We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
Review of El Rey Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Rey Court
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is our favorite hotel in Santa Fe, & it has come to be a very special for us over the last four years. The location is great--a short drive to downtown & great restaurants. The rates are very reasonable for the location & accommodations. We're always very pleased with our stay! The hotel has a great New Mexican charm to it, & it feels like a little retreat in many ways. Staff is pleasant & friendly. Breakfast is included with your rate, which is a nice touch. We just can't say enough about El Rey!

Room Tip: Their suites with kitchenettes are single-floor rooms, & their "standard" suites are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thereeds_2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I recently stayed at El Rey for the 7th time, each time bringing a small group of fellow travelers. El Rey has consistently been charming, clean, and accommodating to our needs. The helpfulness of the staff, the complimentary breakfast, the teeming gardens, the fireplaces, and the El Rey Experience are truly one-of-a-kind.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great place to stay whether for one night or one week as I did. The staff are warm and very help. My room is cozy, clean and well-maintained. A special treat: the windows open so I can listen to the birds outside my window as I awake each morning and enjoy fresh air all day long. The property is a bird sanctuary and there gardens and fountains abound. The morning breakfast is more than ample and prepared and attended by a charming couple. 5 minutes to old town Santa Fe. Can't wait to return with my husband and friends.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper, ask for a room toward the back of the property. More birds to enjoy, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwayDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The best thing about this charming hotel was the top-notch staff. All our needs were met and questions answered. The spa in a little courtyard was wonderful. The breakfast is ample, and the staff loves to bring you a warm tortilla and fruit, if you want them. Room shows a bit of wear and tear, but I like the absence of a chain feel. Definitely get a meal at the Pantry restaurant, just two doors down!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My one recommendation would be to run a shuttle service into the Plaza, even if once an hour...
The grounds are quite nice, unlike many of the more motel'ish places in SantaFe, this one left a nice amount of Open Space. Some of the rooms need going over, cracked sink, old toilet seat, carpeting that has seen better days. But then you get the rooms over nearer to the pool, wonderful. Sleep like a baby, spacious, and while a bit more, well worth it.
Again, with parking such a hassle in town, consider running a shuttle, Sage Inn does that, it's good Customer Service.
All the best, enjoy your stay, we did ours, Salida1048

Room Tip: Try The Pantry, right next store to the ElRey, great place to eat, and you can walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here one night (before our time share was available) --- two different kinds of worlds! The El Rey has such character! Our room was large, immaculate, and included all necessary amenities (good quality, firm mattresses, small refrigerator, safe, shower and tub, hairdryer, TV, etc.). The TV had a permanent splash of dots about 6" long burned into the screen, but that was the only negative aspect of the entire room. The breakfast that is offered in the price of the room is a significant step up from the usual faire offered at hotels. In addition to the bagels, yogurt, dry cereal, hard boiled eggs offerings, the El Rey offered fresh flour tortillas and fruit delivered to your table. The workers checked occasionally to see if they could bring you anything else, to check to see if everything was "okay," etc.... a nice, personal touch. I'd recommend the El Rey to anyone wanting a unique experience. Granted, the hotel is on a major road (and too far from most things to walk), but we did walk a very short distance down the road to a restaurant (The Pantry) recommended by some of the hotel staff (and very well rated by TripAdvisor contributors).

Room Tip: Our room was right across from the hotel hot tub. As a result, if we wanted privacy we had to close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 411Shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This place was incredible. It wasn't like being in the city at all. Our room was large, the bathroom was HUGE, all the amenities were great. Service was super friendly. Having the two hot tubs available at different sides of the property was great. The "indoor" hot tub has big doors so it's practically outdoors. Great towels with special pool towels. We looked in on the breakfast which looked fine, but we wanted to go to the nearby cafe. This is a good place for either romance or families, with little paths and benches scattered around, a play area and some interesting antiques. Also, it seemed some of the rooms are detached bungalows that only look attached, so more privacy and quiet than it would look like on the surface.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MN262Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.7 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,361 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Inn At Santa Fe
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
620 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
949 reviews
13.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Court

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £68 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your El Rey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
El Rey Inn
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe
El Rey Court Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing