We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time stand up paddle boarding, family friendly...highly recommend!”
Review of Springtide Paddlesports - CLOSED

Springtide Paddlesports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Springtide paddlesports is delighted to provide first time paddleboarders with an introduction to the basic paddle strokes, balance techniques, and safety measures to enjoy the exciting sport of stand up paddleboarding, known collectively as SUP. For experienced paddlers we offer day use rentals, and day tours around Griffin Bay, only 1.5 miles from Friday Harbor.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic time stand up paddle boarding, family friendly...highly recommend!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a great time paddle boarding with Springtide! Beautiful afternoon on griffin bay, an ideal setting for SUPing, calm water and easy going. Tony was awesome, very helpful, professional, and very kind and attentive to our kids. I highly recommend, and we will definitely be back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly7, Owner at Springtide Paddlesports, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thanks for your kind words! We hope to provide a setting where all paddlers - regardless of ability - are able to learn without the hassle and nuisance of motorized boat traffic. And we aim to provide you with great service! So happy to hear you will be coming back again. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
1 review
“AWESOME Time on the Water!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great experience if you are in the San Juan Islands. Kids and adults both love. So easy to do and get started. My teenager's favorite thing to do in the San Juan Islands is Supping at Springtide! Relaxed, fun atmosphere and so much to explore in the bay.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank R0nb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly7, Owner at Springtide Paddlesports, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for sharing your pictures from that beautiful afternoon! SUPping doesn't really require any age limitations - young and old are welcome and encouraged! All it takes is the willingness to try. Most people find it to be easier than they imagined in their heads. Teenagers are great to have out because they are usually the ones brave enough to jump in first!

Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had a blast - highly recommend!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Griffin Bay was an ideal place for a first attempt at SUP and Tony was a great instructor. He willingly met us earlier then his normal hours to accommodate our schedule, provided helpful tips, patiently answered questions and went out on the water with us. The bay has little boat traffic and was a great place to learn -- the water was calm and clear, we were able to see lots of jelly fish and large number of seals. The SUP was a fun way to see them from a different angle -- could even see them swim under and around us. Will definitely look up Springtide next time am back in the San Juans and will recommend to friends!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunbean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly7, Owner at Springtide Paddlesports, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thanks for your review! Yes we try to accommodate to our guests' schedules as much as is possible. That also means adjusting to fit weather windows and ferry schedules for those who may only have an hour at a specific time of the day. We are a small business and we aim to provide excellent customer service.

Your review says it all. The wildlife, the absence of boat traffic, and the beauty and peace of the water we have access to. Thanks again, we hope to see in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We learned to SUP in 15 minutes thanks to Tony!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a great time the four of us had! None of us had tried this sport. We are athletic however, the water was very cold and we preferred not to fall in. Tony explained the technique in great deal and demonstrated the skills for us. He is the owner of the company and is dedicated to making sure we all had a fun, positive experience. He even went out on the water with us. We signed up for a 1 hour experience but we were having so much fun we went for 1 1/2 hours. We would have gone again another day if our schedule was not packed with other activities. The sport is easy and fun. Griffin Bay is beautiful. Tony is helpful, patient, professional, and lots of fun! Very inexpensive - be sure to give him a tip as his fees are very low.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JodyGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly7, Owner at Springtide Paddlesports, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
WOW! and thanks for the review. Great pictures as well.

Yes, we are very interested in helping newbies get the proper instruction and practice they need to participate in the increasingly popular sport of SUP. Most of our customers come to us with no prior experience and we aim to have a 100% success rate of getting them on and off the water safely. It helps that we do provide our guests with stable boards that help build confidence and are still maneuverable and agile in the water once you are up and paddling.

Yes, you said it exactly - we are dedicated to making sure our guests have a fun and positive experience!

Thanks and come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champigny-sur-Marne, France
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to discover Stand Up Paddle Boarding”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Amazing experience for our first discovery of stand up paddling.
Tony came with us and teach us the basic techniques of paddling on knies and then stand up.
And then we enjoy paddling in the very nice and calm Griffin bay to the Dinner island.
Tony also helped us to get out of water and took care of all the equipment.

Every thing perfect!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Springtide Paddlesports also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing