We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friday Harbor Suites
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Walnut, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Pros:
- Friendly staff
- Shuttle to the ferry dock

Cons:
- Check-in was at 4 pm but our room was not ready until 5 pm. Having travelled all day, it was slightly irritating, to say the least, to wait for an hour for our room.
- Our room is next to the restaurant and it was pretty noisy.
- NO A/C and that info was not mentioned in the website.
- One of the amenities mentioned in the website is a safety deposit box but there isn't one in our room.
- Toilet was clogged in our room.
- One of the light bulbs in our bedroom was not working.
- Hotel looks like it is in need of an update.
- Highly overprice.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. If my family and I were staying longer than a night, I would have tried to find another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant. Better yet, stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WannaBeIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
i am very sorry about the delay in getting you into your room. we had a full house the night before and almost all of the rooms turned over the day of your stay. The housekeeping staff did their best to get to all the rooms on time but a couple of the rooms took more than the usual level of attention and we fell behind schedule. Not a valid excuse to someone who had been on the road all day so I am disappointed we could not get you in at 4;00.
We have two portable air conditioning units that we move around the hotel and would have liked to have had one sent into your room.
Thanks for the tip on the light bulb; we got that changed out.

i would really appreciate the opportunity to talk with you further, through email or phone, and we want to make amends to you for having you wait.

thane@fridayharborsuites.com if you would like to email me

Thanks you so much for taking the time to your comments. i know how frustrating it can be to have wait for a room and I would like to have the opportunity to have you back and to make your next trip a lot more enjoyable.


Thane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    46
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
58
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is well maintained. Our room was huge. It had a kitchen(only microwave), dining table, small refrigerator, couch, large TV on a swivel, and a decent bathroom. Our room was on the ground floor so there was a small patio outside where you could sit.

The room was quiet at night except I could occasionally hear the people on the second floor walking around.

The breakfast was very good. There is a Mexican restaurant on the premise but I didn't try it.

You get downtown by taking the hotel shuttle or walking down. It is only a few block. If you need a ride back, you can call and they bring the shuttle down for you.

I will stay here in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed quiet to me. I was in the back west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for the great comments!

i am so glad you like the new shuttle; i just bought it this year and all of the guests love it!

It seems that many like being out of the downtown core and appreciate the quick trip into the busy commercial area; we are just far enough off the beaten track to have a quieter neighborhood to enjoy.

We don't have a water view from here and the shoreline is about 9 blocks away
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in July of 2014. The first room we were assigned (studio-first floor-don't do it) was shabby, but the courteous staff then upgraded us to a beautiful room with a private balcony overlooking a wooded area.. The hotel is slightly outdated, but very clean and spacious. The staff, particularly, a young man, Serra, was very polite and helpful. All in all it was an excellent deal for the area. Great location, just a short walk down to the harbor, or they have a free shuttle from the hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs, balcony, mini-suite with a fully equipped kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve65032530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words!

i am glad that you liked the upgrade; the little studios are best for one person but all of the rest of the rooms are oversized. i am glad we have the 3 small studios but the Suites are much roomier.

It was fun to have you here and i hope you get back to the Island soon!

Thanks,

Thane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I hate to have to give a 'not so great' review but if I don't then other people will be lured in by very high reviews like we were.

Con: This place needs a overhaul....new paint, new carpets, very outdated. Had old wallpaper & our door didn't always LOCK!!!! who checks their door once it closes...my husband accidentally discovered it wasn't locked? Location was far from the town. Breakfast was substandard.

Pro: Price was reasonable & it was great that they provided a 'free' shuttle to town.

This is a beautiful island just wish the accommodations reflected the islands beauty.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyLuvsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
i am so sorry that you had some disappointments during your stay here at the Hotel.
We just put in new carpet in all of the rooms this spring and have worked very hard on upgrading as many things as we could since I arrived in February.
we're making The problem with your door is very important to me and i would very much appreciate a call from you, if you are willing, to talk about the door locking. We can reprogram them in an instant. This is why TripAdvisor is such a great thing; it helps us get better!

Please call me toll free at 1-800-752-5752 or email me at thane@fridayharbor suites and I will most grateful for the opportunity to make things right.

Sincerely,

Thane
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The two rooms in the suite and bathroom were large. The kitchen space was comfortable. The most unusual hotel I have ever stayed in. You look down the corridor to your rooms and it appears to be a small narrow passage way. The way this hotel was built is what I believe makes the rooms bigger. You are away from the town but they have a van that will pick you up and take you into town, don;t need to use your car, parking in town is limited. The hotel has a large parking lot, so if you have a large vehicle this is the place for parking, at no charge. There is a Mexican restaurant in the hotel with limited hours for dinner, they close early but the food was surprisingly really really good. This was not our first choice, but I believe it was our best choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vangie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank so much for your kind remarks about the Friday Harbor Suites. It was a pleasure to have stay with us and we appreciate you leaving a tip for future guests about using the new shuttle bus instead of hunting around for parking in town!

Thanks for coming to the Island and staying with us!


Thane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed here with my family for several nights in February. The staff are all very friendly and helpful (very knowledgable about activities and places to go and see), the hotel itself is within walking distance of the shops and restaurants, and I loved the rooms! Their layouts are great; you pretty much have your own apartment. And we had a nice little stove too!
Their complimentary breakfast was great. They had a nice variety. They also have a Mexican restaurant IN the hotel, and their food is amazing! We went there for dinner and drinks one night. I'm planning my next trip in a couple of weeks! I highly, highly recommend this hotel. They really went above and beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennabean096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
it is people like you that make my job so fun!!!!!

thanks for all of your thoughts and comments and we hope you come back in the off season when we have some really great rates :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was the location for our small group for 4 nights. It is a converted health facility so the layout of the halls is unique, but every room has been remodeled and upgraded and it is a wonderful relaxing place to spend a few San Juan days. Very good Mexican restaurant off the lobby with beautiful outdoor seating is a plus. You are an easy walk from downtown, set back enough to have total quiet in the evening. Friendly helpful staff will take care of your needs. I asked for help booking a whale watching tour for the group and got great assistance including a shuttle ride to the wharf for the group.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Mike,

Thank you very much for your comments!

i am so glad you got to go out and see the whales; they have put on the best show ever this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor Suites

Property: Friday Harbor Suites
Address: 680 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8058 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Friday Harbor Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Friday Harbor Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable and friendly hotel in a quiet location just half a mile from the harbor - enjoy the unique architecture of a true island favorite. At Friday Harbor Suites you will have plenty of space to enjoy your scrupulously clean room with private patio and separate bedroom, plus a living room with a pull-out sofabed, and an eating area with refrigerator and microwave. A delicious hot breakfast buffet is complimentary, as is wifi, parking and on-demand shuttle service to the ferry, the airport, the harbor, shopping and local in-town restaurants. Ask the friendly front desk staff for suggestions for beautiful walking and sightseeing trails, and scenic drives that will take you around the island before returning to your beautiful private suite. Friday Harbor Suites isn't snooty - it simply offers the most comfortable and spacious rooms on San Juan Island. We now have a four bedroom 3 bath house available for rent on the property and it is a great way to save money if you are looking for multiple rooms at a great price ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Friday Harbor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Best Western
Friday Harbor Suites San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing