We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bang for the buck”
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good bang for the buck”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Bed was new and very comfortable. Great location, grounds are like a park and staff were very helpful. Prices reasonable for amenities. Too cold for a pool. Rooms are super quiet.

Room Tip: Must have a major credit card to rent a room. Right next to library. Free WIFI. Some rooms do not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabethliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn and for your review on Tripadvisor, we truly appreciate it. We are glad you stayed with us and that you enjoyed your room and the grounds around the Inn. Please come and stay with us again on your next trip to beautiful San Juan Island. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    97
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
138
188
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This place was great! We only stayed one night but check in was informative yet warm, she had just checked our room and started the fireplace (a fake but oddly cute one) for us, gave us some Friday harbor chocolate and we appreciated it all! It was the owner Heather too, she seemed to take a lot of pride :) This hotel would be good for family's, romantic, sightseeing or business. While I wish it was closer to the shops its still a good value for where its at. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you so much for staying at the Discovery Inn and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We truly strive to give the best customer service possible. It is such a pleasure to hear that you had a great experience at the hotel. We look forward to your next visit! Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Mound
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Discovery Inn was just what we were looking for. Friendly & Excellent customer service! Our stay was comfortable and just the right distance from the busy downtown area! The room was amazing. We will go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for staying at the Discover Inn and taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had a great stay with us and look forward to your next visit! Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We came to San Juan for business and found the Discovery Inn by the flyer on the Ferry. We had checked a few places online prior to coming, but hadn't booked anything yet. We received friendly service from the call to the hotel to the minute we checked out. The staff is great, accommodating and the rooms were very well appointed. The beds were comfy, the linens and bedding were very nice. The whole place was spotless and has such charm. You will find it a very reasonably priced hotel for the Island.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and could park very near our room. Made it very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Discovery Inn. We are glad you stayed with us and we look forward to your next visit. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely room, updated furniture and television. Bed was so comfortable! At home I wake up with back pain and I didn't have it even one morning during my stay. The conseirge was so sweet, warm and welcoming. Quiet surroundings (right next to the library) with a nice grass area for letting the kids run around. A great find, will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor. Was very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn. We are glad you had such a pleasant stay at the Inn and were able to utilize the grounds. We look forward to your next visit. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids had a lovely stay at Discovery Inn while visiting with family for 2 nights. Heather made us feel very welcome and gave us some sight seeing and restaurant tips. If you like seals be sure to visit Popeye the harbor seal down at the marina in town, for a few $ you can feed her some fish. She was a big hit with our kids! The clean room was spacious, had 2 comfy queen beds and as requested a Pack N Play crib outfitted with fitted sheet and blankets. We had plenty of closet and drawer space. The tub (essential if you have little ones) with shower was perfect, high output water pressure and the towels were fluffy and smelled good. I really liked the herbal shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The cable was nice and we also enjoyed the free wifi. We spent 2 quiet relaxing nights here and recommend it to our friends and family. This is a great value for your $ especially if you like a small unit, family owned motel. Very reasonably priced compared to other motels in town. We saw several deer grazing right on the property which was a nice bonus. Discovery Inn is our lodging of choice when visiting San Juan Island from now on!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elless007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn. It is always wonderful to hear when our guests have had a pleasant stay, like yours. We look forward to your next visit to the island. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We visited for the second time in a year so had the fortune of seeing the fantastic remodeling project completed! Love, love, love the double queen rooms! The kids enjoyed the enormous hot tub and the huge expanse of landscaped property to explore. The beds were comfy and the rooms lovely, immaculate and spacious. All the bathrooms have been thoughtfully updated.
The staff is super friendly with loads of advice for dining, adventures, shopping, and exploring.
My family highly recommends Discovery Inn and looks forward to our return trip after the first of the year!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn and for coming back to stay with us again. We LOVE our return customers. We have put much time and effort into the remodel and are glad to hear that you like it. We are continuing to improve the rooms and the grounds around the Inn. You will have to tell us what you think on your next visit. Happy holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
12.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Property: Discovery Inn
Address: 1016 Guard St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing, this hotel is the only lodging facility on San Juan Island that offers rooms in a park-like setting. Our recently renovated hotel rooms are decorated in restful colors. The handsomely appointed rooms are designed for relaxing. They feature air-conditioning, a private bath, one or two queen beds, an in-room coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi. The Discovery Inn has been a family-owned and operated hotel for over 30 years. Enjoy an outdoor seasonal Jacuzzi, Adirondack-style chairs on the lawn, flowers, decks and barbecues. The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, spacious clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing