We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Stayed the last week of June. Weather was supposed to be cloudy but had a lovely 3 days. Breakfast was quite good with an egg entry, pancakes, homemade granola, bacon, sausage, etc. Owners were accommodating enough. We spent most of the time out and about.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2008

I have never had such a nightmarish experience with a B&B before. I booked three nights in August four months in advance and when I arrived ten minutes before check in with my confirmation in hand, Greg, the owner informed us that his computer had "crashed" and he had no record of us. He was booked and made no effort to accomodate us even when we explained that we had reservations for a kayak trip and whale watch trip which would not refund our money if we had to leave the Island. Because it was a peak season weekend the only accomodations we could find were at Orca Inn which I would never recommend to anyone. Greg's attitude was minimal concern and copies of my confirmation appeared to make no difference with him; my husband still believes that he booked someone else for a higher rate over us. I would cautiion anyone booking with this B&B to have a backup plan as you will need it! This experience certainly tainted our stay at Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Ladytravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hillside House. It's extremely clean and our room and bed were very comfortable. The view, though not large, is nice, and the guests have access to the comfortable deck and living room. There are TVs in the rooms. They also provided many extras in our bathroom, like hair dryer, hand mirror, lotion, bandaids. There were 24-hour snacks and tea. Breakfasts were not exactly healthy, but adequate, and Greg was accommodating to someone who did not like lavendar!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WashingtonTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

This bed and breakfast was comfortable and clean. The owners were friendly, courteous, and happy to help in any way. We stayed two nights in the Parisian room. It was cozy. We liked our own bathroom and tv. The breakfasts were delicious. We had biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, quiche, peach cobblers, fruit compote, etc. etc. It was served right on time at 8:30 am. Warm and fresh...just like home.

The other guests were cordial and easy going...especially Arlene and Bob...these two were out of this world interesting...quite the world travelers.

If you are a runner there is a high school w/ a quarter mile flat track right down the street. It was soft and well maintained.

We would recommend these quarters to any family members or friends. So of course we recommend it to any other travelers trekking to Friday Harbor.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank jqsandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

This is an ugly split level home OUTSIDE of town that they've tried (unsuccessfully) to beautify. The owners are friendly, but not engaging enough to be in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MOWSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

After eight hours of travel we arrived to find they had no room for us as they sold it to someone else. Man was very rude and offered no
sympathy for our situation. With only a few rooms how could this happen. I received a confirmation from Expedia and Hillside sold it on their own.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank NorthBend_WATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We just celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary at this beautiful Bed & Breakfast. The food was delicious, the gardens amazing, and the owner's hospitality outstanding!
We would definitely recommend this B&B to others and hopefully one day we'll be able to return! There were some nice "extras" provided too (heaters in each bedroom, guest refrigerator with ice, drinks and snacks always available, and we can't forget those delicious homemade chocolate chip cookies!) We certainly enjoyed them and did not go away hungry!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stillkicking_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 365 Carter Ave, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8055
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £94 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillside House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside House Bed and Breakfast, on San Juan Island, WA, is a 4,000 square foot contemporary inn, among an acre of fir trees, overlooking Mount Baker and the entrance to Friday Harbor. We feature spacious commons areas, wonderful views, quiet location, landscaped gardens, walking distance to shops, 7 guest rooms, each with a king or queen bed and private baths, and a 3 diamond rating from AAA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillside House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside House Bed And Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing