We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I used to frequent but no more”
Review of Roy's Drive-Thru

Roy's Drive-Thru
Ranked #41 of 64 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Cuisines: Fast food
Description: The best hot dogs and milk shakes on the planet! Close to the ferry terminal parking area. Perfect place to grab a bite when waiting for a morning or afternoon ferry. Sorry for those catching the evening ferry, they close at 3pm.
Restaurant details
Description: The best hot dogs and milk shakes on the planet! Close to the ferry terminal parking area. Perfect place to grab a bite when waiting for a morning or afternoon ferry. Sorry for those catching the evening ferry, they close at 3pm.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I used to frequent but no more”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I used to love my near daily stops at Roys until a few years ago when Roy sold out. The new owners have taken the great shakes and espresso and cheapened them somehow. I mean really, their lattes were better the starbucks but now they are way too watery and over syruped, even when I asked for 1/2 sweet. Yuck!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MsKelela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great milkshakes!”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Easy breezy place to drive thru for coffee or a treat. Can get quite a line when busy...try a milkshake.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tasty Treats”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is a little "dive" with a walk up window. It doesn't look like much but the frapaccino was perfection!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReneeK804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Place to get a Milk Shake and Hot Dog”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

If you are waiting in line for the ferry at Friday Harbor walk up the hill (or if you are in the overload parking, across the street) to Roy's! My boyfriend asked the best "milk-fed" teenager he could find when he moved up here where to find the best milk shake. Without a pause he said "Roy's". Always trust a teenager to give you great advise when it comes to milkshakes. We discovered the hot dogs there on our own after several trips to get our favorite mocha-hazelnut shake!!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaritaJohnsIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roy's Drive-Thru also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Roy's Drive-Thru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing