We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places on the Island”
Review of Earthbox Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best places on the Island”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Everything about this hotel was great! When we checked in, they gave us this great map of the island. There was water, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the lobby all of the time. The room was perfect. The bed was very comfortable. The sheets, robes and towels were super soft. The rain-style Water Pik shower head was great. The grounds were meticulously maintained. After hiking, walking and biking around the island we made good use of the Jacuzzi every day. Could not have asked for anything more.

Room Tip: We had the Sky Room. I am told it's a little roomier than the others.
See more room tips
Green Features: They had a special area for dog walking. That was nice. The shower had mounted dispensers of soap, shampoo and conditioner. I am very sensitive and found all to be of good quality.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Not-a-Risk-Taker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Not-a-Risk-Taker,
You just made our day with your lovely review. Thank you so much. Yes, our shower heads are a real treat, aren't they?
We can't wait to have you come visit again soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    212
    95
    37
    12
See reviews for
179
246
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I looked at Earthbox on Trip Advisor, then at their own site, and got exactly what we wanted in our 2-night stay. It was an easy walk from the ferry to the hotel. All the staff members we encountered were very helpful and friendly. It is a bit of a disconnect to find the motor lodge architecture with the higher quality decor and services. The room itself was clean and comfortable, nicely furnished, quality linens and towels and all that. Our room was on the small side, but since it was just two of us, traveling light, we had requested the lowest cost room and were more than satisfied. We only wish we'd had more time to take advantage of the bicycles available to borrow.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi David,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a sweet review about us. We are so happy we met your expectations and you had a great time. We are proud of our concept of mixing the 60ties motel structure we inherited with modern amenities and styles. It does have limitations and is not the perfect spot for everybody. We are pleased it worked for you.
Please come visit again soon. We can't wait to have you back.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our little family get away weekend was a success due in large part to this little "motor lodge converted into upscale inn". Trying to continue our single room plan but with a 16 year old boy and young teen girl, probably won't be able to much longer. The room was a little tight for us, 2 queen beds. But with all the kayaking, zip lining, swimming and walking around, we crashed every evening no problem. Room had little fridge, ok coffee and even a microwave! TV was a bit old but worked fine. Great little pool and hot tub with a nice private patio area for relaxing really was key for us. Location is fabulous.. short walk up hill from ferry dock and close to everything. Staff was excellent... thorough, great customer service (we checked out well before our ferry time, stored our bags and used their little beach combers for one last look around the island). Will definitely recommend this place and stay here again!

Room Tip: Was a full weekend so when we arrived later at night, had trouble parking our car near our entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Jennifer,
Oh, thank you so much for making our day. Your family did exactly what we envision for our guests: using our place as base camp for all the activities and adventures out there and having a blast.
For a little more privacy, check out our Wind Place, a two bedroom house, which sleeps six comfortably. Or the Bainbridge Suite at our sister hotel Bird Rock Hotel, a two bedroom suite, with two person jetted tub and a fireplace.
Thank you for your visit. We can't wait to have you come up and play again soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Earthbox July 11, 2014. It's absolutely charming...we stayed on the third floor with high/vaulted ceilings. The room was exceptionally clean and loved the decor! We used the free beach cruisers to scoot around Friday Harbor and had a wonderful experience at their onsite spa! Torey was working the front desk the evening we checked in...he is professional but an absolute hoot with great knowledge about the surrounding area/restaurants, etc. Relissa was our therapist at the spa and we were both so pleased with our massage and facials (I can't remember the last time I was so relaxed while still conscious)...wonderfully centered and relaxed at the start of our island adventure. We will definitely return and are planning an annual "girls getaway (we're in our 40's and 50's)", with our friends! Everything was so clean and every single onsite employee was so friendly and helpful with any request or detail to help make our weekend fun! Finally....check out their breakfast cafe....soymilk/lavendar shake is absolutely the best thing I've ever tasted...my only disappointment was that they're not open in the afternoon when I returned for my second shake of the day!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor where the ceilings are vaulted...it was really charming and we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzypsychrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Suzypsychrn,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a terrific review about us. We are so happy, you had a great time.
Oh, we wouldn't know what to do without our front desk manager Tory and our esthetician Relissa. True gems. We are so lucky to have them.
Yes, our upstairs Sun Places are gorgeous, newly renovated this year!
Contact me when you get to the planning stage of your girl friend getaway. We can't wait to have you back!
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
563 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Earthbox has the look of a 50's building that's been expertly updated in a swanky ecological Architectural Digest kind of way. Once upon a time, Lucy and Ricky could have stayed there, but now you're there and it's not lacking anything required by the upscale traveller in 2014. As motels go, it's my favorite kind of place.

Furthermore, Earthbox is at the top of the little hill that is Friday Harbor. It's an easy 1-3 block walk from just about everything, including the ferry landing. Just bring luggage!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnrepentantFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hi UnrepentantFoodie,
We love being called "expertly updated" and "swanky". Thank you so much for making our day. We loved having you and can't wait to have you come visit again soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Took a late ferry into Friday Harbor and found the Earthbox Hotel through good luck. Got a lovely room that was clean and beautiful. The staff was most helpful setting us up for a fantastic whale watching trip and a great restaurant as well. A new place, the San Juan islands, but we'll be back here for sure.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PriscillaandRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hi Priscilla and Richard,
So glad you found a new favorite place. We are happy and proud to be part of it. We can't wait to have you come visit again soon. Thank you!
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed there after a kayaking trip and this place was great after camping. The room was nice and clean and the shower hot. The pool area as clean and there were plenty of towels. You could walk everywhere in town from there so a perfect location to head out for drinks and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 319ellenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi 319ellenp,
What a nice, concise review. Thank you so much. We loved having you and hope, you'll come back soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbox Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Property: Earthbox Inn & Spa
Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7230 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Earthbox Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earthbox Inn & Spa is a delightful blend of cool resort motel and classic vintage motor inn with an indoor pool, full-service spa, stylishly renovated rooms, free wifi, free parking and complimentary bicycles. Centrally located in downtown Friday Harbor, only 4 blocks from the Washington State Ferry. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing