We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what the bar sign says!”
Review of Herb's Tavern

Herb's Tavern
Ranked #26 of 64 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what the bar sign says!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The sign above the bar says Friendliest Place in Town.. Not last Saturday night. The bar tender certainly wasn't friendly. My husband asked him if he had a particular beer. The answer.. "No". He wasn't given an alternative and had to get up and look for himself what they had available.

Maybe it was that the bartender had been reprimanded in front of customers for not having all the chairs down on the floor, instead of on the tables. Or maybe he just figured we were tourists and didn't care. Whatever it was, maybe he should look at the sign above the bar occasionally.

As for the food it wasn't edible so we left without finishing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2wheeltravelers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    60
    34
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, TX
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Late on a Monday Night”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was the last place selling food late on an August Monday night after a sunset kayak trip. The only thing they had left was chicken strips and fries. It was frozen bar food kindly thrown into a fryer way after the last person should have ordered food, and I was super-thankful to have found something because kayaking makes you hungry. I had some great beer and an interesting cider, as well.

Seemed like more of a local hangout than a touristy spot. Pool tables and a jukebox to keep you occupied. Hats off to the woman who was running the place. I think she was the only one working, and she was kicking some major @55!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thePeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fun local scene! Good music, good selection of beer, wine and spirits. Worthwhile visiting! A very good example of an old time Tavern!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank styaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mmmmm...Good!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Great food! I was tired of all the pricey Seattle food and this place on San Juan island hit the spot. Good food, good beer, good prices. What more does a guy need?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome little bar to hang out!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

After a 5 day kayak trip, this is exactly where I wanted to be. I had delicious food and drank beer out of a mason jar. A live band was playing, and I got beat by some locals at pool. The atmosphere is great and the workers are very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herb's Tavern also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Herb's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing