We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was clean and adequate but overpriced.”
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The room was clean and adequate but overpriced.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

The flowers and the grounds around the hotel were the outstanding features of the two story hotel motel. The bed coverings were very nice and other furnishings were basic motel quality. The microwave and refrigerator were handy but the room width counter top was an afterthought that did not hide previous plumbing that had been capped off. The bathroom was small but new fixtures made it very presentable. The one major gripe was the uphill climb to the motel that was almost ONE MILE from the wharf with bags and no cab insight insight. When the booking was made, we were told it was 5/8ths of a mile . We were not happy with the deceptive information and the innkeeper was defensive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchy55McKinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding the grounds of Inn. We are almost a mile from the ferry landing and this is definitely a long walk with luggage. We concur with you regarding the countertops in our Deluxe Queen rooms. They are part of the old room layout and design and will be changed out in the off season. Again, we appreciate your great feedback. We hope to serve you better in the future. Kindest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    102
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
155
203
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deary, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A bit pricey, but worth it! We booked two rooms and both were extremely clean and comfortable. The staff was VERY patient with us while helping with dinner reservations and breakfast recommendations. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for the review of the Discovery Inn. We love to hear when our guests have had great experiences with our staff and have enjoyed their rooms as you have. We do hope you can make it back to the island again for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Most of the hotels near the ferry were booked so we chose Discovery Inn. The staff were extremely friendly and the room was clean, with a microwave and frig. For the price, however, it was a bit small and there were few amenities other than the free Keurig coffee. Pool was very small and hot tub wasn't hot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My boyfriend and i booked the cheapest available place to stay on friday harbour- this was it! and it exceeded out expectations. the place was quiet and friendly and very clean! The only problem was that the room got very warm very quickly but that was sorted out once the windows were opened for about 10-15 mins. the staff were very friendly and helpful. we were offered great recommendations for places to eat and they booked our whale watching tour for us, which was also perfect! all the whale watching tours were about $80 per person for 3 hours. we had hired a car which had made it easier to get around the island, however, the main area is friday harbour where everything is within walking distance. discovery inn is about 5 mins by car away from the harbour.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyuheenata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This place just says "comfortable" when you drive into the parking lot. The rooms are standard but have everything you need (you didn't come to San Juan Island to stay in your hotel room, after all!), and the staff is WONDERFUL. We were told of many don't-miss things to do when we checked in, and they all were great. The hot tub is a nice feature, and with our two teenage girls in tow, we enjoyed the openness of the grounds. Road noise wasn't a problem at all, despite what some reviewers note, but if we stayed here again we'd probably ask for a room upstairs so that we wouldn't hear the people above us getting ready to leave for the 5a.m. ferry....

Room Tip: Ask for a top-floor room if the hotel is fully booked and you don't want to hear people above yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MStarAsaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely old style motel. Great gardens. Room large and comfortable. Staff welcoming and helpful. A mile from centre, but parking in town no problem. Had a relaxed few days here. Nice outdoor jacuzzi. Quiet location. Recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

When they say "remodeled" they mean it! This place was top notch, way better than I expected ... small, quaint and personable but with excellent finishes and linens. The grounds are peaceful in spite of being just off a busy road. I highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MamaTravelerZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
503 reviews
5.5 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Property: Discovery Inn
Address: 1016 Guard St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing, this hotel is the only lodging facility on San Juan Island that offers rooms in a park-like setting. Our recently renovated hotel rooms are decorated in restful colors. The handsomely appointed rooms are designed for relaxing. They feature air-conditioning, a private bath, one or two queen beds, an in-room coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi. The Discovery Inn has been a family-owned and operated hotel for over 30 years. Enjoy an outdoor seasonal Jacuzzi, Adirondack-style chairs on the lawn, flowers, decks and barbecues. The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, spacious clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing