We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camas, Washington
1 review
“Perfect Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you are looking for a place to spend a quiet weekend, or a home away from home for an entire week, I cannot imagine a better choice than the Kirk House. A short walk from everything Friday Harbor has to offer, the Kirk House offers personal service, great attention to detail, and outstanding food. My wife and I were most impressed by the cleanliness of the house and room. The owners, Roxy and Doug, put a great deal of themselves into their B&B. They want their guests to have a wonderful time, and it shows!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
399
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I'm new to the B&B experience, but I couldn't imagine a better first than the Kirk House. Roxy and Doug were gracious hosts and the Inn was everything I could have hoped for in a romantic getaway. It's a pleasant walk from the ferry terminal and close to town. We stayed in the large suite with fireplace and bath and could not have been happier. The bed and linens were amazingly comfortable. The living room and fireplace were warm and inviting. We also got to meet fellow travelers and the morning coffee service and breakfast were AMAZING! Thank you for an unforgetable stay and thank you for making it special. Nicky and I wish you all the best and look forward to staying with you again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Staying at the Kirk House is like traveling back in time. The house is over 100 years old and depicts an elegant style (both inside and out) from a time long gone that has been impeccably maintained. One can just imagine the original owner, Peter Kirk, having his afternoon tea in front of the fireplace in winter or out on the generous porch in summer. Doug and Roxy attended to the minutest of details to make me feel very welcome and at home from the fresh-baked cookies and signature coffee upon arrival to the hot coffee waiting for me at my door the next morning and the gourmet breakfast that followed. l liked that the house is close to downtown (and the ferry) yet in a quiet setting. I stayed in the Garden Room and found it enchanting with its plush pillows and French doors to the garden. It was very enjoyable to experience a bit of Pacific Northwest history by staying in the home of one its pioneers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Doug and Roxy were the perfect hosts. My husband and I stayed in the Trelllis room which was bright and spacious with a private bath. This home was spotless. Special touches included fresh cut flowers, coffee delivered to our door in the morning, and lavender soaps and bath products. Home cooked breakfast was fabulous and Doug and Roxy even had treats set out in the afternoon; one evening cheese and wine. The Kirk House is convenient to town -- close enough to walk. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The Inn keepers were welcoming and warm. The house is a location with a rich history of the island. Comfortable, warm and everything you would want for a romantic getaway. Breakfast was delicious and the Innkeeper's homemade granola, greek yogurt and fresh berry parfait (mamosias served on Sundays) were yummy. Will most definitely go back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Fantastic! Doug and Roxy are amazing, they really made me feel like I was at home and went above and beyond to make me comfortable. I came to Kirk House for a solo getaway and the entire time I felt nourished and taken care of. The location is great, steps from adorable downtown Friday Harbor. I stayed in the Trellis Room and fully enjoyed the comfortable bed, soothing tub and general coziness of the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed there in March and are still talking about the wonderful stay we had at Kirk House. From the moment we arrived, Roxy and Doug were the most warm, gracious, and hospitable hosts any visitor could hope for. The breakfasts are generous and delicious, not to mention the tasty afternoon snacks. How can you pass up warm banana bread with butter? The rooms are clean and well-appointed; bed was really comfortable. Roxy and Doug were always available but not intrusive; they helped us make dinner reservations and gave us information to help explore the island. The binder with local restaurant information and reviews was especially helpful. I cannot say enough good things about Kirk House, and the hosts, Roxy and Doug. We will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing