We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and had a great experience. Doug and Roxy are excellent hosts, who provide comfortable and beautiful accommodations and delicious breakfasts. They keep Kirk House clean, and the lavender scent adds to the relaxing atmosphere. We did not have a car, but everything was easy walking distance. Doug was nice enough to pick us up and take us back to the ferry so we didn't have to drag our suitcases through town. I would stay there again without hesitation. It is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed at, and we are frequent travelers who love B&Bs. Doug and Roxy are above and beyond any other hosts, we felt like old friends by the time we said good bye.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkpelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
434
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for three nights with Roxy and Doug and were treated with wonderful food and comforts each day starting with coffee at our door. Doug and Roxy were great at accommodating everyone's diet restrictions and provided vegetarian dishes along with meat for the carnivores in our group! We also enjoyed the beautiful evenings by bringing our dinner back and eating at the outdoor table in the garden. Doug and Roxy were wonderful hosts and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We visited in April after a few days of tulip-hopping on the mainland. We spend two nights. Everything about Kirk House is perfect, and Roxy and Doug are fantastic hosts. I am in complete agreement with the other five-star reviews, including reviews of the breakfasts, which were delicious and plentiful, the gracious hospitality and knowledgeable hosts, and the luxuriously appointed home and meticulously landscaped property. The weather was typically rainy for most of the weekend, yet the experience was wonderful, in large part because of our accommodations. A night's stay is not cheap by most standards, but worth saving up, if cost is a consideration. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: The largest room with the king bed and fireplace has a massive, luxurious, magnificent shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pettinroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willmar, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

In July my wife & I stayed three nights in the Veranda room at The Kirk House for our 9th anniversary and had an extremely pleasant stay. Doug & Roxy were very welcoming and truly genuine. The breakfasts were several courses, homemade, and scrumptious...plus fresh roasted, ground, and brewed coffee was brought right to our door every morning! The afternoon snacks & fruit were refreshing too. We loved the location of the Kirk House as it was easily walkable to the downtown, but away from the hustle and bustle of the harbor and the noise that comes with that. The houses' veranda was quaint and welcoming, complete with candles in the evening. Our room was clean and had wonderful touches of hospitality...like Pelindaba Lavender products and chocolates & fresh lemon water that were restocked daily. We loved our stay and were so glad we picked The Kirk House! Thanks Doug & Roxy! - Dave & Rebecca W.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

From the moment you step onto the property and long after you leave, you will remember Roxy and Doug - the lovely proprietors of this history rich Bed & Breakfast. The restored, turn-of-the-century vacation home built by industrialist Peter Kirk and owned by his family for several generations felt very special to be a part of, if only for a few days. A peaceful setting, yet close to town and water to enjoy all that Friday Harbor has to offer. The aroma of island coffee or native teas and tasty breakfast treats in a basket at your bedroom door every morning upon waking or delicious to-go breakfast sandwiches packed up for that early morning adventure (we did both). We felt like we were visiting relatives who made sure to attend to every comfort and knew the island very well. Each night we would come in late from a long day's adventuring and loved being able to make our own tea and pick up an after dinner sweet at the hospitality hutch. I hurt my ankle while visiting Orca Island and when I returned I realized I needed ice. Roxy came right over with an ice-gel pack and by morning, the swelling was gone and our vacation unspoiled. We were able to peek into the other rooms before anyone else arrived and they each look special. We stayed in the Garden Room with our own french patio doors. It gets some nice sun rays through the upper windows, lovely to wake to, which is surely welcome most of the year, only a bit warm on those rarer hot days. The accommodations are smaller than one might expect by modern standards, but we were surprised at how well the space was used and how much privacy we had - we would not change a thing and otherwise it would not feel authentic. The architectural details and property are of a by-gone era and so is the gracious hospitality of the hosts, and that's what makes it a one of a kind experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a special look and are in keeping with their historical period. We wanted to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorandtheMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Burrell, PA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent one night at Kirk House. When we arrived, there were fresh brownies, cookies, fruit, and fresh coffee on a serving table. We had all four bedrooms and they were all charming, clean, and the beds are very comfortable. Each room has a door to an outside sitting area. Doug and Roxy are so warm and welcoming and you can see that they love owning a B&B. You can have coffee or tea delivered to your door each morning and a delicious breakfast is served at 9am. Doug makes a wonderful yogurt/granola/fruit parfait to start you off. That was followed with sausage and kind of a baked French toast and the portions are quite satisfying. It was my birthday and Roxy had little Happy Birthday cocktail napkins under the parfaits....nice touch.
They are in a great location and you can walk into town. We all wished we would have made reservations for two nights instead of just one. We hope to get back there again in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice. There is one room with a working fireplace. There is no air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalyLowerBurrell_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent two nights as the guests of Doug and Roxy at Kirk House B&B. Doug and Roxy, our hosts, were the loveliest people. Warm, welcoming and truly in love with what they are doing. Our room, the Garden Room, was beautifully decorated, comfortable and quiet. The french doors lead out to a semi-private patio/sitting area. A perfect place to unwind at the end of a long day of sightseeing. The house has been renovated to turn it into a B&B, but it still holds true to its Craftsman style roots.
Breakfast - the words escape me to describe to feast that greeted us each morning. It started with coffee (or tea if you wish), delivered to your door around 7 each morning. Breakfast is served at 9 and starts with a yogurt/granola/fruit parfait, followed by a main course. Since there are only four rooms, all the guests sit down to eat around common tables (unless you request an early-bird to go breakfast). One morning was fresh blueberry and buttermilk pancakes and peppered bacon, the next morning was a delicious southwest style quiche and delicious handmade pastry. Needless to say, there was no need to stop anywhere for lunch. Afternoon snacks of fresh fruit and some delightful baked goody greeted us each day.
The location is just perfect. Just outside the hustle of downtown Friday Harbor, but close enough to walk to the restaurants we chose each evening (or shopping or anything else in town). Yes, the town rolls up the sidewalks early, but that's part of its charm. We enjoyed breakfast with the other guests and savored the time spent reconnecting with people.
There is no air conditioning in the house, so in the summer in the afternoon, the rooms might get a little warm. Throw open the windows and the french doors and turn on a fan and it cools off in no time. As someone who lives in air conditioning full time in the summer, this was a delight for us.
Toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion) are locally sourced from Pelindaba Lavender Farm. A definite lavender luxury. For their visitors who may not wish to smell as flowery, they have an assortment of other products available for use as well.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a room during the summer months. I booked ours in May for our trip in late J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpomfret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
501 reviews
5.1 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing