We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Market Chef

Market Chef
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Great sandwiches and soups. All four of us were very pleased with our choices. Creative menu and interesting food combinations.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdp441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    55
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Best Lunch Spot ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have travelled extensively around the world and any town or city would be blessed to have such a great lunch spot with freshly made local food with a daily changing menu. We took our kids who all found somethingg delicious and loca to eat all three days we went there not to mention great adult food also from l brisket sandwich one day home made meat loaf and amazing crab cakes. Anyone who is going to Friday Harbor this is a must and can't believe this place is not a straight 5!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Yummy Food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is the place to go if you want to grab and go! They offer a wonderful selection of food items and creative sandwiches. It is not necessarily a great place to take a family to sit and dine... However the food is fresh, creative and delicious. It was our go to place for lunch to take with us on our hikes and picnic!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch spot, great espresso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stopped by Market Chef for a lovely espresso in the morning, and four of us came back at lunch time for some take out salads for a bike ride. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and we all thought our salads were excellent. Indeed we came back the next day for more takeout lunch.

Eating in looked fine, especially the outside seating area in a garden area in back, well off the street.

There are ready made deli salads, and also ones made from scratch after you order. Some of our favorites were the curried egg salad vinaigrette, the summer island spinach salad, the beet salad, and the chicken breasts.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This busy restaurant has very sophisticated sandwiches, but you can expect your order to take a long time at lunch, and the tables are small and few. It took us a while to realize we could use the backyard like area in the back which had a few toy trucks for the kids to play while we waited. It could really use some signage. Not our favorite.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market Chef also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Market Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing