We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So So” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrison House Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harrison House Suites
Ranked #4 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I'm sad to say that I was unimpressed last time I stayed at this little B&B. The owner was very nice but the lady who greeted us (Erin I think) and showed us our room was less than helpful, even a little rude. I fail to see how "I don't eat fish and chips" is an appropriate answer to a guest asking about the best place to get fish & chips. It's an island. This cannot be the first time you've gotten this question. You think you'd know the answer, even if you don't eat fish & chips. We asked if Friday's was open since it was winter and she looked at us as if we were stupid and said she didn't know what Friday's was. Friday's is the first crabhouse/restaurant you arrive at when you step off the ferry.
Other issues include basic amenities - we stayed in a big suite with a full kitchen - there wasn't a full assortment of spices which made cooking challenging without buying full sized spices at the store. Also, I understand reusing and recycling but the shampoo/conditioner and other bathroom products had torn gross labels and the bottles were on their last legs...
Just not the nice amenities we're used to when we stay at a nice place.
We stayed in the San Juan suite and the member of our party that slept in the little sunroom bed didn't sleep because it was terribly uncomfortable. Also, one of the rooms is under stairs so if you have kids good luck getting them to stay sleeping if someone is staying upstairs. It sounded like an elephant was going up and down the stairs, but I'm sure they were just walking normally, but just unfortunately right on top of us.

There are some great things: the location is amazing and the chef is outstanding. The owner is very nice and they are pet friendly. Also, they provide a portable crib.

I wish I had something better to say. It has so much potential. We just didn't really feel welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Harrison House Suites, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
HI!

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your taking the time to write about your stay. Sorry about the confusion regarding Friday's. In Erin's defense, all the locals refer to it as the "Crab Shack". Since there is outdoor seating only, they operate on a very short schedule from late April through September so you would have definitely missed them during your January visit.

As a green hotel, we do our best to reuse, recycle and reduce. The amenity bottles really bothered us and we worked hard to find a better solution to labels. We decided on a custom silk screen on the bottles thus eliminating labels all together. Unfortunately, the first set of bottles that were delivered with the silk screening were the wrong size. I am thrilled to say that the correct bottles are currently at the printer . My whole team is frustrated that this took much longer than we planned, but happy to say a permanent solution is just a short time away.

We stock the kitchen with milk, juice, coffee, loose teas and an assortment of basic spices and custom spice blends that we make in-house. In order to ensure freshness and quality, we do not offer a whole assortment of spices and herbs in our guest kitchens since most of our guests do not cook on vacation. They use their kitchens for preparing lite snacks and to keep beverages cold. However, we are willing to share any of the spices or ingredients in our well stocked commercial kitchen with our guests. It is not unusual for a guest to ask for an egg, some flour, or a bit of butter. We agree it is silly to purchase 5 pounds of flour when you need a couple of tablespoons to make a roux .

We do hope to have the pleasure of hosting you another time when your travels bring you back to the San Juan Islands and our Inns' always open door.

Best,

Anna Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    40
    12
    9
    11
See reviews for
74
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed in the Orcas suite at Harrison House for our anniversary. The room was nice but not quite as nice as we thought it would be for 225 a night. The website shows it with a view of the harbor and town. It does have a view of the harbor but it's more of a "peek-a-boo" view with another house and trees blocking the rest. The room had some minor issues. The bed wasn't attached to the headboard and the frame was on wheels so if you leaned against the headboard the whole bed would roll away from the wall. The hot tub jets kept cycling on (3 AM the first time). I ended up unplugging it in the middle of the night. There was no DVD or VCR. The person who checked us in said they just replaced the TV and weren't sure how to hook up a DVD player to it. The room had a small kitchen area and there was milk and juice in the fridge. It also had a nice selection of tea and coffee. Overall the house was clean, comfortable and quaint. The breakfast arrived right on time both days but was cold the first day. The food was average and in small portions but didn't leave us hungry. The staff was super friendly and polite! The check-in was fast and easy. I'm sure if I had asked for a DVD player, bed repairs and hot tub repairs they would have taken care of it but we didn't want someone working in our room the whole time. The location is fantastic. It's only a block or two to the center of town and the marina. I would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The Orcas suite has an outside deck on the second floor and a hot tub. The Lopez suite is across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koobeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Harrison House Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We just completed a renovation of the suite removing the carpeting and adding Brazilian Chestnut floors. Thank you for bringing the bed to our attention. The carpeting provided traction as compared to the slick wood floors. We have added stoppers to the bed casters. The hot tub does cycle periodically in order to filter to maintain water quality. We are sorry that it disturbed you. We do turn this feature off for guests who are light sleepers. The DVD player is now in place. Yes we do wish that you would have brought these items to our attention. We could have easily attended to them when you were out enjoying the island so we wouldn't have disturbed your visit.

We do hope to have the pleasure of hosting you here another time.

Anna Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastsound, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We were welcomed with a cozy fire in the fireplace when we arrived. Our Suite was well equipped, lovely and spacious, with wrap around windows. We took advantage of the hot tub on the deck in the stormy weather.
Breakfast brought up to our room was a treat!

Room Tip: We loved the Orcas Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Staff sent a confirmation email for an 11am check in. Didn't honor it. Instead staff members David and Anna Marie chose to argue the point at length although I had a confirmation email from them!

We ended up waiting over 3 hours to check into our suite. When we returned hours later, had to try and track someone down AGAIN. Anna Marie hung up the phone on us, explaining that her staff members had complained. Ironically, she pointed out that I needed to learn better manners and get a handle on what island life is like! UNACCEPTABLE! It's the holidays and not one staff member so much as said "hi" to us or "happy holidays" the ENTIRE time we were there. They made us feel so uncomfortable that we had to take our meals in our room.

At $250/night you should receive more friendly service and professional staff. I have stayed at all kinds of hotels/resorts/B &Bs, etc all over the world, and I have NEVER had such a miserable experience!!

There are plenty of places to stay on San Juan island and life is short. We definitely will not subject ourselves to such poor treatment again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KimberinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Harrison House Suites, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Kimberly,

Thank you for choosing the Harrison House for your holiday getaway. We are sorry about the miscommunication regarding your early check-in. Unfortunately, we would never promise an 11 am check-in as that is our check-out time. Our room attendants need time in between guests to ready the suites for new arrivals. We did our best to get you checked in as early as possible. It was a beautiful afternoon. We do hope you explored the island or strolled through the historic downtown core, all decorated for the holidays, while you waited for your suite to be readied.

Just a note about our breakfast service, we deliver breakfast to all of our guests who stay at the Harrison House. Our guests feel pampered with breakfast in bed!

Stephanie, our Concierge and Guest Services Director, reached out via email right after you left to see what we can do on our end to welcome you back for another visit. We look forward to continuing that dialogue offline.

We appreciate your taking the time to write.

Happy New Year!

Anna Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed just one night so we wouldn't have to drive back to Seattle after a lovely Thanksgiving dinner with friends who'd recently moved to the island. The San Juan Suite easily accommodated six of us (two couples and two teenage offspring). The suite was spacious, with a living room, two bedrooms, and a kitchen bigger than in some houses I've lived in - it would be a great home base for a longer stay. We asked for our breakfasts to go; they were a more than adequate lunch on the ferry: yogurt, fruit, granola, cheese, crackers, a scone, and tropical juice (mango or guava). That's in addition to the cookies and truffles that were waiting for us when we checked in. And did I mention the Jersey milk, orange juice, and freshly ground coffee in the fridge? Wow. I would have loved to stay longer, but it would be really hard to go home after being pampered that way for any length of time!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyFCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

My friend and I loved the Shaw suite. The regular bed and day bed were both comfortable, and the nautical decor really enhanced the seaside atmosphere. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the two breakfasts we had were way beyond expectations because there is a professional chef in the kitchen.
The location is perfect because it's very close to the ferry terminal. However, it's very private and quiet and it's a treat to walk around the artistically designed grounds.
It was our first time in Friday Harbor, and it really was a "home away from home."

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We were welcomed by Molly (I believe) who was super friendly and gave us a thorough tour of the suite which was essentially an apartment. There were two bedrooms (one was an en-suite), a full-size living room, dining room, kitchen, deck, and hot-tub. My husband and I stayed with my in-laws and there was more than enough space for everyone to spread out. We were treated to breakfast delivered to our breakfast table every morning. We didn't order anything specifically and yet the variety was nice to make everyone happy. Loved the charm and original details. I even forgot some clothing (whoops!) which Stephanie quickly addressed and happily shipped back to me (free of charge!) Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksenia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Harrison House Suites, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Ksenia,

Thank you for writing about your stay. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable visit in the San Juan Suite. It is a great gathering suite for families - plenty of bedrooms for privacy with lots of common areas for visiting. We just refinished the living room and dining room floors and added matching hardwood in the two bedrooms. We can't wait for you to visit again so you can enjoy all the changes.

Fondly,

Anna Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.0 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrison House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrison House Suites

Property: Harrison House Suites
Address: 235 C St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrison House Suites, conveniently located steps from the Friday Harbor ferry landing and the downtown core, is an upscale inn with six suites. Each are fully furnished and appointed with full kitchens and private baths. Many have fire places, private hot tubs, and views of the water. Start your day each morning with breakfast delivered to your door. The Inn is the perfect base for your San Juan Island holiday and accommodates weddings, retreats, families traveling together and your furbaby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harrison House Suites Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing