We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery Inn
Nearby Hotels
Earthbox Inn & Spa(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orca Inn(Friday Harbor)
US$77
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tucker House Inn(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Friday Harbor House(Friday Harbor)
US$337
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Bird Rock Hotel(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$210
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Friday Harbor Suites(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$161
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roche Harbor Resort(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Island Inn at 123 West(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
371
113
20
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
113
20
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubpark like settingelectric fireplacelawn gamesclose to townpicnic tablesadirondack chairscoffee makergreat place to staystay there againthird floorgrounds are beautifulno elevatorsan juan islandcomfortable roomlocation was perfectmini fridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We recently spent two nights at Discovery Inn, Friday Harbor. The staff was extremely friendly from the time I made the reservation until we checked out. We arrived on the 10:30 AM ferry, so we were very early for our check in. Heather worked some "magic" and was able to get a room right away. The room (queen deluxe) was clean, large and comfortable. If we were to stay again, I would request a room on the backside as there was a bit of road noise late at night and early in the morning. The chocolates were a nice touch, also!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnnste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We are so glad you stayed with us. Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are glad we were able to work a little "magic" for you to get you into your room a little early. May your travels bring you back our way again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Wow, very friendly staff. The big chain motels could learn a thing or two from them. Our deluxe queen was very CLEAN and big with lots of storage for clothes/ luggage. It had a micro and fridge and memory foam bed. The hot water was instant. The office was small but had K- cups, herbal tea, hot & cold water-free! (I've had to pay for K-cups at other motels). I think the room had Seattle's Best coffee. The yard had a couple swings so a nice place to relax. Just FYI, even with their fiber optics, the wifi was spotty and you might want a room on the side away from the road (although the traffic wasn't too loud). A second floor room would eliminate any noise from above.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank JAFLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing back from our guests and love to hear that our staff was friendly and your stay enjoyable. We hope your travels bring you back to Friday Harbor soon. Thank you again for the review and for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I hadn't ever been here before. I made all arrangements via phone and when I got there late my room was ready, the lights and heat were on and it was a very nice greeting. It was almost like coming home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We are sure glad that you discovered us! Thank you for the kind review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next visit to Friday Harbor and the Discovery Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We recently traveled to Friday harbor with friends for a weekend and prior to booking our stay we read several of the reviews on TripAdvisor for hotels. We decided on Discovery Inn after reading the reviews of the hotels in the area and we were not disappointed. The rooms are nicely furnished with everything you will need such as coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, etc. The bathrooms are well appointed and clean with plenty of towels, The staff was very helpful with recommendations for meals and when we mentioned the deck in front of the ice machine room was slippery from rain she (sorry we forgot her name) put sand on the deck within minutes.
You may have a 2 to 3 minute drive to the ferry but we all felt the location was just far enough removed from downtown it made the area quiet but within hiking distance of the restaurants if you preferred to walk. The only tip we might make is to request a room facing the courtyard instead of the street to guarantee the quietest stay possible. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard instead of street and second floor rooms may be slightly quieter
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you had a nice stay and that our staff was attentive to your needs. We hope your travels bring you back our way soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It is about a mile from downtown but it is a great value. The staff was friendly. The room was basic but it had a fridge which was nice. The bed was comfortable. There was also a common deck area where one could sit outside. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a comfortable stay and hope your travels bring you our way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews