We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Inn of the Governors(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Fe Sage Inn(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Inn on the Alameda(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$311
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
TributePortfolio
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$258/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$191
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$654
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveller rating
456
256
96
26
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
256
96
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstortillaspantry restauranthot tubmotor courtcerrillos roadcookie cuttercontinental breakfastcharming placethe breakfast areashort drivenice breakfastsanta fe charmoutdoor pooladobe stylevisiting santa fenew mexicowe've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 851 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We loved the El Rey Inn, an historic hotel on the old Route 66. The staff were great and all the rooms were wonderful. We stayed the first night in a double room and then, joined by family, moved to the "Lodge" which slept 4 at a minimum and easily six. It had its own kitchen with dishwasher, a bath and a half, two living rooms, one with a gas fireplace, and two patios. Very comfortable. The kitchen was fully outfitted with dishes but who wants to cook in Santa Fe? We were a bit underwhelmed by the continental breakfast but The Pantry is right next door and their portions are so large that you are set for the day. My friends had business to do and needed the car but that was no problem. There is a bus stop in either side of the road in front of the Inn and for a buck, you are on the Plaza in twenty minutes (10 in a car). No worries about parking if you take the bus and the drivers were so helpful and friendly. At this time of year, we didn't check out the pool or the hot tub but the grounds are lovely. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margoandthecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The El Rey was recommended by the owners of The Blue Swallow in Tucumcari. It's a vintage 1930's motor court--with a difference. The property has nice gardens and landscaping, a hot tub and swimming pool, and a charming breakfast room where complimentary breakfast complete with warm tortillas is served. Nice neon and tile work, a comfortable lobby with free coffee and tea, and lawn chairs for sitting outside make this a great place to relax. The rooms at the back of the motor court are especially quiet.

Room Tip: South side rooms are quieter. Be sure to ask for the AARP discount.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noaccidentaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Two mature women jus spent four nights at the El Rey. We love the Santa Fe Motel and Inn, but when we couldn't get the accommodations we needed there, we went to El Rey. It was not a disappointment. El Rey is an old-style motel with outside entrances BUT...it has lovely oupen green area with lounge chairs, tables, etc, an inviting enclosed hot tub/spa as well as an outdoor pool, adequate parking and includes breakfast. Our room was not tiny, as is common with older motels, and it does not look, feel (or smell) old. Even the doors and windows are newer, nothing seems old except the style and charm of the facility. While the breakfast is included and includes homemade tortillas and green chile, we were disappointed. It is really a rather typical "included breakfast" . The tortillas are good but the chili is just a chili sauce but too runny to eat easily with the tortillas, and nothing else to go with it except some shredded cheese. BUT a few step away is The Pantry restaurant which has wonderful New-Mexican breakfasts if that is your preference. El Rey is a real value by Santa Fe standards. It's very reasonable even if you choose to forego the included breakfast and "splurge" by going to The Pantry for breakfast. Don't overlook this gem.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 75, a two-bed, standard room. It was quiet, the hot tub was right acroos from us and parking was close-by. They have a variety of rooms with various amenities. We had a small refrigerator which is always handy for road trips.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerryeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The El Rey Inn has been around since the 30’s but has aged well. The motel and each room are different. The room floor plan and furnishing are unique and not like the “cookie cutter” approach you may be used to with other motels. If you want antiseptic, predictable, corporate, accommodations find the Holiday Inn…If you want to spend $300 a night find one of the upscale hotels around the Plaza downtown. If you want a pleasant older motel with an excellent free breakfast, free internet, parking at your door, efficient staff, and reasonable rate ( if you shop rates around the internet). The El Rey Inn may just be the ticket……

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0bu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here 20 years ago with our 5 sons and loved it then. Finally made our way back to Santa Fe as a couple and based on our experience 20 years ago, made reservations here. We had a wonderful courtyard room that was large and very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful, We enjoyed the outdoor hot tub on a gorgeous starry night. Breakfast was a nice continental breakfast with yummy warm tortillas. The staff, especially the breakfast staff, was very friendly. The El Rey Inn feels more like a B & B than a motel - we will definately be back!

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard room with table & chairs outside the door.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews