We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with a great view and outdoor seating”

Friday Harbor House Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 67 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Friday Harbor House Restaurant is a comfortable, welcoming destination for locals and visitors alike. Islanders can wind down at the end of the day with a group of friends while hotel guests can enjoy a multi-course island dining experience. All will enjoy taking in the panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. We offers an authentic San Juan Island dining experience featuring seasonal specialties and the freshest fare from local waters and farms. Menu items change frequently as you never know what our culinary team will forage from the island's natural bounty or snag from the local farmer's market. We're also excited to announce that our breakfast program has changed from a continental breakfast to an a la carte brunch. Our guests will now enjoy a complimentary made-to-order San Juan Classic breakfast daily including eggs, sausage, bacon, and toast served with juice and local San Juan Roasters coffee. In addition to the San Juan Signature breakfast, you may elect to order from the regular brunch menu and will receive 25% off (excluding alcohol).
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The outdoor seating has a wonderful view of the harbor and it's very peaceful. The food is excellent with a good selection of appetizers and meals. The wine selection is good. A perfect spot for a summer dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shaymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Friday Harbor House Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

They had really good martinis, fresh and local food. The service was friendly and knowledgeable. Check out the happy hour for a good introduction to this restaurant.

Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you so much for your great review of our Bar. We are so excited that summer is upon us and the Bluff Terrace is again available for guests to sit outside and enjoy the views. Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had a wonderful time at The Bluff. Food was wonderful, service was amazing and the view is breathtaking. If you ever visit Friday Harbor, don't miss it. You won't be disappointed!

Thank Jana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you so much for your comments about The Bluff Restaurant. We appreciate you taking the time to mention us and our beautiful view! Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were there on a Sunday night, on which they serve tapas. We had great salads and extremely tasty empanadas and rib sliders.

The menu was somewhat limited for vegetable tapas (no artichokes or asparagus). But what they had was delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SeeAndalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We took a chance with the Tapas Sunday and it has been a great success! Thank you for your fun comments. Our small kitchen turns out a variety of items throughout the evening and often some surprises. Stay tuned and come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I flew to Friday Harbor from Seattle for an overnight Valentine's Day weekend stay. Based on the online reviews, we decided to make a reservation to have dinner at The Bluff Restaurant on Saturday night. We arrived for our 7:00 reservation to find the restaurant nearly deserted. The waiter was very friendly, seated us by a window, and we started by ordering a bottle of wine. The restaurant was offering a special Valentine's Day prix fixe menu priced at $75 per person. Our first inclination was to order something different, but we decided to take a chance. I wish we hadn't. Without getting into the details of each of the six courses, this meal was lukewarm in temperature, bland, and tasteless. Judging from many of the upscale reviews of this restaurant, I hope that we just caught them on an off night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

After reading your review I want to apologize for the experience you had at our restaurant. We had so many positive comments regarding our Valentine's menu that it was clear to me that you did have the exception to the rule, as you mentioned. I understand that the Chef, after hearing your concerns, discounted your meal. I would also like to invite you back to give us another try the next time you visit Friday Harbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Friday Harbor House Restaurant also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Friday Harbor House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing