We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleanliness shouldn't be an issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roche Harbor Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cleanliness shouldn't be an issue”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I was dismayed at my recent stay with Roche Harbor Resort. The room was filthy with spiders, cob webs with insects in them, trash under the bed, trash under the cushions of the couch and chairs and behind the furniture. Improper lighting, as in several of the lights didn't work including the light outside of our door. Black mold growing in the shower. Maid service needs to be revamped especially when we have to call and ask for the place to be cleaned and for toilet paper. Mind you they never did vacuum or make the bed our second day there. We were told that they were short-handed. Is that a good excuse for poor customer service?

Room Tip: Not very handicapped accessible. Noise from other rooms easily heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank becca272005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    51
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
70
98
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Just spent a week moored in our boat at Roche Harbor, and enjoyed it greatly. Did not stay in hotel as such, but spent fair amount of time in the lobby using computer as the wireless internet service did not quite make it in a stable manner to our boat. (BBX might work better but I was lazy and could use lobby computer for what I had to do.) I heard the desk clerk say that some guests in past had "complained" that the hotel is a "museum". The architecture has been maintained and there are old photos about the history of the men and families who have lived there. I found it charming. Service was friendly and attentive. We enjoyed lunch on the outdoor terraces (there are 3 restaurants, two with terraces), the outdoor market (ice cream, European candies, handmade art work, etc.), walking through the well-tended gardens. Roche had some of the most beautiful plants in the outdoor planters that I've ever seen - cascades of red and orange begonias and pelargonium - unusual varieties. Plenty of places to walk, two large fenced dog parks and other places to walk Fido or give him/her a swim in the ocean. The new construction is architecturally consistent and well done. Moorage for our 30' LOA power boat was $51 a night. Our engine switch solenoid was defective and we found the alternator was going bad - ordered the parts and enjoyed waiting 2 days for them - first-rate mechanic on site fixed us up. a very pleasant experience...We don't even mind the mechanic's bill. The service and skill are appreciated.

Room Tip: Read the other reviews about the limitations of the old historic de Haro Hotel. It was built to acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatricksMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have never stayed at Roche Harbor Resort, but have flown in to spend the day enjoying the gorgeous views and "turn of the century" vistas.

The resort has shuttles that can get you down to the harborside from the small unattended airport, and you can also rent a moped to get around the island.

Breakfast or lunch at the Lime Kiln Cafe is an adventure. Try having one of your party hold down a vacant table while the rest put in the order, and then, when it's ready, a young woman dressed in khaki shorts & white polo will deliver it to your table.

The food is very good! Try the huckleberry pancakes. They're loaded with blue and strawberries but you can find huckleberries nestled in there as well.

If the weather is nice, try to get one of the umbrella-covered outdoor tables. Views in all directions are fabulous, plus it's fun to people watch. The restrooms provide showers for people who boat in and need one after a few days at sea, and while they're rudimetary, they work fine.

In addition to air or sea access, San Juan Island can be reached by ferry boats.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Last year I would have rated this a five star. Great service, great scenery, and great fun. I have been going here for years but something changed this year and I can't quite put my finger on it. The staff seems stricker and dry. most notably is the lack of a band on Friday and Saturday nights. The band lit up the harbor and brought everyone off their boats for dancing and fun. Now nights in the harbor are dull.

If you are looking for night life, skip Roche and head to Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aly329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

My daughter and I stayed in a "historic" cabin by the pool. The concept was terrific...a rustic cabin that could sleep 6 with eat in full kitchen, 1 bathroom located by the master bedroom. There is a great outdoor fireplace directly behind the cabin with fast-lighting wood provided by the hotel. Great for watching stars at night and making s'mores. The staff are something special..really sweet and accommodating.
Be aware that "historic" means run down. At these prices the accommodation was a disappointment. Well maintained and clean...yet beat up and old. Be forewarned...no television or internet (not a terrible thing...watch real stars instead of t.v. Stars). My 15 year old daughter loved it here...she's not as picky as me!

Room Tip: Rustic is the operative word...and overpriced. But...what vacation place isnt
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Areallyniceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The newer townhomes/condos are the best rental units. The rooms in the actual hotel are a little "tired", but the experience and friendly staff make up for any negatives.
The surrounding views over the marina are spectacular and the festive spirit of all the staff is contagious. There is enough activities for anyone of any age.

Room Tip: If you are not on a boat, be sure to reserve a trip in advance - the boat rentals go fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

My wife and I loved our stay here on our honeymoon. We really enjoyed the time we spent here, and the rates they offered us were very affordable for the luxury! Every evening was a breathtaking sunset. The harbor is beautiful with a very interesting history. We drove down the west coast of San Juan Island at about 10:00 AM. The coastline is stunning, and there is a museum and lighthouse for whale watching. Our room at Roche Harbor Resort was in the perfect location. The decorations and furniture were very cozy. The fancy, modernized, clawfoot tub and heated bathroom floors were a nice touch. We will be recommending Roche Harbor Resort, and it is very likely we will be returning!

Helpful?
Thank Lars P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
8.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
7.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
8.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
12.6 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roche Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roche Harbor Resort

Property: Roche Harbor Resort
Address: 248 Reuben Memorial Dr, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8171
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Roche Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan Island historic resort nestled along the shoreline. Guest amenities include marina, three restaurants, kayaking, whale watching, full service spa, pool, playground, bocce ball, tennis courts, and nature trails. Resort center has complimentary wireless internet for all resort guests. Some (not all) of our rooms have microwave, coffee service, refrigerator, and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Roche Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roche Harbor Hotel Roche Harbor Village
Roche Harbor Village Hotel
Roche Harbor Village Resort
Roche Harbor Resort Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing