We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all it's made out to be - just an overpriced motel”
Review of Earthbox Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not all it's made out to be - just an overpriced motel”
Reviewed 28 August 2008

The property is not worth the $200+ per night. We had originally paid for two nights - but when we arrived, the site was not as we had hoped (it's actually more of a vintage motel that has been spruced up with a new coat of paint) and had requested to shorten our stay to one night. The hotel would not accomodate us and told us they would only offer a refund if they could resell our room (not really an option since the motel was not full).

As it turns out, there is no airconditioning in the rooms and our room was hot and stuffly. The only adivce from the front staff was to turn on the portable fan, open the window or leave the room door ajar. Rather than suffer through an uncomfortable night, we opted to take another room in lieu of staying another night. So in the end, we paid over $450+ for one night to stay in non-airconditioned motel rooms.

If you are looking for nicely appointed quaint property which offers service at the the level which usually accompanies a $200+ rate than this is not the place for you.

This is not a motel I would recommend.

  • Liked — Easy to get to
  • Disliked — Service was terrible - not at all customer focused
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vancouver4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    212
    95
    37
    12
See reviews for
179
246
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

This hotel was terribly overpriced. The website makes it look like a true hotel and spa and you may think it is by the price. However, imagine an old motel that has some new paint and trendy (but cheap) decorations. Not to mention you will hear everything your neighbors are talking about since the walls are paper thin. We listened to our neighbors cell phone conversation for nearly a half hour. We knew it was her cell phone because we could hear it ring.
Their website shows rooms that look nice with hardwood floors which was the furthest you can get from the room we had.
The location is good and the staff is nice. The motel itself needs some serious work to account for the price
Overall, I will not stay here again since there are much nicer properties on the island for better prices.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price and quality. Thin walls.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pilot1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We stayed Aug. 16th I booked this room online. I read that it was a re-done motel, but the pictures looked nice so I gave a try. (I booked wrong by one night off) I had reserved the Sky room, I called the Hotel and they did switch us to the Earth room the next night (all they had available) which is a cheaper room. No one mentioned the price change and upon check in proceeded to charge me for a the Sky room. I had to mention that we were now staying in a "cheaper" room, they then adjusted the price.
We got to our room and the toilet was leaking and it was 70+ degrees with only 1 box fan in the window. Obviously this is OK if you are going to be hanging out in your room during the day but you can't leave your window open while your running around town. Therefore making your room Extremely hot! We were uncomfortable all night and were awoke at 3 am to 2 men fighting right outside our room. I listened to this for about 20 mins and no one from the hotel staff seemed to do anything about it.
We were pretty disappointed that we paid 225 for a hot, noisey room with a leaking toilet. We won't be coming back to Elements again.

  • Liked — The Lobby was nice
  • Disliked — The ROOM was HOTTTT
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights with our two kids, had a room on the main floor. The room was funky and roomy, but the hardwood floors were dirty. Our feet were filthy after walking on them throughout the day. The lack of soundproofing between our room and the herd of elephants staying above us was horrible - we were awakened several times throughout each night by clomping/stomping from upstairs. I will say the location of the hotel was great, but does the quality/location really warrant $200+ per night? I think not. Also, some of the very young staff was not exactly friendly. My questions about restaurant recommendations, etc. were met with looks of annoyance and brief unhelpful responses.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise from upstairs room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SassyGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattlte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

We stayed a night at Elements this past weekend and had a great experience. Though true that is a converted motel, the rooms are nicely appointed, very comfortable and really clean. The grounds are well kept (the lavender is so lovely!) and they are even pet friendly in certain rooms which is a big plus for us.

Although our stay in Friday Harbor was brief and we weren't able to do much, the hotel is conveniently within walking distance of restaurants and shopping making it perfect if you are without your car and just want to do "the walking tour". Even though we were only two blocks from the hotel when we arrived at the marina, they sent a van down for us, which was great because my father-in-law has a tough time walking any great distance. (they also have bikes available for guests use)

We arrived cold and soaked after a rainy day on the water and found the front desk staff very friendly and helpful (and the hot Tazo tea didn't hurt either!). They recommended a place for dinner and breakfast the next day as well as set up all our taxi rides. When we realized we forgot the leash for our pug they even found the maintenance tech that was nice enough to give us a "rope" to use!

The best part happened after we checked out though. I discovered late Sunday that a bracelet I'd brought was missing. When I called them the next day, Morgan said he had it right there! I was so impressed. In all the years and all the things I've left behind, I've never once actually had something turned in. I was so relieved!

Needless to say, next time we stay in Friday Harbor, we’ll be at Elements.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, staff
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottheOCLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2008

My family came to Elements in November, and we had reserved the room a couple of weeks in advance. The heat had obviously not been turned on in the room for days--it was about 40F degrees outside, and inside. There was a tiny space heater set inside the wall at one end of the room--that was the only heat, and it took about six hours for the room to warm up to the 60s. We had brought a meal with us to eat in the room when we arrived and were ready for a rest--we froze our asses off!! The space was okay, and beds were nice, but there was no thought given to our comfort--particularly for a motel that purports to be a sort of "spa." Come in the summer, or bring your own space heater that actually works.

  • Liked — Located in Friday Harbor
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellinghamster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

I am very picky with cleanliness of a hotel that I stay in and was very pleasantly surprised with this great hotel/motel. Friday Harbor doesn't have many choices for places to stay and originally didn't pick this place because of the terrible Tripadvisor reviews.

Don't believe them! I loved the decor of the rooms - very simplistic! Very comfortable beds, friendly staff and relaxing property.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dave/Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbox Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Property: Earthbox Inn & Spa
Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7230 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Earthbox Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earthbox Inn & Spa is a delightful blend of cool resort motel and classic vintage motor inn with an indoor pool, full-service spa, stylishly renovated rooms, free wifi, free parking and complimentary bicycles. Centrally located in downtown Friday Harbor, only 4 blocks from the Washington State Ferry. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing