We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip - a must for San Juan Islands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Juan Island Whale & Wildlife Tours

San Juan Island Whale & Wildlife Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whales Rock! Enjoy a six-passenger, personalized whale & wildlife adventure of a lifetime. Join Captain Hobbes who grew up on the water in England and has been operating whale watch tours and passenger vessels in the San Juan Islands for 12 years. Come aboard “Natsilane,” named after an Orca Whale legend, a 30’ Albin Fast Express Cruiser, and enjoy a comfortable heated cabin, with indoor and outdoor seating, restroom and snack bar. Don't be a sardine in a can on a big boat -- enjoy an intimate experience in the beautiful San Juan Islands!
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great trip - a must for San Juan Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I went out in early January with Captain Hobbes. While we didn't manage to see any orcas, the trip was wonderful. We did see other sea creatures and many birds. I was not disappointed in the least - it was a real treat to be out on the water with such a knowledgeable and congenial individual. We learned a great deal about the wild life and were able to see many different areas in the archipelago.

When I go back to San Juan - or anywhere near, I'm certain to book with Captain Hobbes again. It was a highlight to a fantastic trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    5
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Captain Hobbes did a great job taking us on a memorable trip to see whales and other marine life. He is knowledgeable about the animals, and his genuine concern and respect for them is evident during the tour. We would highly recommend San Juan Island Whale & Wildlife Tours to be your guide on the water when you visit San Juan Island. S & T in Houston, Texas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 596Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Captain Hobbes is clearly very passionate about orcas and protecting them. I could see he was enthusiastic about finding them, and he took our group 2 hours out to find them after asking if we had any time contraints. He heated the cabin for people to warm up in, and he was friendly to us when we sat in. It was also equipped with numerous books on orcas. On our slightly extended ride, we stopped by a rock to get a look at the massive Stellar Sea Lions. Next we saw a pod of Dall's porpoises splashing quickly through the water. And finally we arrived to the main attraction. The orcas came right along the side of our boat. They were peacefully grazing the top of the water, spraying water as they came up. It was beautiful to see these two restfully cruising about in their natural habitat. Overall, a lovely trip that took us all the way to the edge of Canadian water.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kaeinthegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

There were no orcas but we saw a humpback whale, harbour seals and harbour porpoise.

The tour were only six people, which made it more personal. It was like a friend taking us out on his boat. Captain Hobbes was very focused on the future of whales and marine life.

We would recommend this tour to anyone!

Visited October 13 2013

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tmgarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great whale watching trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Captain Hobbes is very focused on the well being and future of whales and marine life.

There were no orcas in sight but we saw two humpback whales, sea lions and seals and to round it off we did a circumnavigation of San Juan island.

We went with our two small kids (5 and 3) and the small boat was nice in the sense that it made it a personal trip with Captain Hobbes.

Would recommend Captain Hobbes to a friend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alejandro200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Juan Island Whale & Wildlife Tours also viewed

 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to San Juan Island Whale & Wildlife Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing