We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular everything”
Review of Tucker House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tucker House Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The Tucker House is a gem. The location is great for walking to shops and restaurants. Our room was cozy and added touches were great- real coffee, fresh cookies, midnite snacks. Breakfast was incredible!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spablix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Tucker House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2010

We stayed for 4 days while exploring the islands. Tucker House is conveniently right in town, walking distance to anything in Friday Harbor. With the 3 properties and a restaurant, it's a good sized operation. The good news is the staff is more than up to the task and always taking care of the details.

Our room was nice sized, clean, and nicely appointed. A nice comfortable base to return to after a day's explorations. The public areas in the house were very welcoming and useful. Breakfast was a treat each morning with a nice variety of quality dishes.

I can't say enough about the staff. They went above and beyond on a couple occasions where inconsiderate guests created issues during our stay. Even though the establishment was in no way responsible, they did everything they could to make it right for us.

One suggestion: I would like to see them adhere to the policy of no children in the breakfast room. Stating that well-behaved children are welcome does not work because people with ill-behaved children don't know it. Or don't care. The folks at Tucker House seem very accommodating about serving breakfast in the rooms & suites so this would not be an issue for families staying there

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed here at the end of a week of camping and hiking through the cascades. Wonderful room (Four Winds), and we were glad to jump in the jacuzzi. The bed was heavenly.

Due to an early ferry departure, we couldn't stay for breakfast, but the staff packed us one to go, including some scones fresh out of the oven.

Definitely a great choice for Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spenceM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We would consider coming back here again, but we would not stay in the same room. We liked the atmosphere of the entire B&B a lot but did not like our room.

The positives: The people working there are the nicest ever. The location is super convenient to the town and the ferry. The grounds are adorable. The shared amenities are nice. The hotel is dog-friendly, which was awesome.

The negatives: Our room. All of the work done on the B&B looks like it was done by the owner/manager - which is to say, not that professionally. The grout was loose on the tiles in the kitchen and the bathroom, and the floor was uneven. The outlet plates weren't screwed in in some cases and the bed, which had at one point been bolted to the headboard against the wall, was loose. The bed was so squeaky that if I turned over in my sleep, I woke myself up. The sound insulation between our room, which was next to a shared outdoor patio, was not good, so we could hear people talking outside well into the night. The automatic security light would shine right into our room if people walked by. At the very least, the room could definitely use blackout curtains.

I was disappointed in the quality of the room considering the price we paid (peak summer rates).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aech_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast, and it was fantastic. We were pure tourists at Friday Harbor, going on a kayak tour and sight seeing, and our stay at this Inn was amazing.

This Inn is in a great location - it is a mere two (short) blocks from the Ferry terminal and the rest of Friday Harbor, so we did not bring our car. Not only that, but the Tucker House provides guests with complimentary use of on-site bicycles and helmets! I wish we'd known that before we came.

The breakfast was charming - very fresh fruit, with a variety of choices for the first course, a delicious main dish, and a surprize desert! I don't usually have desert with my breakfast, but I couldn't turn this one down! The tiramisu-like desert was one of the most delectable treats I've had in a very long time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warm_warmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

My family of 5 adults (2 generations) was travelin in Seattle and spent a night in Friday Harbor at the Tucker Inn. The staff was very accommodating and friendly to our large party, and so welcoming! From the ferry it was only a short walk (uphill, but only a couple blocks), where we were greeted by the very friendly staff who were making cookies for the guests which smelled heavenly. They let us leave our bags since we were early for check in, but offered to call as soon as the room was ready. When we came back from exploring the town, the log cabin we stayed in was absolutely adorable! Everything was plush and well thought out, there was milk and juice in the fridge, coffee and tea available, and those fresh cookies (which tasted as good as they smelled) waiting for us. We had our own private porch and a sun room, as well as a little kitchen complete with some snacks. As we explored the room, we couldn't help but smile and continue to exclaim to one another how great it was! The king sized bed was so comfortable, the quilts were wonderful, and the kitchen useful. The only problems were that they had forgotten to give us extra blankets for our 5th person (which they remedied when we informed them) and probably we should have gotten a second room since one person had to sleep on a less than plush cot (this room was perfect for 4, not 5). To be fair, they had warned us and it worked out ok for our group.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious - fresh fruit and juice, walnut biscuits with the most amazing cooked plums on top, and breakfast burritos with beans. Unfortunately we had to eat in the room instead of their restaurant because the early seating was full (and we had kayaking to do!), but it was still delicious and let us enjoy our lovely room a little longer. All in all, we loved our stay and would certainly come back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daria730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

My husband and I had never stayed at a B&B before and were a little apprehensive. The price was a little higher than we were used to paying for hotels/motels but we were extremely delighted with our stay. The breakfasts were amazing and we even enjoyed sharing it with some of the other guests each morning. We are usually a little on the shy side but were extremely comfortable dining with strangers! The room was perfect with the comfortable bed, flat screened tv (even though we didn"t use it much), and the large bathroom with a jaccuzzi tub and separate shower (a bit on the small side due to the slanted ceiling). Two blocks to the harbor made for an enjoyable stroll even when the temperature was a little cool. The Tucker House Inn made our stay extremely memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordone54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
510 reviews
4.7 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucker House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucker House Inn

Address: 275 C St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: £149 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tucker House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tucker House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucker House Hotel Friday Harbor
Tucker House Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing