We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a cute little place”

San Juan Island Cheese
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to San Juan Island Cheese. We are your local cheese counter and lunch bistro with an ideal location across from the Brickworks Farmer's Market and within walking distance to the ferry. Sit outside in our patio oasis and enjoy a glass of wine, beer, cider or shrub with our ever changing cheese and meat boards. Here for lunch? Try one of our house made quiches, salads, daily soup made with seasonal ingredients or panini for lunch! Room for dessert? We offer cheesecake and chocolate cheese truffles, just to name a few. San Juan Island Cheese showcases artisan cheese, beers, and wines from the Pacific Northwest and beyond. Explore and take home amazing cheeses custom cut and wrapped by knowledgeable and passionate mongers for your enjoyment.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
564 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“This was a cute little place”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We ate in the courtyard. The sandwiches were good. The soup of the day was delicious. They have nice wines and cheeses. The waitress was very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Owner at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks for having lunch with us.
Glad you enjoyed it!
We appreciate your feedback.
We do try to keep the soup delicious and interesting.
Our wines and cheese change on a regular basis.
Please stop in next time your on island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    28
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cute spot in Friday Harbor”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Randomly walked into San Juan Island Cheese to grab a quick lunch and ended up getting two absolutely delicious sandwiches. Super fresh ingredients and extremely friendly service. Would go back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Owner at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your sandwiches!
We do try to use the best ingredients we can find.
Hope to see you again next time your in the Pacific Northwest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back Garden Oasis”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

No matter where you wander on Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA, you're bound to see plenty of hamlets, shores, and knooks and cranny's, to explore. Don't miss the peaceful back garden of San Juan Island Cheese, complete with Chef Hannah's herb garden, to sit and rest a spell while enjoying some artisan cheeses, beers, and wines of the Pacific Northwest--there is 'soup of the day', salads, and tapas too. Owners Richard, Sherri, and Hannah (all Daly's) have a great story to share about finding their true passion and expressing it through their family owned and operated Wine & Cheese Bistro. Open most days in Summertime, serving lunch and always packing-up picnic boxes to go--

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Owner at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We appreciate you nice review.
Friday Harbor is a wonder place!
We really are a family business.
It's all about sharing cheese, wine and passion.
During summer,
we are closed Tuesdays and Wednesdays for cleaning and to receive deliveries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere warm!
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“cute place for a snack”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We dropped by for a cheese board and bottle of wine. Service was friendly and casual. The back garden is adorable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Owner at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks!
Cheese and wine in our garden, what else is there?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A "MUST" when in Friday Harbor”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ok, take the ferry to San Juan Island just to eat here - it's that exquisite! Eat here once and you'll be hooked. We drop hundreds of dollars at 'top tier' restaurants on the island every summer (our yacht lives at Roche harbor) so take it from us: THIS IS THE NEW GEM ON THE ISLAND! Cheese shop, wine bar and bistro in one place.

Menu is light and delectable – cheese boards (gourmet, local, global) excellent pairing of wines, beer, paninis (the pastrami and sashimi grade smoked albacore tuna are to die for!), salads, homemade soups, and desserts (truffle brownies anyone?). Try their signature smoked salmon cheese boards on the weekends. Stop by for a casual lunch (we love the back patio) or get a ‘box to go’ for a gourmet picnic on the island or to take on the ferry (they are next to the Overflow parking area, one street up from the main drag).

The owners, Richard and Sherri, really care, are super friendly, and are living their passion. There’s love in the food – what more can I say?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlUSA333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Owner at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for your kind words.
We have traveled a fair amount, and we wanted to have a place that we would want to go.
Trying to keep it casual but elegant.
The Salmon Board is a new addition to our Board menu, and guest really enjoy it.
(and, yes, we do add love to our food!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Juan Island Cheese also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to San Juan Island Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing