We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a charming B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chehalis, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a charming B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The Inn keepers were welcoming and warm. The house is a location with a rich history of the island. Comfortable, warm and everything you would want for a romantic getaway. Breakfast was delicious and the Innkeeper's homemade granola, greek yogurt and fresh berry parfait (mamosias served on Sundays) were yummy. Will most definitely go back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoriG137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
399
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Fantastic! Doug and Roxy are amazing, they really made me feel like I was at home and went above and beyond to make me comfortable. I came to Kirk House for a solo getaway and the entire time I felt nourished and taken care of. The location is great, steps from adorable downtown Friday Harbor. I stayed in the Trellis Room and fully enjoyed the comfortable bed, soothing tub and general coziness of the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed there in March and are still talking about the wonderful stay we had at Kirk House. From the moment we arrived, Roxy and Doug were the most warm, gracious, and hospitable hosts any visitor could hope for. The breakfasts are generous and delicious, not to mention the tasty afternoon snacks. How can you pass up warm banana bread with butter? The rooms are clean and well-appointed; bed was really comfortable. Roxy and Doug were always available but not intrusive; they helped us make dinner reservations and gave us information to help explore the island. The binder with local restaurant information and reviews was especially helpful. I cannot say enough good things about Kirk House, and the hosts, Roxy and Doug. We will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We visited the Kirk House over a recent three dat weekend. Doug and Roxy are most gracious hosts. The breakfasts always started with homemade granola parfaits that are so delicious and presented beautifully. I am gluten free and neglected to let them know in advance, but they were able to prepare gluten free breakfasts that were delicious and fit in with all the other guests. They provided a coffee and tea basket every morning delivered to our door at 7:30. The coffee was excellent. The bed was warm and so cozy and soft. The room had a mixture of old and new. And Doug and Roxy provided a history of their Inn and of Friday Harbor and offered suggestions of what to explore. It was a very relax full weekend!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Wonderful B&B! Doug and Roxy were lovely hosts, providing many nice touches in the room, lots of great advice for exploring and super restaurant suggestions! The breakfasts were amazing, and they even packed us a nice one to go so we could catch an early ferry. It was a memorable visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Kirk House is a wonderful bed and breakfast. We arrived about dark and were greeted by Roxy and Doug. The phone system was down because of a cut line to the islands. Doug and Roxy are very friendly and provided us some history of the Kirk house. They provided us some suggestions for dinner and the Kirk House is close enough to down town to allow you to walk. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. The granola was especially good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This beautiful bed and breakfast is warm, restful, and inviting. Roxy made the most delicious breakfasts and afternoon treats and was the ultimate host! She was so welcoming, providing us with excellent suggestions for restaurants and places to visit on what was our first trip to Friday Harbor. We stayed in the Veranda Room and enjoyed the fireplace and the most comfortable beds and linens we have ever experienced. From the filtered lemon water and lavender toiletries, to the morning basket of tea/coffee left at your door, the proprietors of this bed and breakfast have thought of everything. The only disappointment that my husband and I had was that we weren't able to stay longer! We will definitely return to the Kirk House.

Room Tip: Veranda room was very comfortable with a king size bed, a fireplace, and a door to the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing