We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Digs at Juniper Lane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Juniper Lane Guest House
Ranked #5 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2008

If you're not one of the lucky few who can call San Juan Island their home 365 days a year, at least you can stay in a place that feels like home while you're there.

This amazing Bed & Breakfast, just a hop, skip and jump away from the dock at Friday Harbor, is so beautiful inside and out, you'll have a hard time tearing yourself away to see the sites.

Everything is decorated so wonderfully, you'll go home with ideas about how you're going to re-do your bathroom. The room we stayed in, The Green Tea Room, overlooked the sheep pasture out back, with a cute little window seat to take in the view from.

There is a wonderfully, relaxed atmosphere that permeates this place. If you're looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life for a while, check out the San Juan Islands, and stay at Juniper Lane while you're there.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MikeBr312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2008

I was to Juniper's in 2007 with my nieces. We shared a bunk room and had the best time. Juniper is gracious and the unique touches to the home reflect her. The property is lovely. Sit in the back and gaze over a neighboring lake and take in all the locals.....critters and birds! Tall trees.....quiet....a great place to sit and enjoy a good bottle of wine. I'm heading back tomorrow for 4 days. See you soon, Juniper.
MV, Irvine, CA.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blazer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

This is a beautiful place that the owner Juniper has lovingly renovated. Pictures don't do it justice. Juniper (the owner) is very friendly and goes out of her way to make guests feel comfortable. The kitchen is very nice with everything you'll need if you choose to use it. The only problem is it is located right off a very, very busy road. We went in August when it was warm and we needed to keep the windows open. It was VERY noisy, even with the windows closed (which made it very warm too sleep).

Other advice - this property is located outside of town. Taxi is about $6-$10 one way . It is not safe to walk to/from town due to traffic so either bring a car (or rent) or plan to use taxi( we did).

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank chakrachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperLane, owner/ Juniper Maas at Juniper Lane Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2007

While this review is very complimentary towards myself (I am grateful for that) We feel that there are a couple of strong personal opinions that may mislead potential future guests.
That the Inn is located off a very, very busy road and that it is unsafe to walk can be a subjective statement. The road is a rural country road with one lane in either direction that can be busy at some times during the day as it services the island traffic as one of four main roads out of town. Many of our guests choose to walk the 1.3 mile to the ferry and town regularly as we do on a daily basis and have for the past twelve years. We are a certified "Green Hotel" and we promote walking to reduce the use of fossil fuels and when it is enjoyable. We also don't provide air conditioning as this is the Pacific Northwest and very temperate with few exceptions. Fans are provided for those occasional hot summer nights. Friday Harbor is a small town on a small island. One of the tourism slogans boasts that Friday Harbor does not have a single traffic light. For more tranquil secluded locations visitors are welcome to check out the many options further out of town. We often refer potential guests looking for very quiet and remote locations to these accordingly priced establishments. We are conveniently located giving a rural setting within walking distance to the restaurants and shops of our small town and we are one of the most affordable, beautiful Inns on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our three days at Juniper Lane Guest House, and will definitely return. For those who enjoy mingling with other guests in the common kitchen, and sharing stories and life in the cozy front room, and perhaps a glass of wine, this is a wonderful retreat. Conversations with Juniper, the owner, added an element of personal presence that brought meaning to Juniper Lane's origins. Truly a Friday Harbor gem!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2004

I just returned from a great weekend trip on San Juan Island. One of the highlights was staying at the brand new Juniper Lane Guest House! It's a hybrid between a bed & breakfast and an international hostel. The decor is contemporary, multicultural, and fresh. Every room has silk curtains, that's how luxurious this guest house is! My friends and I will definitely be back. I highly recommend it! ---juniperlaneguesthouse---

7  Thank Austin_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank m_usa0487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
527 reviews
7 mi away
Roche Harbor Resort
Roche Harbor Resort
#6 of 11 in Friday Harbor
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 17 in Friday Harbor
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Grand
Friday Harbor Grand
#3 of 17 in Friday Harbor
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Lane Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Lane Guest House

Address: 1312 Beaverton Valley Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8999
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £67 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Juniper Lane Guest House is Unique Boutique Inn, a petit hotel, a hidden gem....and you found it! Affordable and clean lodging on San Juan Island. Located on the edge of Friday Harbor over looking a beautiful pastoral setting. Just a stones throw from Friday Harbor for shopping, restaurants, and activities yet rural enough to unwind in a hammock hanging in a 200 year old Douglas Fir tree as the sun sets down the valley. All of our rooms are unique and custom crafted with different types of native and exotic wood, colorful tiling and paint, and extra touches to ensure a one-of-a-kind stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Juniper Lane Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Lane Guest House Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing