We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Friday Harbor Suites(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roche Harbor Resort(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$303
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orca Inn(Friday Harbor)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peter Jensen House(Friday Harbor)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Discovery Inn(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$220
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
San Juan Island Hostel(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Friday Harbor House(Friday Harbor)
US$468
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
395
98
33
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
98
33
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour windscookiescoho restaurantpatience cornergranolaanna mariapond roombottle of champagneeach morningother gueststhe main housesan juan islandhome away from homelopez suitedietary restrictionsjacuzzi tubferry terminal
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I recently stayed at Tucker House, in Friday Harbor, on San Juan Island. Check in time was advertised as 4 pm, but the day before arriving we were advised that an early check-in might be possible. That sounded great, we responded, since our ferry was due around noon.
When we arrived, however, we were surprised to find no one at the check-in desk – only a sign advising that we could leave our luggage. As our belongings would have been left in a wide-open, unattended location, we hesitated. Then we noticed that two keys to our assigned “suite” (a misnomer, but that's another story) had been left lying on the desk. Assuming they had been left in response to our request, we took them and went up to our prepaid room.
At around 2:45 pm, while we were napping, we were awakened by a loud knocking on our door. We explained that we were in bed, but a short time later we were awakened again in the same way. Then, for a third time, our nap was disturbed, this time by a woman yelling at us through the door that we needed to check out.
My husband responded politely that we had just checked in. In a hostile tone, the woman (who turned out to be a manager) said, "No, you didn't. Check-in time is 4 pm." She demanded that he get dressed, come to the door and show our key. It felt like a police interrogation. When she finally realized her mistake, she offered no apology but left in a huff. We never saw her again.
A full day later the manager did leave us a bottle of sparkling wine and an acknowledgement of the problems “in our check-in process.” She blamed the previous occupants of the room for not checking out properly. But she offered no apology for her rudeness, which was really the issue for us. Her display left such a sour note on our stay that we would NEVER stay in a property run by this outfit again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley S, Manager at Tucker House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sharon and James,

Thank you for staying with us. First, I am very sorry that you did not have a memorable experience and that our first interaction was perceived as rude -- it was truly not my intention. We corresponded about a noon arrival with bag storage so were looking out for you. The check in process for all guests is outlined in all of our email correspondences and reads, "The reception area is at 275 C Street, the light green house on the corner of Nichols and C. If you enter on C Street, our reception center is the first room on your right. Please use the phone on the desk in the reception center to let us know you've arrived." There is also a sign on the reception desk with the same note, along with a guest phone with a direct line to on-site staff.

In readying the room for your noon arrival, we did knock three times. First our room attendants stopped by to prepare the room. Then, shortly before noon, my husband went to your suite to service the hot tub for your anticipated arrival. He found the room locked and was surprised, thinking the previous guests hadn’t checked out. We had no idea you helped yourself in. He knocked and was told through the door that you were napping.

I went to your room thinking I would be asking the previous guests that were there past check out to leave so we could ready the suite. I asked you to open the door to get a visual of who was inside. Then you proceeded to tell us that you arrived earlier than expected and you helped yourselves to keys that you found on the reception desk that were errantly left by the previous guests.

It is our policy to never leave keys unattended for arrivals. When we do prepare self-check in letters for those arriving on the last ferry, we leave an envelope with directions, a map and keys. We always warmly greet all of our guests as soon as they call that they have arrived. We escort them to their room and orient them with helpful information about the property, breakfast, and room amenities.

Unfortunately, there were a series of miscommunications. We assumed that you were either the previous guests or someone in the room that shouldn’t have been there. We were also concerned that the suite was dirty and that we couldn’t get it prepared in time for your early check in. After we sorted this out, we did apologize for disturbing you. However, we were fully aware that we didn’t make the best first impression for which we are sorry -- so we left a bottle of champagne and hand-written note as a thoughtful gesture.

I am sorry to hear that your experience was jaded and our attempt to reach out during your stay didn’t alleviate your discontent. Please know that we were looking out for YOUR best interest with our sole goal to prepare for your early arrival. I sincerely hope you had a wonderful time in Friday Harbor and that you may reconsider a return visit which would allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was perfect. We especially loved the beautiful and very large bathroom. Breakfast was great, especially the home made granola and yogurt. They were very accommodating as we had an early morning ferry. Our breakfast was prepared early so that we could make the ferry.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fbadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley S, Manager at Tucker House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you from the entire staff at the Tucker House Inn. We are very happy to accommodate our guests' early departures with our hearty to-go sack breakfasts that feature our homemade Greek-style yogurt and granola. Please come again for a longer stay! All our best, Shelley & The San Juan Island Inn Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Companion & I booked the 'Secret Passage' room during the house's 120th anniversary. We were greeted with a complimentary bottle of champagne that was made good use of. Our room was spotless. The bed was high off the ground & I appreciated the step stool to enter & exit the bed. The bathroom had a large double tub with jets. It looked inviting, but we never found time to use it. Overall, the room was sweet & had the necessities. The handsome robes hanging in the bathroom for us to use were a bit itchy.

This B&B serves scrumptious breakfasts. Each morning the table was set with bowls of the richest, creamiest, thickest house made yogurt we had ever eaten. Neither of us usually go for the yogurt option but this was velvet on a spoon. The accompanying house made granola was divine. Whole pecans, cashews & almonds studded the granola which was drizzled with honey. Companion & I were putting away more then our share. We hoped no one was noticing. Orange juice, coffee & teas were available.
Each morning a different hot entree' was served. A high end version of poutine over home fries was divine. A crust less quiche was moist and light. The 3rd breakfast was a breakfast burrito. It was very good but didn't rock my world like the others.

Several adjacent homes comprise the Tucker House & it was much larger then I realized. Eighteen rooms in total, some are considered cottages & get breakfast delivered each morning. We enjoyed meeting lots of fellow vacationers at a large community table each morning. Our hosts, Shelley & Patrick were welcoming & warm.

We happily borrowed the community bikes & strolled the lovely streets nearby. The town was so close we could walk to a plethora of shops & restaurants.

We highly recommend The Tucker House when visiting this island.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TiaMio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley S, Manager at Tucker House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for delighting over our food and all our property has to offer. Many guests, like you, are happily surprised by our variety of rooms and attention to detail. Our homemade and locally-sourced breakfasts truly stand out and one reason travelers return to the inn. Food quality and supporting our local growers and farms is part of the guest experience, so thank you for your wonderful descriptions! Please come again. Warmest regards, Shelley & The San Juan Island Inn Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Tucker house for several days in Summer, 2017. The common areas were nicely decorated. Our room was compact but very nice. The breakfast was served in a separate building., The dining area was a good size for meeting other guests. The inn s within easy walking distance to the town and waterfront ( although thr town has some steep hills that could be challenging for some.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank ghezzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley S, Manager at Tucker House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so pleased that after a year away you have lasting memories of The Tucker House Inn. Our breakfast room certainly is a lively place to enjoy the company of other travelers and learn about what our island has to offer over the morning meal. Should you return, please ask about our lower Tucker House rooms, which are a block closer to town, at the bottom of the hill. Happy regards for a wonderful summer. Shelley & The San Juan Island Inn Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

From the moment we arrived and were welcomed by a recent UGA grad, we felt at home here. Two nights is not enough. The adaptability to our odd food tastes, the friendly breakfast gatherings, the comforts of the large room, and the beauty of Friday Harbor could not have been better. We hope to return before too long. And, the price was quite reasonable.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank wlsachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley S, Manager at Tucker House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words. Friday Harbor and the San Juan Islands are truly special and we only hope you will return for a longer stay and to partake of even more adventures in our little piece of paradise. Our entire team wishes you the warmest regards for a wonderful summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews