, but easily accessible. Great option for staying on the island, great value for a water view. Some things to consider. We were glad to arrive during the day as it was hard to find the drive way, somewhat overgrown, difficult to see the sign with the address. If you are traveling with others this may not be the place for you. The two private spots in the cabin are the laundry and bathroom. Rest of rooms without doors and there are window between rooms. No curtains so anyone outside can see in. It was warm during day and cool at night while we were there. Only 2 windows and the screen door open and have screens. Nice heated blankets and we had fun making fires in the wood burning stoves at night. Roche harbor is nearby. Nice area, good restaurants, groceries, sculpture garden, hiking trails. Eagles are in the trees around the house and ~2 blocks from the house eagles are fed every evening. Great fun to watch. Also a ceremony in the harbor at sunset each evening that is fun. Path to beach was overgrown so never made it there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing getaway! Everything I hoped for and more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin was an incredible place to stay at. The location was easy to get to, yet it still was tucked away in the woods enough to feel like you were away from it all. The view was great, overlooking Westcott Harbor, and the cabin was cozy and clean with a TON of great character. We spent the weekend kayaking and biking around San Juan, and had an amazing experience, significantly contributed to by our stay at Westcott Woods cabin.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail S
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peace and Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Three of us stayed at Westcott Woods for 4 glorious days. From the moment we drove up the wooded path to the rustic cabin, we knew we were in for a peaceful, wonderful stay. Cabin made from reclaimed wood...great touches throughout....Comfortable platform beds in both rooms, deck with BBQ which we used every night for dinner....fresh fish from Friday Harbor docks..salmon and halibut...and clams and oysters from Wescott bay which we bought from the oyster house down the road . We joked that the zoo opened each night at 7pm as we saw from the deck foxes, a huge buck, and raccoon walk thru the yard each night. eagles sighted often as well. Loved the bustle of Friday Harbor while staying on the other side of island near Roche Harbor in quiet peaceful location. Sea kayaked, visited both American and English Camps, the alpaca farm, the lavender r farm, enjoyed wine while soaking in views from Lime Kiln lighthouse. Would love to come here again...fantastic place!!

5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the rustic feel and quiet location and views
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SQCASTAWA...
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
134 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quaint and very peaceful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We visited for 3 nights. What a magical place! It was very quaint. Clean and well equipped! There was nothing we wanted that was not there. Susan, (the owner) was very nice and easy to work with. Very accommodating! Thank you Susan for having such a magical place to relax and reflect!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Very peaceful!
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
happyarch...
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - felt at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights in August with our 11 year old son and a friend. It was perfect. Beautiful view, quiet, quirky. The kitchen was well equipped. The books and art work were all up my alley. I felt that if the owner of the house lived near by me in my non-vacation life, we would be good friends. The karma of the place was great! The only small suggestion is that the kitchen and bathroom faucets should be replaced by better funtioning ones. Don't hesitate to stay here.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The quirky design of the house
Liked least: the faucets
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2012
Hello Lisa,

Thank you for your lovely review of Westcott Woods. And my husband did indeed replace those leaky faucets!

All the best,

Susn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing