We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lodging in San Juan Islands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Island Inn at 123 West
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just steps from the ferry and sea plane base, this European-styled hotel will impress you from the minute you eyes set sight on it. THe staff went above and beyond, upgrading us to a suite (because it was the off season) and greeting us with fresh flowers and champagne in our room. The view and location cannot be beat, and the room is spacious with robes and a large tub.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiesig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello Aussiesig,

We’re glad you set your sights on us and are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience! We don’t always upgrade, but if we can, it sure is fun! Oh, and those arrival goodies are a treat we offer for guests arriving via Kenmore Air!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘above & beyond’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived for a few days in the off season to be upgraded to a suite which comes with bath robes, large soaking tub and amazing views. Lovely staff and amazing rooms. Would highly recommend. It's on the harbor with stunning views and easy access to all attractions and places to eat.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello Chad S,

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and are glad that you took the time to share it here! We love to upgrade if we can when we can and can’t wait to welcome you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘off season’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

In a chance meeting as we walked by, the owner extended an invitation for us a tour of the property. It was spectacular, with amazing architecture and a dead on the view of Friday Harbor, the Marina and the ferry terminal. We saw various room designs and they are all awesome! For our needs, Penthouse 2 was perfect! We needed to be inspired to buckle down for two straight days of business planning and we got more than we bargained for! The ceilings are lofty, the furnishings and decor are cozy yet trendy, well appointed kitchen and beautiful bathrooms! The bedroom linens were like heaven! Oh, did I mention the view… This place has the best view in Friday Harbor, from both the main living area, the master bedroom and private rooftop deck! We would recommend anybody to stay here and we have already booked our return trip… The fireplace and tranquil view are calling our names!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arwenbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hello Arwenbecker,

We’re flattered by your kind words and are thrilled that Penthouse 2 helped you get down to business INN style! We look forward to welcoming you back and sincerely appreciate your visit and the time you’ve taken to share your experience with us.

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘return trip’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I loved the Island Inn! Friendly people, nice touches like premium shampoo, lotion etc, delicious coffee and granola, juice and milk in the fridge, cold water to drink. It was a home away from home. Cute decor and very comfortable.

Note: when you book the Euro rooms, they come with a shared living room/kitchen area that overlooks the harbor. (3 rooms share the suite) I stayed with business associates and it was perfect. While the rooms are small, they are super comfy, especially when you have a fireplace, couch and cafe tables right outside the door.

The location is great, as mentioned. We walked easily, with luggage, from the ferry, and restaurants, coffee shops etc are right outside the door.

We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Go for the Euro rooms to save money, because they come with a lovely shared space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Hello Kelly L,

We sincerely appreciate your visit and the time you’ve taken to share your experience with us. We’re glad that you found our Euro guestrooms just right and that our team, custom amenities, view share lobby and little touches really exceeded your expectations!

We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Perfectly Appointed’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The fun starts when you receive your confirmation email. The fun way they can work the word INN in is hilarious.

This hotel is walking distance from the ferry that brings you to Friday Harbor.

It's a gorgeous town and this hotel is the best base for exploring it.

There are nice little touches everywhere. The phone and iPod dock are retro styled. There is a nice sofa which faces the TV and there are seats facing the windows where you can watch the ferries come and go or watch the sunrise/sunset.

The bathroom is a dream with heated floors, Malin & Goetz toiletries, soft robes, lush towels and a great shower inside the tub.

The bed, pillows and bedding were excellent and super comfortable.

They give you granola in mason jars for breakfast and a fruit bowl. There's a kettle and coffee machine with tea and coffee provided.

There's a fridge inside the wardrobe, but no microwave.

The secure underground parking is free.

I could seriously live here. It's a great apartment and the service is fantastic. I stayed two nights and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Sweet 1 is a great room, but beware the morning sun as it blasts into the room every clear morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hello ThePackedBag,

We’re glad that you had some fun with us and enjoyed all of our touches, bedding, bath amenities and style! Regarding your tips, we now offer sleeping masks (and plan to add darkening shades) for all of our rooms INN the morning spotlight and do require a small fee for nightly garage parking. Last but not least, we do our best to have at least as much fun as our guests do and can’t wait until you return!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘seriously live here’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We recently spent a few days on Friday harbor at your property. We chose the Island Inn for the location and views and were pleasantly surprised with the property and the attention to detail both inside and out. We loved the clean euro style softened with comfortable textiles and fresh flowers. We encountered a little problem with the room we booked, phoned the front desk, and could not have gotten a speedier response. Someone was there literally in seconds to escort us to another room. The new room ( actually a spacious penthouse suite) and the fantastic views of marina and harbor were so lovely, we literally spent most of our time there, enjoying the deck off the second story bedroom, complimentary musesli granola, juice and tea for breakfasts, ate dinner in one night and took advantage of restaurants and shops just steps away. The recently burned port building was not really visible from our room and did not distract from the awesome views at all! Thank you manager and staff for a wonderful stay. I couldn't think of a single thing that would have improved our visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hello Derube,

We’re flattered that you selected us for your Friday Harbor experience! We strive for perfection in all that we do and if we miss, we want to make it right INNstantly! To that end, we’re thrilled that we were able to deliver the experience you deserved. We look forward to welcoming you back and promise to keep serving up unique treats with a keen eye on all of those details!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘fabulous service’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I just spent two nights at the Island Inn and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is conveniently located across the Harbor and walking distance to everything in town. Its design is modern, green and has a practical elegance. The details were simple but all well executed and nicely thought out. They included fresh field flowers, fruit, milk, granola,OJ and gourmet coffee in our room upon arrival. The room was modern and with luxury details such as the bed and linens, bathroom amenities and its fixtures. The staff at the hotel were all friendly and helpful. This is an excellent choice for anyone visiting Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hello MIACAN,

Thanks very much for your visit and for taking the time to share your experience with us! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our ‘practical elegance,’ details and team. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit off the coast of ordinary as soon as your schedule allows!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Easygoing’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 11 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#9 of 11 in Friday Harbor
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Inn at 123 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn at 123 West

Address: 123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £108 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Inn at 123 West 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready, set, slow™ Our boutique hotel is the closest to the ferry and harbor, yet so far away from ordinary. The right pace at the right time; The Island Inn at 123 West is brand spanking new and as green as it gets. Dress us up or dress us down. You'll dig our contemporary style that nods to maritime gone by. Penthouses are fun for families, groups and splurges; Euros are best if you roll with less and Sweets are just like they sound. Make a splash in a floatplane, slip in on the ferry or chart your own course. Get here and go with the slow. Kick things up and paddle a sea kayak with our resident orcas, tool around the island on bicycle, stroll through quaint seaside shops and restaurants or just recombobulate. For your family: Relatives rejoice; hosting a family reunion at the Island Inn at 123 West is uber easy - we're Goldilocks approved. For your wedding: We vow to: bend over backwards for you and your guests; do our top secret rain dance on your special day; promise not to cry only if you don't. For your meeting: Ditch distraction and export your executives to the world's best spot to plan tomorrow's future.For your piggy bank: We're a partner of Stash Hotel rewards. That means you'll earn and redeem points at swanky places like the Island Inn and over 150 locations across the country. Reap while you sleep. Go with a different kind of Friday Harbor Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Island Inn at 123 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Inn At 123 West Hotel Friday Harbor
The Island Inn At 123 West Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing