We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Earthbox Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frontenac, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We initially booked the sister motel when we planned our trip. At the last minute, we learned that the other motel was more like a bed and breakfast and did not have a private bathroom. The Earthbox staff stepped in and took our last minute reservation ... and gave us a discount! The motel is within walking distance to many of the main attractions.

The rooms were updated with a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexisHershey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    212
    95
    37
    12
See reviews for
179
246
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Visited in late August 2010 for a weekend getaway with girlfriends. We loved this place! Yes, it's an old motor hotel, but the rooms are delightfully updated and the grounds are nicely landscaped. It has a perfect amount of quirkiness. The staff is super helpful. The motel was full but it was still nice and quiet. Having the cruiser bikes available is brilliant! We went on a beautiful 5 mile ride recommended by the staff and loved it. We also had massages at the spa. The massage therapists were wonderful, but don't go in expecting a deluxe spa experience -- it's an older house lovingly transformed into a peaceful place for massages and other body treatments. DO NOT MISS the Backdoor Kitchen. We had 2 amazing meals there (and we're kind of food snobs). Earthbox is expensive, but no more so than other Friday Harbor hotels in the summer. The location is fantastic, only a few blocks walk to other restaurants, shops, and harbor.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We have hosted our annual meeting at Earthbox Motel & Spa for the past six years. Our group considers this island oasis the perfect location for work and play. The Earthbox staff is consistently friendly, attentive and efficient. They work diligently to ensure our meeting is a success each year and go above and beyond to make our attendees and their guests feel welcome. The relaxing, rustic location offers spacious guest rooms and comfortable meeting space. The perfect spot for any small group or event!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed at this little gem over Labor Day. Hotel was booked and our ferry arrived before check in time. Our room while vacant was not yet clean, the staff offered to hold our luggage for us, made us a key to the pool, and allowed use to use the onsite bikes. Outstanding! After a ride to a driftwood beach (at the staff's direction) we returned to a very nice room, warm colors, nice bedding in room coffee, tea and a microwave and mini fridge. The staff throughout our stay was more than helpful, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoponabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The Earthbox was a great place to stay~We really enjoyed the updated room, with the charm of the original structure! The staff was very pleasant and helpful! The location was great, and we even enjoyed a complimentary ride on the bikes they provide~We highly recommend the Earthbox, and we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof41992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We had a great time at the Earthbox! Lovely gardens out front, clean spacious room, comfy beds, hot shower with lots of water pressure, warm pool and friendly staff. We had an upper floor room that backed on to a walking path and the back of the post office. It was very quiet and we really enjoyed sitting out on the balcony at night. The motel was close to the ferry and shops/restaurants in Friday Harbor. It was a little on the high side price wise, but thats Friday Harbor. I think if you're going to an island, especially during high season, you kind of expect to pay more.
The kids really loved the pool and it really helped them get that last bit of energy out before bed.
Overall I would definitely recommend the Earthbox.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lswoods74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Looks like a motel but the beautiful landscaping is your first hint that this place is not your usual motel. The room was modern looking, muted earth tones and comfortable casual furniture. Loved the little bar in the corner. The bed was excellent. It would have been nice if there was a continental breakfast but there are many restaurants within walking distance (easy walk to everywhere in the harbor area) and the in room coffee was good. I will definitely recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky88Redlands_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbox Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Property: Earthbox Inn & Spa
Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7230 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Earthbox Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earthbox Inn & Spa is a delightful blend of cool resort motel and classic vintage motor inn with an indoor pool, full-service spa, stylishly renovated rooms, free wifi, free parking and complimentary bicycles. Centrally located in downtown Friday Harbor, only 4 blocks from the Washington State Ferry. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing