We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guesthouse I would love to own!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Juniper Lane Guest House
Ranked #5 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Guesthouse I would love to own!”
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Charming, sparkling-clean guesthouse with four (?) rooms and a separate cabin. The whole place has character: an interior that is decorated beautifully, with tons of exposed wood, funky tile, and art from around the world. I would happily have paid $50 more a night to stay here.

I've got a bad back and worried that the bed would exacerbate it, but the bed was perfect -- not too hard, not too soft. (Goldilocks would have been pleased.) Plus, the window seat in our room really was large enough for a tall adult to stretch out (and sleep) on. Huge bathroom with a porcelain bathtub and a skylight above it.

Only complaint is minor: Though the rooms don't share walls, sound does travel well, and some guests came in late and were loud. Not the guesthouse's fault, though. (Maybe a runner upstairs and more rugs downstairs would help with the noise.)

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank COCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
41
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Western Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Guest House is the right name for Juniper Lane. The place has just enough of everything to make you feel you're a welcome guest - warm wood construction, comfortable furnishings, meticulously clean inside, good lighting, and everything you need is right where you'd expect it to be.

The house is small enough to seem like a private home, but big enough that guests are not all crowded together. Common areas are available to socialize (if you like), or your room and grounds have places to just sit privately and watch the world go by. There is a modern, well-equipped, eat-in kitchen available for all to use (coffee & tea are provided). We were able to take advantage of the charcoal grill, tables, and chairs, and to enjoy the view of sheep and deer grazing in the acres out back.

We loved the place, and it's a great value (especially for Friday Harbor) ! Juniper is charming. She's created a great setting for self-sufficient travelers that want a nice place to stay and don't want to spend a fortune doing it. We can't wait to get back ...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spearsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Juniper is really great and relaxed- the house is wonderfully decorated and well maintained. Clean, comfortable, great views from the back yard, awesome value. I would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChillyWilly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Very cute place with reasonable rates. However, it was very noisy with road traffic and other guest moving about the home. The walls must be very thin. It is also about a 1 1/2 miles from Friday Harbor so it would be best to have a car. But very clean and easy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We decided last minute to take the ferry over to Friday Harbor. I e-mailed Juniper and she was quick to respond. We only stayed for one night, but the Juniper Lane Guest House was very clean, cozy, and welcoming. We loved the unique style of the guest house! We stayed in the Green Tea Room, and it was so cute and cozy!! Thank You Juniper... We had a great weekend :)

We would highly recommend this guest house to anyone looking for accommodations in Friday Harbor.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank indy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We just got back from our trip to Friday Harbor and I felt compelled to write about the wonderful experience and most importantly the wonderful guest house. I wasn't sure what to expect and was a little concerned with the review that mentioned it was far from town and it was noisy. Now that I have been there I have to say it was nothing less than perfect! Juniper was available to answer any questions, but gave us all the space we needed to thoroughly enjoy the cozy guest house she lovingly created. We stayed in the Green Tea room and the character and creativity that went in to every element of the home and the room was unbelievable! It encompassed everything I thought a trip to Friday Harbor should be. It is a guest house, so there were other people that we ran in to and heard on occasion, but everyone was respectful and friendly. We did have a car and we were on a tight schedule, so we did use the car, but it was not necesary. The nature on the island was so enjoyable that I wish I had more time to walk. We had dinner at the Duck Soup Inn one night which was by far the best restaurant on the island and we went Kayaking w/ Outdoor Odyssey's (a must). We saw orcas on two different occasions on our trip and learned a ton from our wonderful guides Chris and Johnathan. While on our Kayaking trip I asked one of the other Kayakers what they thought of their hotel ( Elements) and they said they thought it was interesting that they were given ear plugs?? Didn't have too much else to say other than that and when you compare the price to Juniper Lane it is a no brainer! I hope to be back many many more times and I hope others can experience the wonders of this magical place!....on a side note....when we travel we typically stay at high end hotels in the larger cities. We stayed at the Westin in Seattle and had I known I would have been here an extra night instead!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashlyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2008

If you're not one of the lucky few who can call San Juan Island their home 365 days a year, at least you can stay in a place that feels like home while you're there.

This amazing Bed & Breakfast, just a hop, skip and jump away from the dock at Friday Harbor, is so beautiful inside and out, you'll have a hard time tearing yourself away to see the sites.

Everything is decorated so wonderfully, you'll go home with ideas about how you're going to re-do your bathroom. The room we stayed in, The Green Tea Room, overlooked the sheep pasture out back, with a cute little window seat to take in the view from.

There is a wonderfully, relaxed atmosphere that permeates this place. If you're looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life for a while, check out the San Juan Islands, and stay at Juniper Lane while you're there.

  • Liked — It was Gorgeous.
  • Disliked — Noth
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MikeBr312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Lane Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Lane Guest House

Property: Juniper Lane Guest House
Address: 1312 Beaverton Valley Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8999
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Juniper Lane Guest House is Unique Boutique Inn, a petit hotel, a hidden gem....and you found it! Affordable and clean lodging on San Juan Island. Located on the edge of Friday Harbor over looking a beautiful pastoral setting. Just a stones throw from Friday Harbor for shopping, restaurants, and activities yet rural enough to unwind in a hammock hanging in a 200 year old Douglas Fir tree as the sun sets down the valley. All of our rooms are unique and custom crafted with different types of native and exotic wood, colorful tiling and paint, and extra touches to ensure a one-of-a-kind stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juniper Lane Guest House Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing