We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Discovery Inn is a good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Discovery Inn is a good value.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It is about a mile from downtown but it is a great value. The staff was friendly. The room was basic but it had a fridge which was nice. The bed was comfortable. There was also a common deck area where one could sit outside. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a comfortable stay and hope your travels bring you our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    96
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
135
184
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco CA
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have always stayed at B&B's on prior visits to the San Juans, however this was a spontaneous trip and we took a chance on the Discovery Inn due to the positive Trip Advisor reviews Well we are pleased to report our time spent at the Inn was a delight! Our every need was attended to... The entire staff were very friendly and so helpful, even dropping everything they were doing to print out our boarding passes on the morning of our departure. Rooms are newly updated, they were clean and well appointed: microwave, fridge, big screen TV, high speed internet all for a VERY reasonable price for the Islands! We will most definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Our special request for a downstairs room was promptly granted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate it. We take pleasure in knowing that your stay was so enjoyable and we look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warenton oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The location is out of the way just a little. But after a day we were sold on the" Discovery Inn". The staff was amazing, Katie; we have never been treated that nice- really. Thank you fo your concern about the heater.The rooms were well renovated and well decorated, i got idea for one of my rooms at home.Friday harbor has no stoplights or fast food joints.Lots of places to check out. Katie gave me coupons for dining and a massage with the Valentines package(heart candy too).I wish i could find a Katie at every hotel I stayed at. Yes we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Get the Queen bed suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottbaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
It is our number one goal to give all of our guest the best customer service possible and it is wonderful to hear that our staff, especially Katie, was so accommodating. Thank you for your time in reviewing the Discovery Inn on Tripadvisor and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed one night during Valentine's/President's day weekend. I was pleasantly surprised at the lovely rooms at such a reasonable rate. Plus I loved the added refrigerator and microwave. For warmer weather there are numerous grills on the grounds. The staff was friendly and helpful with biking trails and restaurants on the island.

We're definitely coming back this summer to try out the hot tub.

The only minus is the walls are quite thin, but the fellow guests were so quiet that it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaMae522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Discovery Inn and are look forward to seeing you this summer. We appreciate you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had such a great time at Discovery Inn. You can tell the rooms have recently been remodeled and everything was very comfortable - more than we expected for the price. Heather was great to work with and very thoughtful. We missed our ferry and had to check in later than we expected, but Heather just left the key in our room and allowed us to check in at our convenience the next morning. We also appreciated that she already had a pack n' play crib all set up in our room for our 7 month old daughter. We travel to the San Juans fairly often and will definitely want to stay here again!

Room Tip: If you're considering a standard queen, definitely upgrade to the deluxe. The extra space is wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kailyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
It is delightful to hear that you had such a great time at the Discovery Inn! Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We work hard to provide our guests with great service so their stay can be enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards from all of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It's a great motel, and definitely the best value on the island (at least during the winter). Close to Friday Harbor but tucked away in a nice quiet area with a gorgeous little park and a romantic swing, which was perfect for moon-gazing. Of course since it's winter the jacuzzi was closed and the park wasn't in full bloom, but it was still lovely and I can only imagine how picturesque it is in the summer. Our room was impeccably clean, the bedding and decorative pillows were lovely, and the free wi-fi and flat-screen TV were great. Service was wonderful and the San Juan picture book in our room was fun to look through. Our only complaint was that since the place got over-booked our reservation was downgraded to a standard queen instead of the deluxe, which meant that we had no fridge or microwave and the bathtub was shower-only - not ideal for our romantic getaway, but that's probably on us for not booking sooner. Highly recommend this place, and we plan on coming back in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bright_Days2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn this past weekend and for your nice review on Tripadvisor. We would love to have you return especially in the Summer or Fall when can enjoy our flowers and garden when they are in full bloom. Our jacuzzi would be open too. We look forward to your return visit in the summer. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Discovery Inn for the Valentine's Day Weekend Special. Katie and Heather were so friendly and helpful. They gave us great advice on what to do and where to dine. The rooms were gorgeous. Definitely exceeding our expectations for the extremely reasonable price we paid. The've been recently remodeled and everything was modern and clean. The beds were so comfy! We had the best experience and will definitely come back in the summer and stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much for coming and staying with the Discovery Inn for your Valentine's Day Weekend. We are so glad we could contribute to making your stay on the island such a great experience. We look forward to your return visit this summer! Warm wishes from all of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
487 reviews
12.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Property: Discovery Inn
Address: 1016 Guard St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing, this hotel is the only lodging facility on San Juan Island that offers rooms in a park-like setting. Our recently renovated hotel rooms are decorated in restful colors. The handsomely appointed rooms are designed for relaxing. They feature air-conditioning, a private bath, one or two queen beds, an in-room coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi. The Discovery Inn has been a family-owned and operated hotel for over 30 years. Enjoy an outdoor seasonal Jacuzzi, Adirondack-style chairs on the lawn, flowers, decks and barbecues. The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, spacious clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing