We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

My wife and I made our first trip to Santa Fe for the last weekend of the opera season and the annual Indian Market--at which Indian crafts people from all over the country show and sell their work.We have stayed at other Four Seasons resorts around the world--so the property in Santa Fe was an obvious choice. We double checked with Tripadvisor, found mostly positive reviews and booked here. Not for a second did we regret our choice.

Location is wonderful--out in the desert, a 15-minute ride from downtown Santa Fe and about the same from the Santa Fe opera. The Indian Market turned Santa Fe into a mob scene but not a hint of that at Four Seasons Rancho Encantado. Out there, all was tranquil, peaceful, relaxing. .

The resort is charming--designed in soft earth tones to blend into the countryside. There's plenty of native crafts to catch the eye. Accommodations are spacious and handsomely furnished. We had a casita (casita number one as it happened) which amounts to a stand-alone dwelling, with king-sized bed, lots of sitting room, a dressing room and a mega-sized bathroom. There's a do-it-yourself fireplace (nights get chilly at 7,000 feet). Best of all, there is a roomy patio with comfy chairs and lounges.

We woke up early, used the Keurig machine in the room to make coffee. Then we bundled into our robes and drank our coffee on the patio, watching the desert world come alive.

The food was excellent and the service was warm and welcoming. All requests were handled quickly and cheerfully. We had a very early plane to catch and wanted coffee and rolls at 4 a.m. That is a little before normal room service begins. No matter, at 4 a.m. we had coffee and pastries delivered to our door.

There is hourly free shuttle service to Santa Fe. For visitors there to see the opera, there is a specially-priced opera lovers dinner and free shuttle service to and from the opera. The concierge arranged limo service to and from the Santa Fe airport and also set up a delightful day trip to Taos.

We know Four Seasons resorts and expected something special. What we got exceeded those expectations by a wide margin.

Room Tip: Casitas offer privacy; two-story units offer better mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luckysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear LuckysDad,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado!

Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful resort and day trips to the local sights. Even though we are located just 15-20 minutes away from the downtown area we do offer complimentary shuttle services at the top of every hour to our guests in order for them to enjoy the peaceful and tranquility of northern New Mexico without missing the historical sites in the downtown area, we think is a very important amenity, especially being located outside the city limits. We agree that the over sized tub with heated bathroom floors is one of our favorite room features. A lot of our guest seem to enjoy the fireplaces and plush robes as you did! Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Resort as one of guests in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    132
    54
    20
    4
See reviews for
139
436
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Spectacular location and over-the-top service, a superb choice whether for business or pleasure. Ask for Bradley Russell, the outstanding Front Office Manager, to assure your needs are met. The entire staff brings a caring attitude to their jobs and go out of their way to enhance your stay.
This was our third visit, and there will be more in our future...

Room Tip: Rooms 2-4 and 63-65 (farther from the lobby) are great choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jforjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had a great experience at this resort. It's not as posh as other Four Seasons properties I've stayed at - the decor is somewhat understated in the lobby areas, bar, restaurant, and guest rooms. But the location and lovely trails behind the resort are really the draw of this property. Service was good - what you'd expect from the Four Seasons - and the food was very good as well. It is close to the Santa Fe Opera and we were able to take the hotel shuttle to the performance which was fantastic. It is a bit far from the plaza, so if you're looking for something with closer access to the restaurants, galleries, and shops in downtown, you might want to consider another hotel. But if you don't mind the short drive into town and want to enjoy the peace and quiet of the beautiful desert around you, I would definitely recommend this property!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the mountains, book a second floor room with a terrace patio. Some of the casi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear COGrad,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - I agree the understated elegance of the resort add to the rustic high desert feel of the property. I am very glad you got to enjoy the hiking trails and the area around the resort as well as a trip into the city to experience all that Santa Fe has to offer. We are always excited for Opera season, being so close to the Santa Fe Opera House is such a treat! Northern New Mexico is a magical place and your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, CA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I'm a Four Seasons junkie (was just at FS Serengeti a month ago!) so when the time came for my company to have an executive retreat, I decided to bring everyone to the FS Santa Fe. Absolutely perfect experience - relaxing, rewarding, and productive (yes, IRS, we did have a few very well documented meetings...!). Arrival was perfect, dining was perfect, the rooms are spacious with incredible views. The little touches I've come to expect at FS blew my staff away - the turn down service with messy bathroom counters reorganized perfectly, remembering our names, being able to make food dishes and drinks that weren't on the menu, amazing spa experiences. They all loved the luxury of "simple, consistent perfection" vs the "in your face opulence" of some other brands. Basically FS now has a half dozen more FS junkies! Great job. We'll be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but get the top floor of the casitas (some are just single story) if possible f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Greetings From Santa Fe,

I am thrilled beyond words to read that your group’s stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. We always love hearing that we have more Four Seasons lovers in the family! I completely agree with you that our understated elegance is wonderful and that you enjoyed everything from check in to departure. I love your description of the resort, "The luxury of "simple, consistent perfection" vs the "in your face opulence" of some other brands." We consider all of our guests as friends of the resort and I would love to personally greet you on your next trip to Santa Fe. Thank you again for your kind words and I will pass them on to our staff.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

What can I say? Everything was exceptional. Gorgeous, spacious rooms, amazing staff, great poolside service, amazing food. Decent little walk around the property to burn off the meals.
Love the fact that they play quiet Country music in the background. I don't even really like Country, but it adds to the overall ambience.
I'll definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BriSanVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear BriSanVan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! It really pleases me that you enjoyed our beautiful resort. One of the great features of our resort is that it is located just about twelve minutes away from the Plaza area and offers breathtaking views of the Sangre de Cristos mountain ranges. This affords our guests peace and tranquility with the convenience of shopping and dining that Santa Fe is known for. It also means we have beautiful hiking trails around the property and into the foothills, allowing our guests to explore the true beauty of the high desert. Once again, thank you very much for taking the time out to review us on Tripadvisor and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort personally.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We visited here for lunch in the main restaurant this week. The service was very good, food delicious and reasonably priced. Such a shame we weren't staying at the hotel, the location was idyllic. The swimming pool looked clean and the communal areas were spotless.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cushmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Nicola C,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review from your recent visit to Terra Restaurant! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal - everything from the service in Terra Restaurant and Bar to Chef Coopers award winning cooking . Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring all of our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest of our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We value your patronage to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you the next time you come to the property. You will definitely have to come stay with us so you can take advantage of all the amazing amenities the resort has to offer! Again thank you so very much for your very kind comments!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I brought a group for a meeting here then extended my stay for pleasure. The property is so lovely and serene. I can't say enough about it. As far as a meeting goes, the staff from beginning to end were wonderful.

But as vacation experience, I loved the remoteness. Even if the hotel is at full occupancy, I felt like were the only people there. The pool was beautiful and relaxing, and the service at the pool was stellar. The spa is one of the most beautiful I've been. I particularly enjoyed the bar/restaurant for cocktails (silver coin margaritas!), and personally, I preferred sitting in that area for lighter fare than in the dining room (which is still beautiful).

I really enjoyed the guided complimentary walks in the morning, but I also loved doing it on my own. I loved that the resort is away from town which, for me, is congested and touristy. Spending a day in town is great, but there are so many things to do in the area that being out of town is not a hindrance.

The hotel allowed us to use the Mercedes convertible for our day trip to Taos, and it made our day extra special.

I really recommend this resort. From beginning to end, it was gracious and beautiful.

Room Tip: As others have said, one slight drawback is that I was able to hear those above me. Requesting a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evansaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Evansaunt,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from your room accommodation to the pool service and meeting facilities and especially our service. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest of our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We value your patronage to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Best Regards,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Property: Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing