We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensory overload!”

Pelindaba Lavender Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pelindaba Lavender Farm, spread over 25 beautiful acres with lake and Olympic Mountain views, has become one of the San Juans' most popular visitor destinations. More than 200 lavender-based, botanical, culinary, personal care, therapeutic, household & pet care products are handcrafted and sold on-site.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sensory overload!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Visited the farm with a Road Scholar group and enjoyed the presentation by the owner-- very informative and inspiring. The farm is beautiful and a tranquil spot for a picnic. Didn't have time to shop at the store at the farm, but made up for lost time at the shop in Friday Harbor. Excellent products made from lavender! The best I have ever seen.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BBFrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelindaba L, Owner at Pelindaba Lavender Farm, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Greetings BBFrick,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and tour with Road Scholar. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others. The photos you shared are beautiful! We hope you are enjoying the products you took home from our Friday Harbor store and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best,
Pelindaba Lavender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    92
    15
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lavender fields forever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The island is a special place. We visited a few years ago when we were visiting Seattle.You need to plan for your visit because it takes most of the day for your adventure. You need to leave Seattle in am to get in line to catch the ferry to the island. We left 2 hours in advance to get the ferry in the morning, but the ferry took almost 2 hours with boarding.The journey was part of the fun of the island visit. Give yourself as much time as possible because the island and farm are beautiful, you'll savor your time there.We enjoyed walking thru the beautiful rows of lavender, and getting to harvest our own bundles of lavender. It's so beautiful, you want to take as much you can back to share. We brought back bundles to make wreaths, gifts for everyone. The shop products were wonderful also.We enjoyed the island town and bus ride where the guide told stories about the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelindaba L, Owner at Pelindaba Lavender Farm, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Greetings Jan J,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to our farm and the journey from Seattle to get here! You are right, it's important to give yourself plenty of travel and ferry time especially in the summer.
We hope your friends and family enjoyed the gifts you brought home for them. Looking forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the San Juan Islands. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and others.
Regards,
Pelindaba Lavender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice setting...more of a gift shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very pretty. Cool gift shop. Maybe it was the time of day I stopped in with my daughter, not much was going on (3:45pm)....the staff wasn't really engaged. We went because it was on a tourist map. I think it would have been more interesting if we were able to make it for a tour on Fri - Sun. Stop if you are in the area, but don't go out of your way. Bathrooms are a collection of port-a-potties.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VinoInAGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelindaba L, Owner at Pelindaba Lavender Farm, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Greetings Julie A,
Thank you for your recent visit to our farm. We are sorry to hear you missed our farm tour. Thank you for letting us know that you did not find our staff members very engaging. We will certainly remedy that. Thank you for the feedback.
Regards,
Pelindaba Lavender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillsborough, north carolina, usa
Level Contributor
153 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lavender galore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I felt like i was in France! Beautiful lavender farm and picture perfect setting. The shop has some wonderful products and i was in lavender heaven to say the least. Save time for this stop!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelindaba L, Owner at Pelindaba Lavender Farm, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Greetings jfran,
Lavender heaven - that is a compliment indeed! (We quite agree!) Thank you for visiting and taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate it very much. Hopefully we'll see you again on your next visit to the San Juan Islands.
Thank you so much,
Pelindaba Lavender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Walking through the farm is a beautiful and tranquil experience. The store is lovely with anything you could ever want made from lavender. From lavender cookies to lip balm to cleaning solutions, they have it all. Be sure to stop by the small stand behind the shop and get some lavender ice cream. The lavender lemon sorbet is out of this world.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dolphin0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelindaba L, Owner at Pelindaba Lavender Farm, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Greetings Dolphin0831,
Thank you for your recent visit. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself. You are right, this time of year with the fields almost in bloom, the words beautiful and tranquil are very apt. And doesn't lavender and lemon pair well together. So glad you were able to experience it all and with such good weather!
Thank you for sharing your experience!
Best regards,
Pelindaba Lavender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelindaba Lavender Farm also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Pelindaba Lavender Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing