We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visitor”
Review of El Rey Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Rey Court
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Amarillo, TX
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Repeat visitor”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I have been here twice before! This time solo, which is different ! I chose a room in the old section due to budget and needing only one bed. During the process, I changed my mind and the guy at the front desk was patient and allowed me to switch rooms. I chose room 37, a single room and I will post pictures if I can transfer hem! The bathroom was large and had skylights. The vanity was big enough for two people and the room is in the back of the property away from road noise. There was a reading light beside the bed, mounted on the wall. I really appreciated this as I love to read! El Rey is immaculate in room cleanliness and grounds keeping. I saw at least 3 employees at 8AM today watering plants or flowers.
There are two hot tubs and a large pool for your enjoyment!
For a peaceful,bygone era-feeling and variety of room types and costs, this is your place' it's 5 minutes or so from the Plaza.

Room Tip: The rear of the property is quieter. The rooms tend to be higher the further back or newer the room...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are Eco friendly with signs posted about towels and sheets.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irish4love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    243
    83
    17
    10
See reviews for
161
374
41
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We found this property searching the Internet. What a find! It is a few miles from the Plaza on the original Route 66. The property has gardens, fountains, mini-parks and great landscaping. The pool is terrific and the rooms are totally up to snuff. Perfect for a family - or a honeymoon. The El Rey was built in the middle 1930's as an original Route 66 Motor Inn.

It was a pleasant surprise that the El Rey is considered one of the five historic hotels of Santa Fe. And it lives up to the billing. Another pleasant surprise was the restaurant next door - The Pantry. No need to drive elsewhere for some of the best meals in Santa Fe.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel is outstanding, we lovec the sunken hot top, the fresh air, all great rooms.the swimming pool was a megabonus, as well as the breakfast served in a lovely room.plenty to do near by.the town being very nice

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkdts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We especially enjoyed the cost of our room at the El Rey. It is in an area where a lot of great restaurants are close by. You do have to drive to the plaza. Everyone working at the Inn was very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again. The gardens are very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The old sign and white stucco set the mood for a nice hotel with character. The rooms are nice and fairly roomy, but the over all feel is what sold me. Little nooks and grassy areas and fountains allow you to relax. the hot tub is in a quiet area and the pool is nice as well. The breakfast area is not real large but some outside sitting is available and you have to meet Lilly and have her ask you if you want a banana and tortilla? The tortillas are the only hot entree but there are enough choices to get you started on your day. Take a chance and step back a few decades but with the amenities, you 'll enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregoryA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

For the price you absolutely CANNOT beat the El Rey in Santa Fe. There's a bus stop right in front of the hotel which allows easy access to downtown if you can figure out the stops! Unfortunately it's not close to the city center, but again - for the price you just can't beat it. We've stayed several times and always enjoy and appreciate the classic charm of the main room and the quaint comfort of the bedrooms. The beds are decent, I wouldn't call them the comfiest I've ever experienced. But with a fridge in the room, Trader Joe's just down the street, and ample places to see in Sante Fe, why are you spending a ton of time in your room anyway? We enjoy reading in front of the fireplace in the lobby and just experience a piece of history. Plus, if you stay in the off season you get coupons for The Pantry rather than breakfast in the dining room every morning with your stay. We LOVED that! Don't hesitate, and be sure to ask for their Frequent Stay Card.

Room Tip: Stay in the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lightnhereyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

At first sight, the hotel may appear a poor choice; it's near a busy road, some distance from the historic centre of Santa Fe, and the rooms look a little tired. But what makes this hotel such a great choice are;
1) The pool and hot tub. I'd never come across such an attractive pool area at a motel; it's worthy of a much larger and grander hotel. A perfect area to relax and unwind.
2) The staff are so friendly and helpful.
3) Large parking area - no worries here.
4) Good selection of food at breakfast; you'll leave feeling fully refreshed and ready for the day ahead.
Overall, we were extremely happy with our choice, and would definitely stay at the El Rey on our next visit to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.7 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,310 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
875 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
765 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inn At Santa Fe
Inn At Santa Fe
#31 of 60 in Santa Fe
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Court

Property: El Rey Court
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your El Rey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
El Rey Inn
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe
El Rey Court Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing