We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roche Harbor - Quarryman Hall - Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roche Harbor Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Roche Harbor - Quarryman Hall - Excellent!”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stumbled onto Roche Harbor (San Juan Island) and what a find! Loved every minute - It's quaint and picture perfect. Hotel staff at the Hotel de Haro were friendly, courteous and went out of their way to let us view rooms in the Historic hotel and next door in the Quarryman Suites. The historic hotel lobby is charming but the upstairs rooms are old and in need of some work (shared baths, etc.) The Quarryman is modern luxurious - the trick is going off season when the rates are substantially lower. The Quarryman in our estimation is over-priced during peak season (450.00) for a modern "hotel-like" room (although the view of the harbor is picturesque.) The drawback is the fact of arriving late - with only 1 dining option - McMillian's ... we found it to be charming also but with high prices and not alot of options for mid-price level ... we opted for a delicious crab/artichoke appetizer, (3) crab bisques and a couple desserts and wound up paying 60.00. The Lime Kiln Cafe is nice ... freshly made donuts that were wonderul along with strawberry pancakes. Overall - we loved this spot and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowOnesNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    79
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
88
148
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stay here every year, and each time we visit we find something new to love about Roche! We love the harbor, walking around the resort, the funky masoleum, the spa, the artists and craftspeople, the food, The Lime Kiln cafe DOUGHNUTS! (get in the line early in the morning) walking the docks and meeting fellow boaters and their dogs, and just in general the overall island mood of the place.

The staff from marina to hotel to spa and shops are the absolute best and are there to serve and accomodate your wishes, no matter what. We've always been very impressed with the level of service and hospitality we've received, always with a smile.

The gardens are incredible if you visit in the spring, summer or fall. We love the flag ceremony and church chimes too - very unique, kind of quirky but fun, and it definitely goes with the special, historic vibe of the place.

World travellers and boaters will love it - others might not get it, but that's OK. It will always be a treasured little gem of the San Juans.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuscany885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Hi

Just came back from the resort. I thought the room was average for the price, location was great. However...the restaraunt (McMillans) of which you are captive unless you go to Friday harbor is a RIPOFF!! I drink each and seafood pasta...$80 before tax and tip! Im not sure who they think they are catering to or if then even care about peoples feedback.......but......great location....just hate being gouged.

Dave

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

The location is gorgeous! The room smells like cigars and dust. The staff at the restaurant acted as if they have never seen people of color before. The food was good the service...two thumbs down. We checked out early!!! Will not come back or recommend!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WhiteCenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2011

My favorite hotel in the northwest. I especially enjoy the Mcmillen suite. Friendly faces, amazing historical and educational value. Not for the ignorant pscemistic average city folk. If you enjoy beauty class and an amazing adventure to the islands this is your spot :)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777atthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My purse and camera were stolen from the restaurant when we were seated near the kitchen /restroom passage way. I lost my cash, camera, military id, credit cards and every thing. We went to the office to report it stolen and they did NOTHING! In fact the lady claimed that none of their kitchen staff would steal my purse and that it was lost and she would call me when it was returned. Of course they never called and we checked in repeatedly to see if it was "returned" but of course it wasnt. I am furious that their staff stole my purse and camera (valued at $600) and furious that the managment turned a blind eye to their dishonest staff and refused to help me. We never even go back to that island now because of this horrible visit!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KiwiSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

My husband and I just returned from our trip to the San Juan Islands having stayed at the Roche Harbor Resort for a week. The resort is about 15 minutes away from Friday Harbor where the ferry drops you off. The resort is very self-contained including a post office. It has a grocery store, laundry facilities, 2 restaurants, a spa and different sleeping accomodations. We stayed in a one bedroom condominium. The condo had a nicely equiped kitchen which we used a few times with the caveat that they probably needed to clean the oven because when I used it it smoked up the place. Overall I think the condos need to be updated. We are thinking they were built in the 70's. One morning my husband went to take a shower and the shower doors fell off their track. I would also suggest sleeping or renting an upper floor condo since the one we stayed in was at the bottom and very noisy when guests are coming and going above you at all hours of the night or early morning. They do come and change your towels and kitchen stuff (garbage etc.) daily which is nice. We had a beautiful view of the harbor. We did dine at both of their restaurants. One more casual and the other more formal. Both were OK nothing to write home about but if you do not have a car-they are sufficient. The harbor has nice little rituals such as a lowering of the flag at sunset with all of the formalities of lowering a flag and church music with tunes at 9 am and 12. The resort did have a pool and tennis courts (which we did not use) but no gym.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandMRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
7.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
441 reviews
7.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
139 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
489 reviews
12.6 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
8.1 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roche Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roche Harbor Resort

Property: Roche Harbor Resort
Address: 248 Reuben Memorial Dr, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8171
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Roche Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan Island historic resort nestled along the shoreline. Guest amenities include marina, three restaurants, kayaking, whale watching, full service spa, pool, playground, bocce ball, tennis courts, and nature trails. Resort center has complimentary wireless internet for all resort guests. Some (not all) of our rooms have microwave, coffee service, refrigerator, and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Roche Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roche Harbor Hotel Roche Harbor Village
Roche Harbor Village Hotel
Roche Harbor Village Resort
Roche Harbor Resort Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing