We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Pub!”

Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located just off the waterfront in Friday Harbor, Cask & Schooner Public House & Restaurant is Friday Harbor's premiere maritime themed english pub offering distinctive rustic fare and well crafted libations.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Pub!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wasn't expecting this! We were heading out on bicycle tour. Stopped for a beer and lunch. Fun waitress, fun atmosphere, really good food! I had the Chic Pea & Kale Sauté in an attempt to offset my unhealthy holiday eating trend. I was caught off guard by how yummy it tasted. The portion was huge so I took half back to my hotel and it was just as good on day two. The beer selection featured numerous local micro brews. There were four in our party and we all enjoyed our meals. The fish and chips were great also!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PAM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    386
    123
    41
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bensenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had done the kayak tour through Seaquest on San Juan Island and the recommended we stopped at Cask and Schooner for dinner. Cask and Schooner allowed us to get food to go and eat on the ferry ride home, which is exactly what we did. We had stopped in with about 45 minutes until the ferry back to Anacortes left. It wasn't a lot of time but Cask and Schooner got us out in a hurry. Waitress came by we ordered our food and grabbed a drink. My wife and I both got the fish and chips and I will say it's the best fish and chips I've ever had. The fish was fresh and the breading was fantastic, tartar sauce was great too. They got us the food in about 10 minutes and we ran to the ferry terminal and just made it. It was a great meal and with the view on the ferry, it was a perfect setting. Would highly recommend Cask and Schooner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Okay place”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The wait staff didn't really communicate with each other about table arrangements, but our waitress did her best. I had the 1/2 Dungeness Crab. It was ok. Others in the party were disappointed as it tasted like it had been frozen.

It served our purpose, though, for a relatively late snack and place to mingle with friends

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank teamfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c3guy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the trip ”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

While this restaurant is not really a true seafood place but a pub, the seafood dishes we did try we're very good. Caesar salad was a 5. Clam chowder was good, but we aren't crazy about the carrots. Fish and Chips were above average with a very tasty and fresh tarter sauce. And the mussels were very unique with the chipotle sauce. Overall definite worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank c3guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

With this place being near the water, I thought it was going to be a tourist trap. The food was actually high quality. We had a chicken sandwich with salad, which was innovative and fresh. I would recommend this for lunch or dinner at Friday Harbor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Photographer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing