We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff a plus for charming hotel”
Review of El Rey Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Rey Court
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The best thing about this charming hotel was the top-notch staff. All our needs were met and questions answered. The spa in a little courtyard was wonderful. The breakfast is ample, and the staff loves to bring you a warm tortilla and fruit, if you want them. Room shows a bit of wear and tear, but I like the absence of a chain feel. Definitely get a meal at the Pantry restaurant, just two doors down!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

My one recommendation would be to run a shuttle service into the Plaza, even if once an hour...
The grounds are quite nice, unlike many of the more motel'ish places in SantaFe, this one left a nice amount of Open Space. Some of the rooms need going over, cracked sink, old toilet seat, carpeting that has seen better days. But then you get the rooms over nearer to the pool, wonderful. Sleep like a baby, spacious, and while a bit more, well worth it.
Again, with parking such a hassle in town, consider running a shuttle, Sage Inn does that, it's good Customer Service.
All the best, enjoy your stay, we did ours, Salida1048

Room Tip: Try The Pantry, right next store to the ElRey, great place to eat, and you can walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here one night (before our time share was available) --- two different kinds of worlds! The El Rey has such character! Our room was large, immaculate, and included all necessary amenities (good quality, firm mattresses, small refrigerator, safe, shower and tub, hairdryer, TV, etc.). The TV had a permanent splash of dots about 6" long burned into the screen, but that was the only negative aspect of the entire room. The breakfast that is offered in the price of the room is a significant step up from the usual faire offered at hotels. In addition to the bagels, yogurt, dry cereal, hard boiled eggs offerings, the El Rey offered fresh flour tortillas and fruit delivered to your table. The workers checked occasionally to see if they could bring you anything else, to check to see if everything was "okay," etc.... a nice, personal touch. I'd recommend the El Rey to anyone wanting a unique experience. Granted, the hotel is on a major road (and too far from most things to walk), but we did walk a very short distance down the road to a restaurant (The Pantry) recommended by some of the hotel staff (and very well rated by TripAdvisor contributors).

Room Tip: Our room was right across from the hotel hot tub. As a result, if we wanted privacy we had to close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 411Shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This place was incredible. It wasn't like being in the city at all. Our room was large, the bathroom was HUGE, all the amenities were great. Service was super friendly. Having the two hot tubs available at different sides of the property was great. The "indoor" hot tub has big doors so it's practically outdoors. Great towels with special pool towels. We looked in on the breakfast which looked fine, but we wanted to go to the nearby cafe. This is a good place for either romance or families, with little paths and benches scattered around, a play area and some interesting antiques. Also, it seemed some of the rooms are detached bungalows that only look attached, so more privacy and quiet than it would look like on the surface.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MN262Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I love this place, I would stay here again anytime. The service was great, the property is charming and quaint, and the room was clean and comfortable. The bed was awesome, I slept like a baby. The towels were even soft. The breakfast experience was unexpectedly pleasant. You should totally stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were staying someplace else in Santa Fe that had many noisy spirits moving around all night so we decided to move after the first night. We stayed several nights then at the El Rey and found it very restful, with character at a very affordable price. It has southwestern charm, and very comfortable rooms (ours had a fireplace).We would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMMSebastopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Spent one night at El Rey and loved it. Easy access to downtown and the plaza. Grounds are wonderful. Unit was a combo of Southwest and art deco bathroom. Nice people at desk and those who served a very good breakfast. This place goes back to the Route 66 days, but is in great shape today.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BeyondMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.7 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,340 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
788 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Court

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £69 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Rey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
El Rey Inn
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe
El Rey Court Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing