We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kayak Adventure Ever!”

San Juan Kayak Expeditions
Ranked #8 of 27 Tours in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specializing in 2, 3, 4 and 5-day sea kayaking trips and half-day, full-day and sunset sea kayak tours in the beautiful San Juan Islands. Experienced, fun and friendly guides, quality equipment and attention to detail. On day tours paddle with orca and humpback whales, harbor seals, porpoise, bald eagles, otters and stellar sea lions! On multi-day trips kayak with orca whales too! We've been leading quality sea kayak tours since 1980!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

WOW! That basically sums up the experience, the day, the whales, the guide, etc. Just a phenomenal experience and top notch expedition company. Our guide AJ was awesome and properly set our expectations that we might not see whales......we ended up seeing both J and L pods twice during the day and must have seen at least 30+ whales, not to mention seals and bald eagles (including one flying with a salmon in its talons)! Beautiful top end boats, great lunch spot. I could go on for a while about how great it was, but I'll stop here! :-)

Thank Mjmenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Kayak E, Owner at San Juan Kayak Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We provide you with an experienced guide(AJ), quality equipment and thorough instruction on the beach and let the islands and wildlife do the rest! I appreciate your appreciation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"self guided"
in 9 reviews
"day trip"
in 29 reviews
"detailed itinerary"
in 3 reviews
"contacted tim"
in 3 reviews
"guide john"
in 3 reviews
"whale sanctuary"
in 3 reviews
"carbon fiber"
in 2 reviews
"guided group"
in 2 reviews
"full day tour"
in 6 reviews
"great equipment"
in 6 reviews
"griffin bay"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful forest"
in 2 reviews
"visited islands"
in 2 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 14 reviews
"dry bags"
in 5 reviews
"provided great"
in 2 reviews
"days nights"
in 2 reviews
Filter

123 - 127 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I grew up in Western Washington, always hearing about the San Juan Islands, and how beautiful they are. 30 years later, I finally decided to do a one day kayak tour to see the whales. We made the trek up north, took the ferry out of Anacortes with a spectacular view of Mt Baker, and landed in the quaint town of Friday Harbor. We spent the night out at Lakedale Resort in one of their canvas cabins (also a great experience), and then on Tuesday morning, met up with AJ at the shop (which was initially a little tough to find, being tucked back in there on Apple Tree Lane).

Although only on his second year there at SJKE, AJ proved to be a superb guide, being extremely knowledgable about the wildlife and history of the island. He also had a great amount of detail regarding the different pods and their activities.

His instructions were to the point, and efficient, allowing us to get into the water quickly, and he tailored the trip to what we wanted to do.

While on the water, after having a great picnic lunch at a little sand bar, skipping some rocks, and taking some photos, we got back on the water and began our trip back to the start point.

Along the way, we had the experience of a lifetime. At first we saw a pod of orcas playing about 400m away, showing off for the whale watching boats, which would have been enough for us. After about 20 mins of watching, we decided to start moving again. And once again, AJ proved his worth with his head on a a constant swivel. He had turned around just in time to see an orca surface about 200m behind us and heading directly for us. We brought our boats together and just watched as a pod of orcas played near our kayaks, surfacing not more than 5 meters in front of us! We even got to see about half a dozen breaches.

This was the trip of a lifetime, and one I hope to replicate very soon!

When you book your trip with San Juan Kayak Expeditions, be sure to ask for AJ!

1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Kayak E, Owner at San Juan Kayak Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

And you were phenomenal guests! We try to give you a full day of adventure, and it is nice when we can throw in a pod of whales to boot! AJ always delivers. He is never ceases to amaze! Thank you for sharing your experience with the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My fiancee and I just got back from a 2 day kayaking trip through this company and it was spectacular!! Tim (the owner) is attentive to every detail, provides all the necessary equipment (and might I add that it is of the highest quality) and ensures the safety of every person. Our guide (Tara) was phenomenal and extremely knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife. We saw bald eagles, dolphins, foxes, and WHALES!! This is a trip I will remember for the rest of my life and is a must for anyone who loves adventure.

I know there are many companies that make these trips but the attention to detail in the planning and logistics by Tim and his guides' professionalism and knowledge make San Juan Kayak Expeditions the obvious choice for a sea adventure in the San Juan Islands. We can't wait to come back from New York for another trip and will be sure to be in touch with Tim when we do!!!

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Kayak E, Owner at San Juan Kayak Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

And we would love to see your smiling faces again. Tara and I wish you luck in med school and internship. You were fun additions to our Orca Quest crew. We are glad we were able to throw in some close killer whale encounters too! Looking forward to next time! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We went out for a two day whale watching, kayaking trip with AJ around San Juan Island. AJ was a blast as well as very knowledgeable about the whales, other animal live and vegetation on the island. He gave it his all to ensure we would have an incredible whale watching experience and boy did we ever. We saw whales both days, with the second day resulting in an exhilarating up close encounter with the whales. The night of camping on Posey Island was very enjoyable with great burritos prepared by AJ. It was an experience of a life time.

Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Kayak E, Owner at San Juan Kayak Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Your orca whale encounter was amazing, but I am glad you mentioned the kayaking experience as well. The two-day Orca Quest is more than just a whale watching tour, it is a sea kayaking expedition! Covering about 20 tide-aided miles in two days gives you a good taste of what the San Juan Islands have to offer, and you two did it with aplomb! Thank you for paddling with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I booked a day trip for my friend and his son for a special treat. It was unquestionably the highlight of their trip to the Northwest! Tara, their guide, was wonderful, and knew just how to make a 13 year old boy feel as though he was on an adventure. They saw whales galore. Another great trip, courtesy of Tim, and San Juan Kayak Expeditions!

Thank BrendaB887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Kayak E, Owner at San Juan Kayak Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

And it was a memorable day for us too. It is always nice when past guests bring back friends and family. It makes us realize just how long we have been offering great kayak trips in the San Juan Islands and paddling with great people. Thanks, B for the kind words. I am glad we could add whales to the experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Juan Kayak Expeditions also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to San Juan Kayak Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing