We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food - nice view!”

Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located just off the waterfront in Friday Harbor, Cask & Schooner Public House & Restaurant is Friday Harbor's premiere maritime themed english pub offering distinctive rustic fare and well crafted libations.
California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food - nice view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We ate at this restaurant 3 times during our 3 night visit. The lunch was Fish &Chips, Razor Clam chowder, and chicken - bacon sandwich (?), both very good. The dinner meals were very good both nights, the salmon was small portion, but very good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    381
    122
    39
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very delicious food, very surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I were still a little hungry after eating an earlier dinner at another restaurant but being 9:30pm and I a vegan it was very difficult to find a meal I could eat. After wondering around looking at various menus of places that were still open, we can came across Cask and Schooner, I thought they most likely didn't have anything but just walking in I was pleasantly surprised. There was a big chalk board saying there soup of the day was vegan. My husband and I ordered two bowls and they were very large and surprisingly low priced! Thought prices would be a lot higher in this more upscale restaurant on the waterfront. The soups also came with delicious rolls, that were from the local San Juan Bakery and they were just delectable, the soup was also so hearty and flavorful. Whilst browsing the menu that night I also saw that they had a sandwich labeled vegan! It was an eggplant sandwich with quite a few fun toppings that sounded good. The next day we decided to have lunch there and I ordered it expecting an average sandwich, as usually eggplant ones have been when I got them. No I was blown out of the water, just an amazing delicious flavor combination that that almost had me crying when I took the last bite and had no more! I really hope this place continues to have vegan options as my husband and I loved Friday Harbor and definitely want to return here on our next visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, good ambiance and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

There were ten of us and we were all pleased that the food and service were top quality. The vegetarian meal was excellent and unusual, chickpeas and kale in a tomato sauce, not the usual oh so boring pasta or portobello. We will definitely go back here on our next visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food...But Caution If You Are In A Hurry!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped here while on a whale watching tour. While the food was exceptional (Ploughman's Platter, Chicken Sandwich, Lamb Burger, & Schooner Burger), service left much to be desired. With tables open and a line of customers at the door, the hostess disappeared for over 10 minutes! Our waitress seemed to recover our experience until our food arrived and then she disappeared. There seemed to be employees around working hard, but service was not timely nor efficient. Because of the slow service our 2 hour port visit was limited to just lunch before we had to return to our boat. If you are looking for a great bite and have the time, the restaurant is a hit. But on a schedule...move on!

Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“yum - ate here 3 times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

it was just that good and we tried something different every time we came back - lunch, dinner, lunch again...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank prooproo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing