We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch spot, great espresso”
Review of Market Chef

Market Chef
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch spot, great espresso”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stopped by Market Chef for a lovely espresso in the morning, and four of us came back at lunch time for some take out salads for a bike ride. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and we all thought our salads were excellent. Indeed we came back the next day for more takeout lunch.

Eating in looked fine, especially the outside seating area in a garden area in back, well off the street.

There are ready made deli salads, and also ones made from scratch after you order. Some of our favorites were the curried egg salad vinaigrette, the summer island spinach salad, the beet salad, and the chicken breasts.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    55
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not for families”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This busy restaurant has very sophisticated sandwiches, but you can expect your order to take a long time at lunch, and the tables are small and few. It took us a while to realize we could use the backyard like area in the back which had a few toy trucks for the kids to play while we waited. It could really use some signage. Not our favorite.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Can see why it's so popular”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

After reading the accolades for Fish Taco Friday we had to try some. Outstanding fish tacos. A little pricey but excellent quality. Pretty busy but only a short wait.

Helpful?
Thank Roseburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really exceptional ham sandwich”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

True I was hungry from a long car + ferry journey and I would have enjoyed baked tennis shoe at that moment but even so this was the most amazing sandwich I have ever had. Amazing bread, excellent meat, great side salad and light layer of dressing. Worth the wait. Fun atmosphere but first and foremost - amazing food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluntrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
186 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Fish Taco Friday!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have visited Friday Harbor a few times and have really had a hard time finding the combination of excellent food/service at restaurants. We were so happy to have found the Market Chef. We just so happened to be there for "fish taco friday", and the fish tacos were very tasty! We were very happy with the friendly service. They were very helpful, and extremely welcoming. Highly recommend this restaurant! Keep in mind, they are closed on Sat/Sun. We were disappointed that we could not enjoy another meal here before leaving Friday Harbor!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Family0fTravelers_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market Chef also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Market Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing