We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We enjoyed our two days at the El Rey. It's a huge property with many little nooks to explore with an array of flora and great fauna too,(bird feeders with hummingbirds,etc.) The room was a nice size, however the bed was a bit squishy and the towels were past due for replacement.
All in all, I'd stay there again. It was convenient to get to the old town and a very comfortable place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guestess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    234
    75
    17
    9
See reviews for
157
357
39
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel is beautiful. The old part of the hotel is nicer than the new part, but the new part is ok too. It is not in downtown Santa Fe but I didn't care since that's a little too much turquoise for me. It's not fancy but it just felt really good to be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gideon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We traveled Route 66 for two weeks and stayed all across the route, El Rey Inn was my favorite spot! It has that fun 1940s motor court feel. The court yards are filled with benches, chairs, and spots to sit and enjoy the outdoors. It's evident this motel was built in a time when people enjoyed socializing and spent more time outside the room then in the rooms.
The rooms are also wonderfully comfortable and the bathroom was large with a large dressing area.
Don't miss this Route 66 charmer! It's a quiet rest stop and a charming place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Only stayed one night but what a funky neat inn ... the pool was really neat and nice and big, grounds so beautifully landscaped and shady. Room was very retro ... had a great stay with family!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelgdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I've passed by numerous times and always found the white-washed buildings set back from busy Cerrillos Road to be intriguing and charming. So when I needed a place to stay for two nights in early May, I was pleased to discover a reasonable price for the El Rey Inn on Expedia. As a solo traveler, I felt very safe here. The room was clean and quiet and I enjoyed walking the grounds and discovering all the little hidden nooks and crannies with statues of St. Francis and other decorations. I loved the home-made tortillas at breakfast. My only complaint was that it seemed to be a while since the grounds by my room had been maintained. They were in need of weeding and mowing. I think it was too early in the season to see the gardens in full bloom. All in all, I got what I came for, a peaceful and relaxing time. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soonermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

The El Rey Inn is Route 66-type motel. It is attractive and pretty well maintained. Rooms are comfortable and staff helpful and pleasant. While definitely not in the up scale part of artsy Santa Fe, it is safe and comfortable. The grounds and gardens were beautiful at one time, so it's somewhat disappointing that they are no longer maintained as well as they could be. There are a couple of good local restaurants within walking distance, but you will need to drive to see any Santa Fe attractions. It is suprisingly quiet though on a major street, but the walls, trees and set-back location makes you think you are in a less busy industrial/business area. All in all, it is a pleasant and quiet inn with well maintained rooms except for the old-fashion televisions that receive very poor reception and deliver a horrible picture. Bring a good book!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rrhone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, ME
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

It isn't really off the beaten track - it's on a very busy road, actually - but once inside you could be anywhere. This is a big sprawl of a place that's been added on to again and again over the years. The landscaping is lovely, so you can relax outside. Our room was comfortable, with a bathroom big enough to sub-let, and we appreciated having a fridge. Also the price was right, probably because you're not smack in downtown Santa Fe.
Only a couple of quibbles - the pool was not in operation while we were there, which was too bad. And the breakfast is definitely skippable.

Room Tip: As others have said, rooms in the back are quieter. We had a corner room near the pool and the vendi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe
El Rey Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing