We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic suite for 2!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harrison House Suites
Ranked #4 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Romantic suite for 2!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This suite was only open for 1 night and my sweetheart and I both said we wished we could have stayed at least one more night. The pictures on the website don't do the suite justice. It was gorgeous and stylishly decorated. Really nice staff. The only suggestion I would make would be to create some sort of privacy fence from the suite. There were several children playing in the hot tub below and they were pretty noisy (like kids should be) but it did put a damper on the mood (we left kids at home).
This is a great place also for dogs. We had our "little boys" (tiny chihuahuas) and the little fenced yard was perfect.
It was a beautiful suite and super nice people. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephsherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    40
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
75
100
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Wonderful location, excellent service, comfortable room. Stayed in the Orca suite for three nights, mostly out and about the island. Erin checked us in-she gave us a map and marked places to go. There was fresh whole milk, OJ, and ground coffee in the mimi fridge, breakfast was good, and one morning we got yogurt, granola and crackers to go. There is a "new" cheese shop on the island, be sureto stop by for a taste. We loved The Bean for coffee. ROCHE harbor had the best cake donuts-try to go in the morning while they're hot. There wasn't anything lacking at the Harrison House and I would stay there again. So would my sister and she is far more well-traveled than I.

Green Features: Very very green! They use the same bottles over for toiletries and there isn't a lot of fancy new stuff. They use local growers.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindrbrwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Just had 2 nights here as a romantic get-away during a business trip to Seattle. We rented a car in Seattle and initially went shopping at the outlet mall 1 hour North of Seattle on the I5. We then drove another north to Anacortes, where we parked the car and caught the ferry to Friday Harbour.

The Harrison House is only a 10 min walk from the ferry terminal. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly owner who showed us to our room (the Orcas Suite). The suite was a little smaller than I expected and not quite A1 but it was fine and well appointed (no cooking facilities apart from a microwave and bbq). The hot tub on the balcony lacked privacy from adjacent properties but a suitably placed hot tub cover and some towels on the balcony rail sorted that.

We had a lovely time and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanPark3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

birthday getaway. romantic setting. different houses comprise this property. we stayed in the orcas suite. nicely decorated, clean, small kitchenette, great water view & a hot tub. breakfasts delicious although delivered to the room so if you wish to share with others, select a room without a kitchen. it's also upstairs so if stairs are a problem, choose another room. staff is friendly & accommodating. they go out of their way to make sure guests are comfortable. they offer complimentary use of bicycles & helmets, & kayaks (need a car to load kayak & transport to a point of water entry). convenient location a block away from ferry landing. beautiful gardens bursting with tulips & other spring flowers when we went. nice terraces and sitting spaces.

Room Tip: stayed in the orcas room with a water view & hot tub.
See more room tips
Green Features: conscientious about environment protection. there's a pamphlet in the room to encourage clients to do the same.
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyheypippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I'm sad to say that I was unimpressed last time I stayed at this little B&B. The owner was very nice but the lady who greeted us (Erin I think) and showed us our room was less than helpful, even a little rude. I fail to see how "I don't eat fish and chips" is an appropriate answer to a guest asking about the best place to get fish & chips. It's an island. This cannot be the first time you've gotten this question. You think you'd know the answer, even if you don't eat fish & chips. We asked if Friday's was open since it was winter and she looked at us as if we were stupid and said she didn't know what Friday's was. Friday's is the first crabhouse/restaurant you arrive at when you step off the ferry.
Other issues include basic amenities - we stayed in a big suite with a full kitchen - there wasn't a full assortment of spices which made cooking challenging without buying full sized spices at the store. Also, I understand reusing and recycling but the shampoo/conditioner and other bathroom products had torn gross labels and the bottles were on their last legs...
Just not the nice amenities we're used to when we stay at a nice place.
We stayed in the San Juan suite and the member of our party that slept in the little sunroom bed didn't sleep because it was terribly uncomfortable. Also, one of the rooms is under stairs so if you have kids good luck getting them to stay sleeping if someone is staying upstairs. It sounded like an elephant was going up and down the stairs, but I'm sure they were just walking normally, but just unfortunately right on top of us.

There are some great things: the location is amazing and the chef is outstanding. The owner is very nice and they are pet friendly. Also, they provide a portable crib.

I wish I had something better to say. It has so much potential. We just didn't really feel welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Harrison House Suites, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
HI!

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your taking the time to write about your stay. Sorry about the confusion regarding Friday's. In Erin's defense, all the locals refer to it as the "Crab Shack". Since there is outdoor seating only, they operate on a very short schedule from late April through September so you would have definitely missed them during your January visit.

As a green hotel, we do our best to reuse, recycle and reduce. The amenity bottles really bothered us and we worked hard to find a better solution to labels. We decided on a custom silk screen on the bottles thus eliminating labels all together. Unfortunately, the first set of bottles that were delivered with the silk screening were the wrong size. I am thrilled to say that the correct bottles are currently at the printer . My whole team is frustrated that this took much longer than we planned, but happy to say a permanent solution is just a short time away.

We stock the kitchen with milk, juice, coffee, loose teas and an assortment of basic spices and custom spice blends that we make in-house. In order to ensure freshness and quality, we do not offer a whole assortment of spices and herbs in our guest kitchens since most of our guests do not cook on vacation. They use their kitchens for preparing lite snacks and to keep beverages cold. However, we are willing to share any of the spices or ingredients in our well stocked commercial kitchen with our guests. It is not unusual for a guest to ask for an egg, some flour, or a bit of butter. We agree it is silly to purchase 5 pounds of flour when you need a couple of tablespoons to make a roux .

We do hope to have the pleasure of hosting you another time when your travels bring you back to the San Juan Islands and our Inns' always open door.

Best,

Anna Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed in the Orcas suite at Harrison House for our anniversary. The room was nice but not quite as nice as we thought it would be for 225 a night. The website shows it with a view of the harbor and town. It does have a view of the harbor but it's more of a "peek-a-boo" view with another house and trees blocking the rest. The room had some minor issues. The bed wasn't attached to the headboard and the frame was on wheels so if you leaned against the headboard the whole bed would roll away from the wall. The hot tub jets kept cycling on (3 AM the first time). I ended up unplugging it in the middle of the night. There was no DVD or VCR. The person who checked us in said they just replaced the TV and weren't sure how to hook up a DVD player to it. The room had a small kitchen area and there was milk and juice in the fridge. It also had a nice selection of tea and coffee. Overall the house was clean, comfortable and quaint. The breakfast arrived right on time both days but was cold the first day. The food was average and in small portions but didn't leave us hungry. The staff was super friendly and polite! The check-in was fast and easy. I'm sure if I had asked for a DVD player, bed repairs and hot tub repairs they would have taken care of it but we didn't want someone working in our room the whole time. The location is fantastic. It's only a block or two to the center of town and the marina. I would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The Orcas suite has an outside deck on the second floor and a hot tub. The Lopez suite is across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koobeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Harrison House Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We just completed a renovation of the suite removing the carpeting and adding Brazilian Chestnut floors. Thank you for bringing the bed to our attention. The carpeting provided traction as compared to the slick wood floors. We have added stoppers to the bed casters. The hot tub does cycle periodically in order to filter to maintain water quality. We are sorry that it disturbed you. We do turn this feature off for guests who are light sleepers. The DVD player is now in place. Yes we do wish that you would have brought these items to our attention. We could have easily attended to them when you were out enjoying the island so we wouldn't have disturbed your visit.

We do hope to have the pleasure of hosting you here another time.

Anna Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastsound, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We were welcomed with a cozy fire in the fireplace when we arrived. Our Suite was well equipped, lovely and spacious, with wrap around windows. We took advantage of the hot tub on the deck in the stormy weather.
Breakfast brought up to our room was a treat!

Room Tip: We loved the Orcas Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.0 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrison House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrison House Suites

Property: Harrison House Suites
Address: 235 C St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrison House Suites, conveniently located steps from the Friday Harbor ferry landing and the downtown core, is an upscale inn with six suites. Each are fully furnished and appointed with full kitchens and private baths. Many have fire places, private hot tubs, and views of the water. Start your day each morning with breakfast delivered to your door. The Inn is the perfect base for your San Juan Island holiday and accommodates weddings, retreats, families traveling together and your furbaby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harrison House Suites Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing