We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the Price”
Review of Vinny's Ristorante

Vinny's Ristorante
Ranked #11 of 64 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: First St
Description: We are a quaint, little Italian restaurant in the heart of Friday Harbor. We offer authentic Italian Cuisine in a beautiful, fun atmosphere. Come and enjoy Vinny’s!
Ocala
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the Price”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had dinner there on a recent vacation. It appeared to be a higher class Italian Restaurant. It it was all.smoke and mirrors! The service was o.k. But the food was overpriced. We felt as though we were being rushed out of the door. We ordered a glass of wine, our waitress came back immediately to take our order and returned within. Inured with it from the kitchen! I swear they had everything prepared and just reheated. My meal was not even hot but figured they would just "nuke". It some more if I returned it. You would do better looking elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MacOcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    77
    30
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The service was very nice and the food was very good. Enjoyed the after dinner cocktails as well. We would come again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RodmanY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Ambiance”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Had a nice romantic dinner with the hubby at Vinny's during our stay in Friday Harbor. The restaurant had a great atmosphere. The food was great. We both opted for seafood and all of it tasted fresh and was cooked perfectly. Also the calamari appetizer was delicious! That was probably the highlight. So even if you aren't particularly interested in a seafood entree get some calamari to share beforehand!

The service was alright. It is probably the only thing standing between me an a five star review of Vinny's. It took a while for someone to bring us drinks and our servers was a lil strange but otherwise a fantastic experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Based on the wide disparity in reviews this tells me that either there is a wide range in what people expect quality food to be or there is inconsistency in the preparation. I have tried a lot of restaurants that have wild fluctuations in rating and some were good and some were bad. This place did not impress. Appetizer, Crespelle, although the crepe and filling were very good, it was smothered in what they identified as sage butter. I make sage butter and this butter had no flavor to it. Instead, the Crespelle, was swimming in a pool of tasteless fat. Would have been better served with a light basil or mint cream sauce. Their version just came out oily. Entrée 1 was the Capellini Mediterranean. The shrimp were over cooked and tough. The pasta was very overcooked and had the consistency of ramen noodles. Not to sound like a food snob but I have eaten Italian food all over the world and this is not prepared in the tradition of fresh, well made Italian food. This reminds me more of badly prepared Italian American food. Entrée 2 was the stuffed zucchini which in itself was not bad. Again the pasta was awfull. My Italian mother would slap me if I served food like this. All these dishes could excel as the potential is there but he preparation is bad. As expected the reviews on their web site were cherry picked from the positive reviews.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbcmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Top, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OMG good!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We had an early dinner here after an afternoon of whale watching. The food and service is excellent! I can't imagine anyone saying otherwise!
We shared a wonderful calamari appetizer, beautifully prepared, seasoned and presented with fresh tomato, pine nuts and basil. Among the very best I've ever had.
I ordered the arugula risotto which was served with a side of delicious charred chard. Rich, creamy and the perfect amount. My husband ordered the special lingcod in brodo, surrounded by flavorful cannellini beans - very traditional Italian fare. We topped it all off with a shared tiramisu, every calorie-laden bite was light and fluffy and pure ambrosia.
Put Vinnie's on your must list for Friday Harbor for a special evening out . The ambience, food, service and overall experience adds up to a great value.

Helpful?
Thank KJohnston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vinny's Ristorante also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Vinny's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing