We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Wedding Weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We traveled from Texas to Friday Harbor for a friend's wedding. The family had arranged a group rate at a local hotel chain but my husband and I like to check out B&Bs when we can. We were not disappointed!! As I was coordinating our trip, I called the Kirk House several times because we were not familiar with the Island and what to expect logistically. The owners were very helpful and friendly - always returning my call in a timely manner. The trip to Friday Harbor takes fair amount of coordination (check out ferry schedule BEFORE making reservations, buying plane tickets, etc.) but is a wonderful vacation spot! The Kirk House owners are so hospitable and the house is beautiful! If you're a fan of Craftsman-style bungalows - you'll love the details. The breakfasts were amazing! We never needed it, but they were very accommodating to other guests, packing to-go breakfasts for a couple who was going whale watching early one morning. They provided fresh-baked goodies in the afternoon and coffee/tea/fresh lemon water was available throughout the day. One of the best treats was a "coffee basket" that they leave outside your door around 7:30 each morning. We remained on "Texas Time" throughout our trip so the coffee made the wait until the 9:00am breakfast more bearable. If we ever make it back to Friday Harbor we will definitely stay at the Kirk House again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxRevWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
420
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

A fantastic stay in Friday Harbor. Great accommodations, well decorated, very clean, perfect location within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Our room had a nice flat screen TV, which we appreciated and there was Internet access. Some B&B's we have stayed in have not included these amenities because we are there to "relax." I appreciated having access to these. A real plus, that I have not had at a B&B elsewhere, was having the basket with coffee delivered to our door at 7am so that we could enjoy a cup while waking up and getting ready for breakfast (served at 9).

I highly recommend Kirk House and we will definitely return if we have the chance to visit San Juan Island again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jmsvss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Kirk house- it's very convenietly located and very comfortable. The host and hostess are great, we really liked the afternoon treats. Breakfast was great. It's a little pricey but average for the area! we stayed in the Trellis room which I would recommend if you are a bath person- she has the bath set up like a spa! But if your a shower person the other rooms have a little more space to move around. All rooms are well appointed and all have private entrances to the wonderful wrap around porch or back yard. Lots of romatic places to cuddle up!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonodenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

If we ever get back to Friday Harbor, we will definitely stay here again. The Kirk House is a wonderful bed & breakfast. It is located on a quiet street, just a short walk to all the shops and restaurants. The house itself is beautiful, clean and well maintained. Built in 1907, it has lots of history and beautiful woodwork throughout. I recommend the Veranda room. It was very large and has it's own private entrance.

The owners Doug and Roxy work tirelessly to provide every amenity and comfort you can think of; from their gourmet breakfast with award-winning fruit and yogurt parfait, to non-stop homemade snacks, fruits, pasties and specially blended coffee and teas. When you return to your room after your island activities, you will find more snacks and an always-full pitcher of ice water. This is in addition to what is offered in the dining room. We were always so full from the breakfast, we didn't need to eat lunch. I was especially grateful for all the gluten-free foods they prepared for me. That was additional time and expense for them, but goes to show how much they care about their guest.

The Kirk House is a wonderful place to stay, but the real prize is being the guest of Doug and Roxy as they make you feel so welcome. They are just the nicest people and they know how to run a B&B. My husband and I have stayed in B&B's in the South and in Europe, but the Kirk House, run by Doug and Roxy, is by far the richest experience we have ever had at one. It is a destination in itself.

Room Tip: The Veranda room has a huge shower and a private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelede99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at The Kirk House at the end of September/ beginning of October. The room (we stayed in The Trellis Room), the location and the big parlor were everything you would expect in a top quality B&B. But the incredible breakfasts, the afternoon treats, and particularly the friendly and helpful hosts, Doug and Roxy, made our stay something we will remember forever and hope to return to again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We visited the San Juan Islands about two weeks ago where we stayed with Doug and Roxy and it was a truly memorable experience. We were a little skeptical at first because we've never stayed at a bed and breakfast before but they helped us feel right at home. Very welcoming and generous. They went out of their way to ensure that we were settled in, gave us information about restaurants, sites to visit, the list goes on. With special dietary needs, they went out of their way to meet them. After a long day of trekking and sight seeing, we were always welcomed back with smiles, gluten free treats in our room and so much more. Roxy is quite the gluten free baker! It was a blessing to be able to sit down at breakfast with complete strangers and leave out friends. Doug makes an awesome parfait for breakfast (I'm not a fan of parfaits but he has changed my mind!). This is definitely a place that I would recommend to anyone and would gladly go back anytime. It's worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Veranda Room and it was lovely! Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanuvasa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Kirk House Bed and Breakfast is a WONDERFUL place to stay. Awesome relaxing porch to lounge and relax. There was 5 of us all together, all the rooms were great. Roxy and Doug are the heart of the B&B. Their attention to detail is fantastic. My sister was getting married on the island, they went out of there way to make their time there extra special. And the breakfast each morning was fabulous and they even made us 'breakfast to go' on the morning we had to leave and catch the ferry.

The Kirk House B&B is walking distance to the town and easy to get to all the cool shops, bars and restaurants.

It's a wonderful place! A little slice of heaven on earth!

We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonE_reddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Earthbox Inn & Spa
#7 of 10 in Friday Harbor
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing