We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earthbox Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
McCook Lake, SD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

It was a old 70s motel redone as a nice boutique hotel spa. The service was great and we really enjoyed using their townie bikes to explore Friday Harbor. The rooms were fine and the hotel was environmentally conscious. We did dip into the pool which was outside and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbacon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    211
    94
    36
    12
See reviews for
175
245
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
640 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We came here by chance. The hotel seems boutique at first glance, then you get the conversion.
I didn't mind it. We had the "water room" 337, i have no memory of the connection to water. But it was a nice quiet upstairs. Little expensive at 200.00 but we only stayed one night. They were kind enough to connect us with Bird Rock in town, sister facility. Much nicer and more unique. All in all we would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Purchased a groupon for a fall season two-night stay. I decided to upgrade my room (Sky Place) when I booked. Checked in and checked out the room. The room was nothing special, very small room, super small bathroom (had to squeeze in to close the door). The room, you could tell, had been repainted with newer features added but still looked and felt like an older (but slightly upgraded) motel (creaks in floor, old heating system, lack of attention to detail, etc). It was not what I expected since we upgraded from the standard groupon room and the rep assured me it was the nicest grade of rooms on the property.
I went back to the office and asked if they had a nicer room to move me too. When I told the rep that I did not like the original room she just said "wow" and moved us to a "Sun Place" room. The room was MUCH bigger and a little nicer so I thanked her and we decided to stay there. Let me say again that this room was better than the first but still seemed old and rickety (constant creaking all night when you turned on the heater), bathroom window had mold along the top, heater in the bathroom did not work, windows (although big) were single pane so they fog up and hold condensation.
If you don't mind rooms that have been repainted and minimally upgraded but still have that old, creaky, small feel then this is a good place to stay. But, if you want good value for the money you pay (if you did not purchase a groupon and paid full price- $160-180 a night, then I would look elsewhere. I would not stay here again even with a groupon, I think there are better deals with better quality rooms out there.

Couple other things to note: the hotel does have bikes to rent and is very close to all of the shops and eateries. The hotel staff was pretty nice and their bath towels were unbelievably soft. Upon looking around downtown we did find a place, Island Inn, that we will stay at if we decide to return to Friday Harbor. Comparable prices and very nicely appointed rooms.

Room Tip: Both rooms I experienced, Sky Place and Sun Place, were creaky. If you don't mind hearing the cr...
See more room tips
Green Features: They seem pretty environmental conscience. Standard practice of replacing towels only when requested, no bed sheet changes unless requested, etc.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mysterymachine25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hi Mysterymachine,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Yes, we are a renovated motor inn. We are proud we took an existing structure and made it come to life again. It's quirky and funky and fun and a work in progress. We try to make it very clear in our correspondence what we are and aren't. We understand we may not be the right place for everyone. I'm sorry we didn't live up to your expectations.
Thank you for your visit.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We loved staying at the Earthbox. San Juan Island is absolutely beautiful and this inn is the perfect place to stay while exploring it. First off, it is walking distance to the main streets and the ferry building. The staff is so friendly, I mean, beyond accommodating. We took a late ferry to the island and let the inn know we'd be arriving after 8pm. The night manager stayed over an hour after their normal hours to check us in and was still super friendly. The room was small, but quite cute. The bathroom had an amazing jacuzzi tub and cute shampoo & conditioner dispensers. The onsite spa was also incredible. We had some of the best massages ever there! I wish we could've brought the spa home with us. They also have complimentary bikes for guests and an indoor pool! The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because the bed was much too firm for my liking and the walls were a bit thin. But overall, such a great stay. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hi Chelsea,
We loved you visiting us. Thank you for making our day with your lovely review.
Come back soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Quiet, laid back and helpful. I liked being able to have a door to the outside, rather than into a hallway. Stayed in the central Sky Room, well worth the upgrade.
The hotel offers free cruiser bikes to take out for a scenic loop around the bays. The on-site spa gave me one of the best massages I've had yet.
A great island, with some lovely views and properties.
Definitely worth a boat ride and a weekend!

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the central Sky Rooms, nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hi Travis,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your comment about our spa made us very happy. So glad you loved it. Thank you. See you soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We loved this place…..it's not the Fairmont, but the inn is very comfortable, clean and the front desk people couldn't have been nicer. (and we had a coffee pot) We loved all the Pelindaba products in the room, too. We stayed in one of the Sky Rooms
It's in a great location.
(great flowers)
Thank you for a wonderful stay - we WILL be back and will definitely stay at the Earthbox Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hi JIvan,
We can't wait to have you back. You made our day with your lovely review. Thank you.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hubby and I purchased a groupon for the Earthbox Inn & Spa for two nights. We stayed in the "Earth Place" room in the building at the very far back in unit #201. The Inn is within walking distance to all kinds of restaurants, shops and the ferry. Other then exploring all the way around the island, we could have gotten by without bringing our vehicle quite easily.

The room was clean, cozy and comfortable. There was a ton of towels, soap, coffee etc in the room. There was more shampoo, conditioner & soap then you could possibly use over a two week period. The beds were comfortable and the sheets/duvet were nice and soft with 6 pillows on each bed to choose from.

Our only complaint would be that the bathroom lighting is very dim but that didn't really bother us. We were still able to shower etc. comfortably.

The staff at the front desk was always friendly and very helpful. We had no issues whatsoever during our stay. As a matter of fact, we were able to check in super early on our 1st day which was a huge bonus.

For all the nay sayer's...this place is not the Hilton. It was exactly what it said it was and portrayed to be, an Inn. It is quaint and comfortable with all the amenities you could possibly need. Island living is a breed of its own. If your looking for a quick trip away from all the hustle and bustle, this is it!

We will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Unit #201 at the farthest building was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hi Ashley,
You just made our day! Thank you!
We can't wait for you to come visit again.

Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbox Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Property: Earthbox Inn & Spa
Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7230 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Earthbox Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earthbox Inn & Spa is a delightful blend of cool resort motel and classic vintage motor inn with an indoor pool, full-service spa, stylishly renovated rooms, free wifi, free parking and complimentary bicycles. Centrally located in downtown Friday Harbor, only 4 blocks from the Washington State Ferry. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing