We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, a nice, affordable place to stay near Friday Harbor”
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This Inn was exactly what we expected and even more. The grounds are nice and we enjoyed relaxing in the Adirondack chairs, soaking in the hot tub, and just letting the kids run around. Being close to town, there is nearby traffic on the road, so not quiet and secluded, but still very nice. The managers obviously take the time to make sure people enjoy their stay by doing those little things- chocolates, availability of free games and books for borrowing, and finding discounts for nearby attractions. Would definitely stay here again (probably need a bike/car) and recommend.

Room Tip: Just lucky to get a room in Friday Harbor for less than $300/nt!! The rooms seem pretty equivalent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaleyJo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn on your recent visit to the island and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the grounds around the Inn, we feel it is one of our best features. We are one of the most affordable places to stay in Friday Harbor and strive to make our guests visits as pleasant as possible. We wish you safe travels and if you come our way again we hope you will stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel twice now (once last year, and once this year). Rooms are clean and were recently updated, with the 3rd floor now having AC (not sure about the rest of the hotel). Fortunately, I didn't really need it. The hotel is about a mile from town, which is easily walkable with sidewalks the entire way. Amenities are what you would expect at most hotels - nothing special, but nothing missing either. Good experience overall, and I would stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank castironskillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

We love to hear from our return guests! Thank you so much for coming to stay with us again and for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We just recently added the AC on the third floor, since those rooms tend to get warmer then the rest of those in the motel. We are striving to continually improve the Inn for the comfort of our guests. From all of us at the Discovery Inn we wish you safe travels and we look forward to your next visit to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We also chose this hotel based on the reviews and the proximity to Friday Harbor. It is a short drive into town. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. No AC is not unusual …and the fan worked well for us. The room was cooled by the fan upon check in. When we retired for the evening we actually turned it off and found it was comfortable throughout the entire night. I can imagine on some really warm days where it doesn't cool down, you might want to keep the fan on all night. You can hear voices from the other rooms, but was very pleased how quiet it was by 10p. Libby was very service oriented, cheerful and provided us great ideas on dinner options. The price was better than in-town locations, too. We would come back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mindygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn during your visit to the island and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your room. We hope your travels bring you back our way soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and was very disappointed. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. The bathroom is small but updated and clean. The only light includes a noisy exhaust fan. The staff is helpful and friendly. The problems are it was hot and there is no air conditioning. They had two fans that helped in the room but the bathroom was stifling during the day when we returned from exploring the island. There is one large window in the room that opens up to a walkway upstairs and down so people walk by and can see right into your room and bed. I was uncomfortable with that and pulled the shades down at night thus removing the window fan to a table. The hotel is not within reasonable walking distance from town. You need to go to town to eat which means driving and finding a parking spot. We had a kayak trip that required us to park in town over the 2 hour limit on most spots so we had to park far and walk with a lot of stuff . If I go to Friday Harbor again I will stay in town or at a hotel with a shuttle to town, maybe breakfast on site, and definitely AC and privacy.

Room Tip: none that I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn during your visit to San Juan Island. We are glad you found your room clean and bed comfortable, and that our staff was helpful!

While it doesn't normally get hot enough to need AC, we do have a few days here and there - hence the fans.

We always let our guests know when they make a reservation that we're about a mile from the ferry landing, so a car or taxi is ideal. Our location is on the edge of town so our guests can enjoy the peace and quiet of our park-like grounds. We're happy to call a cab or store belongings for guests while they explore our beautiful island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel was great! We arrived to a warm and friendly reception with lots of information for the island and ways to make our stay as good as we wanted. The rooms were clean and modern with plenty of room. We had three people. The beds were comfortable. The hotel had charm mixed with the amenities you expect at any major hotel.

There was a cute hot tub that we didn't have time to use.

The hotel is about a mile out of town. We took a cab from the ferry to the hotel and walked back for dinner. The walk was pleasant but glad we didn't carry our bags and everything. That would have been hard. The cab was fast and super friendly. We did walk home after dinner, and wished we had called the cab again. :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We think our hotel is great too! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others on TripAdvisor. We are glad you found the Inn charming and our rooms clean and comfortable. While we are located on the edge of town and out of the main downtown area, we do feel the Inn is close enough to enjoy all that the downtown has to offer. It is great to hear that the cab was fast and friendly - for visitors that don't have a car, we try to provide information on other forms of transportation available on the island. We hope you can come to visit us again and look forward to your next stay at the Discovery Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at Discovery Inn for three nights. This was our most pleasant stay of our three week trip. Nice room, beautiful surrounding ( garden) picknicktables, jaccuci. But most of all, very frendly staff. They give some great advises. They did more for usthan we asked. The weather was great also, so everything was even more beautiful than it allready was.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tinus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We are glad you had such a pleasant stay with us on your trip to San Juan Island and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your room, the grounds and some of the amenities around the Inn. We are also delighted you found our staff friendly and helpful. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you the best in all of your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had planned a multi-day, multi-island getaway to the beautiful San Juans. The last night of our trip was in Friday Harbor. Since it was the busy summer season, we had made reservations several months in advance. However, at 10 pm on the Friday the week before our scheduled trip, I got a call from Heather at the Discovery Inn inquiring about our arrival time. I told Heather that surely there was a mistake on her end, as my reservation was for the following Friday. I later discovered that I had in fact made the reservation for the wrong date. Knowing how tight accommodations are on a summer weekend, I thought we would have to cut our trip short as there did not seem to be any rooms available in the area. Heather called the next day to tell me she had found a room for us on the night we wanted at a different hotel. Without asking her to do so, she had spent the morning calling around checking for openings for us to preserve our vacation plans. And on top of that, she told us that she was not going to charge us for the night we had booked at the Discovery Inn even though she was not able to rent it to other guests as she easily could have if we had discovered our mistake earlier. She simply told me that mistakes happen and it didn’t seem fair to penalize me for an honest mistake. Her efforts preserved our vacation and we had a great time on San Juan Island (although I’m sure not as nice as it would have been if we had stayed at the Discovery Inn ;). Heather and the Discovery Inn staff went way out their way to help us out and we greatly appreciate it. If they are this helpful to guests that don’t show up, I can only imagine how helpful they would be for those that do! Thanks Discovery Inn!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you so much for the review you posted to TripAdvisor even though you had not stayed with us. It was our pleasure to help you find another place to stay after the mixup with your reservation date. I think we have all had similar situations at sometime. Please come and stay with us on your next trip to Friday Harbor and San Juan Island, we would love to have you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
360 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
524 reviews
5.5 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 1016 Guard St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#1 Best Value Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £74 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Discovery Inn is known as the friendly hotel in Friday Harbor on San Juan Island. Located a mile from the ferry landing, our hotel features spacious and clean rooms in a relaxing atmosphere with a delightful park-like setting. Our recently renovated rooms feature air-conditioning, private bath, one or two queen beds, Keurig coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi. Please be our guest and enjoy our renowned customer service, lovely property with yard games and sitting areas and decks with flowers, barbecues and our seasonal outdoor Jacuzzi (mid-March to October 31). The Discovery Inn provides free trip planning and concierge services. The Discovery Inn has been a family-owned and operated hotel for almost 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing