We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four Seasons - Not Quite "The" Four Seasons” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Four Seasons - Not Quite "The" Four Seasons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

For those that are familiar with our posts we are to the point and try to very objective and helpful.

This resort was formerly the Encantado and became a Four Seasons property. Since it was not built as a Four Seasons there were several items that need to be noted for those visiting:

The reasons for the lower rating
1. Noise. Yes noise at the Four Seasons. Do NOT reserve a bottom floor casita. The casitas are either single story or two story, so request either a single story or the 2nd floor as their is little to no sound barrier between the floors. Thus if you are on the bottom you will be subject to each footstep taken by those staying above you. For us during our stay we actually had two different couples staying above us. The hotel representative said that they just did a sound abatement study and have put into place new sound proofing, but they will look into more as ours was not the first complaint.
2. Mattress. They have not replaced all of their mattresses. So my wife and slept in the "valleys" which were the right and left side of the king bed. There was a firm spot in the middle of the bed that was about a foot wide, but you would roll off of it as it was that pronounced of a difference in support. So upon arriving to your room and BEFORE you unpack we would suggest laying down on the mattress as a simple test drive so you don't run into this problem yourself. Unfortunately we did not heed our own advice and had settled in and had a beautiful fire going and did not want to switch rooms the next day even after the Four Seasons offered it to us.
3. Comforter. We were at the resort of the holiday season where the weather was in the highs of the 30s, so great sleeping weather. Unfortunately the comforter is so heavy and warm that even though the last night we cracked the door to our room you would be sweating under the comfort. Just a note that my wife and I are very fit people. And when we exposed an arm or a leg we ran the risk of frostbite because we had the door open to make it somewhat bearable. The only other option was the sheet. Advice to the Four Seasons, have the sheet and two mid-weight comforters for every type of sleeping need.
4. Views. The resort had amazing views, so why the negative? A majority of the casitas and the outdoor patios either looked at other casitas or the parking lot. When booking your room ask for a casita whose patio faces the desert if a bottom floor, otherwise this is another reason for a top floor.

Now for the positives:
1. We would stay there again, but would take our own advice from our comments above.
2. The service was impeccable.
3. The staff. Every Four Seasons staff was friendly, helpful and very courteous.
4. The bar and restaurant were great. From the drinks, we are not big drinkers and the views from the patio, to the incredible food at their restaurant. And this is saying a lot as Santa Fe hosts many top restaurants.
5. The quaint remoteness of the resort. It was only a 10 minute drive into town, but far enough away that you were away from it all. A very relaxed and romantic setting.

Room Tip: See our full write-up, but book either a top floor or a single level casita with a desert view. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masci_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Masci_AZ:

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay with us at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado. I sincerely apologize that we were not able to make your stay with us an exceptional one. We take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. I would be happy to speak with you further regarding your stay, please contact me directly at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
505-946-5801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    132
    54
    20
    4
See reviews for
139
436
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Top notch accomodations. Helpful Staff. Nice workout facilities. Pet friendly. No complaints. Venue just a bit north of Santa Fe. Easily accessible. Rooms are beautifully adorned. Concrete floors, warmed in the bathroom, but not in the bedroom area (cold in winter months). Wood burning fireplace and just overall a fantastic place

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STak39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Greetings from the Land of Enchantment,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review regarding your recent stay with us! I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything from our fitness center to your room’s accommodations. Our heated floors are not only luxurious, but very helpful during our cold winter months! You have paid us the highest compliments with your “top notch accommodations and helpful staff,” comment and we cannot thank you enough for your kind words. I hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the resort during your next visit to the City Different. Wishing you and your family a prosperous and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
291 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Nestled away about 10-15 miles north of Santa Fe is this beautiful resort. It is understandable that many/most people desire to be closer to the center of Santa Fe due to the activities, culture and restaurants; however, the surrounding hills and secluded nature make this location a peaceful and quiet getaway. It is somewhat challenging to find without instructions as there is not much in the way of advertising; however, the environment is truly unique.

The people at the resort made such a difference in hospitality and even in forming a bond with them. In preparation for the visit we had multiple correspondence with a couple of their personnel related to restaurant reservations, ideas and suggestions of places to visit as well as spa appointments. In our room was a hand-written note, a chilled bottle of chardonnay wine and fresh fruit to enjoy.

There were a couple small glitches with the room related to a problem with the coffee maker and the heated floors; however, what was most important to us was how the situation was addressed. In each time, the issue was addressed promptly and professionally with a genuine concern on behalf of the staff. A phenomenal attribute about the resort was having a real fireplace - it was thoroughly enjoyed - each day for several hours. One night we had the chance to make S'mores in the room as it had been years since we had done that.

The nighttime at the resort is spectacular as the surrounding hills shield you from the lights of Santa Fe and the sky and visibility of stars were impressive. The service at the bar/restaurant was a bit slow the one evening we went there; however, that was likely due to the special event they had at the resort that evening. It was not a major issue as we were not in a hurry to get anywhere.

Would definitely go back - especially in the winter time to be able to use the fireplace.

Room Tip: Try to select a room on the second floor and facing the north/northeast side of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDSoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Season’s Greetings!

Thank you for providing Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado with great feedback and descriptive review regarding your recent stay with us. We cannot thank you enough for your time and comments. I would like to personally apologize for the inconvenience in regards to the challenge that you experienced in getting to our resort. We are in the process of enhancing the signage on the highway and the lighting throughout the resort. With that being said, I am so thrilled and delighted to hear that you “would definitely come back,” and hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back on your next visit. I loved your vivid description of “the nighttime at the resort is spectacular as the surrounding hills shield you from the lights of Santa Fe and the sky and visibility of stars were impressive.” At the same time, I am so glad to hear that our employees were able to assist you and exceeded your expectations during your stay! I will be more than happy to share your kind words with the rest of the team. Once again, thank you so much for your thoughtful comments and we hope to see you back in the City Different for another visit soon! Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

All in all I cannot wait to return. I love Santa Fe--but what makes this magical place is the existence of the brilliant resort. Every element of my stay was perfection!. Their Chef--Andrew is amazing!.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonathan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

There really couldn't be a more impressive property in the area. The service and hotel amenities were beyond first class. The Adventure tours we participated in were awesome. Mountain biking one day and snowshoeing the next.
Definitely do the Chef Tasting and learn all about the local ingredients and how the staff obtain the local ingredients.

Room Tip: Face sunrise or sunset - your choice, but pick one for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Greg Y,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review about your recent stay with Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado. You’ve paid us the greatest compliments with your words, “there really couldn’t be a more impressive property in the area. The service and hotel amenities were beyond first class,” and we are very appreciative of your kind words. I am so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your tours with Adventure Partners and our Executive Chef Andrew Cooper’s culinary offerings. Once again, your thoughtful comments and time are greatly appreciated and I hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Even though we live in Santa Fe, we like to frequent the local resorts for special occasions during the off-season. After 10 years of dedication to another nice resort in Santa Fe, my new favorite choice is by far the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado. While a little pricer than almost all other choices in Santa Fe, this hotel is well worth it.
The hotel sits just outside of town in the Santa Fe foothills and the scenery is breath taking. The accommodations are first class in every regard. We stayed in one of the free standing casita. Very spacious, beautifully appointed and romantic. The hospitality is five star without being over bearing.
The spa and fitness center was very peaceful and not at all crowded. The outside hot tub is a must. We visited right after an 8 inch snow and were in heaven. The morning after our stay we took the encantado hiking trail and were amazed by the views.

This hotel is perfect in every way...worth every penny...and then some.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the free standing casita...it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NMskies62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Greetings from the City Different!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations, “very spacious, beautifully appointed and romantic,” and I cannot agree with you more! We are truly grateful to have such magical and enchanting views of Northern New Mexico by being located on the outskirts of Santa Fe. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Room was spacious. Bed very comfortable. Our room had a guest bathroom, fireplace, private balcony, front room television & bedroom television, wet bar, shelves, stocked refrigerator. No microwave. Work desk was round so it lost some functional wk. space but forced to limit work was not that bad. Bedroom closet was grand. Super large tub & very large shower space. Heated floors!! Saw first snow of year! Beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank RageNButrFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear RageNButrFly,

I am thrilled beyond words to hear such positive feedback from our guests! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantando. I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room’s accommodations and I would have to agree with you in regards to your comment about our “super large tub and heated floors,” as they are very important to have during our wintry season! I hope that it was not inconvenience to you not to have your own microwave in the room; however, upon your next visit please do notify us and we will be more than happy to provide you with one upon arrival. Your time and comments are greatly appreciated and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort the next time your travel brings you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Property: Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing