We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss a chance to stay here!”
Review of Longhouse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Longhouse B&B
Ranked #7 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
SF Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss a chance to stay here!”
Reviewed 16 October 2010

In spite of the gloomy weather forecasts we stuck to plans for our first San Juan Is. visit and made our way to Longhouse. There we were warmly welcomed to a wonderful retreat. We ditto everything said in previous reviews. We were well fed, informed, and equipped for island explorations by Patty & Jerry (even the weather was perfect) and look forward to a return visit. Please call them 360-378-2568 or email longhouse@rockisland.com until their website is updated.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights while we explored the island and went sea kayaking. We were certainly looked after well - the breakfasts were superb and when I found out Patty used to run a restaurant I realised why! The house had a really interesting history and was in a great position overlooking the water. I highly recommend staying here - I would love to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotsarered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Patty and Jerry are the owners and innkeepers for this delightful B & B on San Juan Island. Their hospitality was wonderful and they went out of their way from the moment we arrived to make us feel at home.

The location is beautiful--right on the bay--so serene and charming. The rooms are quite large and roomy and a great value for the price. The breakfasts are gourmet and plentiful. Our only regret is that we did not have the time to stay there longer. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone visiting San Juan Island.

By the way, the listing for the location of this B & B should be Friday Harbor as it is conveniently located only 15 min. away from the ferry landing there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathydmrkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We traveled here from Seattle with our daughter, her husband and his parents and stayed for two nights. Patty and Jerry greeting us with cookies and iced tea with lavender as if we were family. They told us the best places to eat on the island -- Duckpond is not to be missed if you are there in the spring, summer or fall. We visited Mitchell Bay Farm, whiich is owned by friends of Patty and Jerry. Patty and Jerry also tell you the best hiking places and to check out Lime Kiln Park, where we saw the Orcas offshore. At this park the rangers generally know where the different Orca pods are and which way they are traveling. We stopped in the morning and were told that depending on the fish they might be there around 3pm. -- they were. The breakfasts that Patty prepaps are superb as she is a professional cook, with a professionals cooks kitchen in her house.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramsey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I can't say enough about the great hospitality we received from Patty & Jerry during our stay at the Longhouse. As the other reviewers have mentioned, Patty is an amazing cook & the breakfasts are phenomenal. She was also kind enough to make us some chocolate chip cookies (yum!) and let us have the recipe for her melt-in-your-mouth blueberry scones. They are both fantastic storytellers & shared their around the world adventures and made our stay very relaxing. The location is right on the water & there is a dock a few drives down where you can go out for whale watching adventures (orcas!). The deer also come down by the Longhouse & one day popped up on the deck while we were eating breakfast. The room was comfortable & cozy - just what we needed after exploring San Juan. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teampickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roanoke, virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I stayed here for two nights in February, largely on the basis of TripAdvisor recommendations. Longhouse is at the very end of a long and winding drive, and might at first seem to be in the middle of nowhere, but it is actually located quite well for exploring that side of the island. Jerry and Patty are friendly and fun, and absolute experts on their island. They want you to have a great time. If you stay here, TAKE THEIR ADVICE on dinner and where to go hiking/exploring, because they know what they're talking about!
The house itself is beautiful, and the guest area is generous. The great room has big exposed beams, art and artifacts from their travels all over the world, and a wonderfully unique floor, incorporating wood and rock in a way I guarantee you've never seen before. There are books everywhere, and the room just immediately makes you feel comfortable. Staying here reminded me of staying with a favorite aunt and uncle, or my best friend's parents...it's a casual, comfortable, inviting place.
There are two rooms...both have a private bathroom, but neither bath is attached to the bedroom. The bath for the Blue Room is down the hall, and the bath for the Green room is across from the Blue room. I was the only guest there, but I can imagine that if there had been others, I would have heard them going back and forth. As it was, I had a very quiet and relaxing stay here.
Breakfast was wonderful, and enough to keep me going until dinnertime. Ask for a little dish of Greek yogurt...I'd never heard of it, and now I have to find some here where I live!
If you choose this B&B, you will be staying at a "real" B&B. This is not a house that was built specifically to accomodate paying guests, it is their home. It is rustic, and filled with memories, and they will treat you like family. Don't be worried if you don't see Longhouse in your San Juan guidebook...the good reviews on TripAdvisor are well-deserved.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saoirse7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We were guests at the Longhouse for five nights in the middle of September.
Patty and Jerry are wonderful hosts and doing a great job running their B&B.
Patty is a terrific cook (she is a trained chef), her breakfasts kept us full till late night dinner. Area around is amazing, nature and wildlife is like nowhere else.
Do not miss Colleen's Mitchell Bay Farm, she is a friend of Rasmussen's and her organic farm is an experience on its own.
We're hoping to go back there again and rent the cottage.
We would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the island.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
6.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
348 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
143 reviews
7.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhouse B&B

Property: Longhouse B&B
Address: 2187 Mitchell Bay Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8508
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Waterfront Bed and Breakfast Good view, Great Food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Longhouse B&B Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing