We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the main drag. ”
Review of Van Go's Pizza

Van Go's Pizza
Ranked #17 of 64 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Off the main drag. ”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

A block or two off the main shopping area, this one is worth seeking out. Cozy atmosphere, great service. We had a delicious Italian style pizza that hit the spot after a day of travel and shopping.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lactivist71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    30
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great pizza, great wine and great patio”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We chose this restaurant on trip advisor recommendations and were not disappointed. While the outside and locale are not remarkable, the ambience inside, in particular the patio, and the pizzas are! Four of us went for a casual dinner out while visiting Friday Harbor on our boats and we split a Cobb shrimp bowl of salad which was wonderful. Then we ordered 2 large pizzas which was way more than we could eat so we had a delicious lunch the next day. The house wine was a treat too! Would definitely go back next time in port!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank diwaldo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Finally! Excellent pizza in Friday Harbor!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Six of us enjoyed 4 pizzas on Saturday, July 5. We knew it had to be good with Daniel at the helm. He worked for 4? years at a top notch restaurant in Friday Harbor. He also made excellent cupcakes (he is a great baker) for our daughter's wedding 4 years ago (reception at Roche Harbor). The Chicken Gorgonzola pizza was our favorite (3 - 18 year old olds, 3 - 60+ year olds). Next favorite was the 3 meat pizza. We sat outside and it was lovely out back. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tafromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Must in Friday Harbor”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This quaint, cozy pizza place is two blocks off of the main strip in Friday Harbor. It is located in a small house on Web Street, but don't let the exterior fool you. This place is pure gold! My family and I enjoyed the casual back patio dining that was made better by the flowering plants which added to the atmosphere. The pizza was fantastic, and was along the line of a NYC type of pie. We also liked the Caesar salad and the staff was very outgoing, friendly, and polite. Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KennewickChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Casual quality”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My family of four went to this nice little place based on the Trip Advisor reviews. We were really happy with the choice.

First off you shouldn't be put off by the exterior. As we arrived it had the feel of going to the house of a college friend who happens to live off campus in a funky little rental. I sort of felt like I should knock at the door. I love hole-in-the-wall places to eat and so I was immediately smitten. Inside the decor was very simple, and we could watch the chef working his home-made pizza dough. The staff was friendly and attentive, and they very quickly got us seated.

Now, if you love the run-of-mill fare you get at all the chain pizza franchises, this is probably not the place for you. The pizza we got at Van Go's was fresh, with wonderful tasty toppings that together made delicious combinations. You can't have a great pizza without a great crust, and the crust at Van Go's was terrific. We all had salads and they were also very fresh and tasty. Our waitress was even very accommodating to my 12-year-old daughter's fussy (but actually quite healthy) tastes in toppings for her Caesar's salad: no cheese, no dressing, just olive oil and lemon juice, all delivered with a smile to my daughter's delight. We didn't try the wine but they had a small but nice selection of craft draught and bottled beer, and some of the usual mass-market beers in cans.

Rating:
4 stars, "very good" for terrific pizza in an—let's call it "apt"— setting;
Plus 1 star for friendly staff and great service.
Minus: no mark downs
Overall: 5 stars.

Helpful?
1 Thank LSSR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Go's Pizza also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Van Go's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing