We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right!”
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Discovery Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Mound
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Right!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Discovery Inn was just what we were looking for. Friendly & Excellent customer service! Our stay was comfortable and just the right distance from the busy downtown area! The room was amazing. We will go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for staying at the Discover Inn and taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had a great stay with us and look forward to your next visit! Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    100
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
151
196
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We came to San Juan for business and found the Discovery Inn by the flyer on the Ferry. We had checked a few places online prior to coming, but hadn't booked anything yet. We received friendly service from the call to the hotel to the minute we checked out. The staff is great, accommodating and the rooms were very well appointed. The beds were comfy, the linens and bedding were very nice. The whole place was spotless and has such charm. You will find it a very reasonably priced hotel for the Island.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and could park very near our room. Made it very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Discovery Inn. We are glad you stayed with us and we look forward to your next visit. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely room, updated furniture and television. Bed was so comfortable! At home I wake up with back pain and I didn't have it even one morning during my stay. The conseirge was so sweet, warm and welcoming. Quiet surroundings (right next to the library) with a nice grass area for letting the kids run around. A great find, will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor. Was very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn. We are glad you had such a pleasant stay at the Inn and were able to utilize the grounds. We look forward to your next visit. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids had a lovely stay at Discovery Inn while visiting with family for 2 nights. Heather made us feel very welcome and gave us some sight seeing and restaurant tips. If you like seals be sure to visit Popeye the harbor seal down at the marina in town, for a few $ you can feed her some fish. She was a big hit with our kids! The clean room was spacious, had 2 comfy queen beds and as requested a Pack N Play crib outfitted with fitted sheet and blankets. We had plenty of closet and drawer space. The tub (essential if you have little ones) with shower was perfect, high output water pressure and the towels were fluffy and smelled good. I really liked the herbal shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The cable was nice and we also enjoyed the free wifi. We spent 2 quiet relaxing nights here and recommend it to our friends and family. This is a great value for your $ especially if you like a small unit, family owned motel. Very reasonably priced compared to other motels in town. We saw several deer grazing right on the property which was a nice bonus. Discovery Inn is our lodging of choice when visiting San Juan Island from now on!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elless007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn. It is always wonderful to hear when our guests have had a pleasant stay, like yours. We look forward to your next visit to the island. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We visited for the second time in a year so had the fortune of seeing the fantastic remodeling project completed! Love, love, love the double queen rooms! The kids enjoyed the enormous hot tub and the huge expanse of landscaped property to explore. The beds were comfy and the rooms lovely, immaculate and spacious. All the bathrooms have been thoughtfully updated.
The staff is super friendly with loads of advice for dining, adventures, shopping, and exploring.
My family highly recommends Discovery Inn and looks forward to our return trip after the first of the year!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn and for coming back to stay with us again. We LOVE our return customers. We have put much time and effort into the remodel and are glad to hear that you like it. We are continuing to improve the rooms and the grounds around the Inn. You will have to tell us what you think on your next visit. Happy holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I grew up in the Puget Sound area and as a child spent many summers at my grandmothers house on Whidbey Island. Now more than ever I understand and appreciate the idea of "island life" and it's ability to remove the stresses of everyday life. This is why my family tries to vacation to San Juan Island once a year.

The Discovery Inn reflects what I am seeking in an island getaway. My time with my family is precious, and this little motel helps me maximize it with convenience, comfort, affordability, an authentic human connection, and an at-ease, laid back atmosphere.

Heather, the proprietress, runs a tight ship and makes it look easy. She and her staff are pleasant almost to a fault. They welcome their customers with warmth and can masterfully provide directions and inside tips on attractions and activities and whatnot. Our 5 year old son kept sneaking out of the room at every chance to run over to the office to "visit Miss Heather"!

The rooms are just what you need. Nothing excessive, and you are not left wanting for anything. The electric-fireplace heaters are awesome and really warm you up fast after a chilly day at the beach or out hiking.

The motel is located conveniently both to Friday Harbor (just on the outskirts of town) and the back road to Roach Harbor (about a fifteen minute drive). It's quiet. The town library is next door. The Discovery Inn is our Friday Harbor family getaway go-to.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Discovery Inn on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate it. We love to hear from our returning customers and we are glad that our staff was able to provide you with great service during your visit. It is our number one goal is to provide each of our guests with the best possible service. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next trip to the island. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brush Prairie, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel was rated highly be many people, but this was not our experience. The people we dealt with on the phone were courteous and helpful. We booked for 3 nights. It is placed right next to the town library and they were busy. the staff members we met were nice and helpful. We stayed in a downstairs room. the room above us was also taken. Though the people upstairs were not partying, we could hear each and every footstep they took, and could hear and understand all their conversation. They were not being overly loud, but they could have been in the room with us. They went to sleep after midnight and were back up at about 6-6:30.We could hear everyone who brought their luggage down the hallway and staircases. There are no elevators. The owner/manager was very nice about giving my money back for the last 2 nights. We got no sleep or rest in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolelee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible hospitality as well as clean, comfortable rooms at one of the most affordable rates on the Island. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
501 reviews
12.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Property: Discovery Inn
Address: 1016 Guard St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing, this hotel is the only lodging facility on San Juan Island that offers rooms in a park-like setting. Our recently renovated hotel rooms are decorated in restful colors. The handsomely appointed rooms are designed for relaxing. They feature air-conditioning, a private bath, one or two queen beds, an in-room coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi. The Discovery Inn has been a family-owned and operated hotel for over 30 years. Enjoy an outdoor seasonal Jacuzzi, Adirondack-style chairs on the lawn, flowers, decks and barbecues. The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, spacious clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing